We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite, shame about the constant threat of expulsion.”
Review of Sea Barn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Barn Farm
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

A great campsite, lovely large pitches and spaces. Great amenities. Just a shame the staff couldn't be a little friendlier. Constant reminders around the park about losing bonds and threat if eviction made the place feel like a prison camp. I also think paying £22 a night for a gazebo is downright rude. When you see the size of some people's tents, it seems unjust! Anyway, other than the rudeness and feeling of being back at school, it was a very nice campsite and we had a great weekend. Not sure we would return as there are lots of others to try that have equally good views and location it seems.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MattStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for your comments. As the park is licensed by the number of tents, a tent and enclosed gazebo have to be charged the same as two tents as, in the eyes of the law, an enclosed gazebo is a tent. Otherwise people who bring two tents would think it rude that they don't get to have their second tent for free! As for the threat of expulsion from the park, that is there to deter the sort of anti-social and disorderly behaviour that the vast majority of customers come to Sea Barn Farm to avoid. It is common practice in supermarkets, shops and boutiques to put up signs saying "Shoplifters will be prosecuted". They are there to deter shoplifters and to remind them of the potential consequences of their actions. They do not seem to be a problem for the vast majority of bona fide customers as they assume they are not directed at them. It is also worth remembering that being asked to leave the park is an issue for an extremely small minority of visitors who find it difficult to stick to the park's well-publicised policies on behaviour. Where anyone is asked to leave, the overwhelming response of other customers is positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Sea Barn Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this site from the August bank holiday Monday to the Friday, we had one of the hook ups, found the size more than big enough for our 10 man tent & 2 cars. Staff were pleasant when we booked in. Was very impressed with how quiet it was as 11 o,clock came, no matter how noisey people had been in the day, (one of the reason why we booked here, as have been on sites where there were no noise rules!). Old shower block, basic but didn't bother me, new block was very nice, well done to the cleaners, they done a good job cleaning up after some people who like to leave a mess! Views from some parts of the site were stunning! We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for an extended weekend over the bank holiday (Thurs to Tues). Before booking we knew it would be very very busy over this weekend and this was taken into consideration when writing this review.
Arrival and check in was easy enough. We were told about rules in relation to pitching tent, must not be sideways facing and 6 meters from other tents. The young lady booking us in was pleasant and polite ( unlike most of the other staff).
Views from the campsite look over the lagoon and the sea are really picturesque. This is a big selling point for the campsite.
For the standard price there are no allocated pitches, you just find a spot you like and put you tent up. Based on the rules told to us and reading on here how the site enforce the rules, we felt like - ok well there should be space for one big tent to go either side of us when the crowds turn up.
How wrong we were, on Friday we come back in the early evening to find no room to park, 3 tents to our left of us, 3 small tents in front, 1 tent to the right. the tent to the left was so close the guide lines were virtually overlapping ours. So much for the 6m gap.
This was an issue for us as we do like our personal space and don’t want to be crammed in like sardines. The 6 meter rule was neither adhered to or enforced,which was disappointing especially as you have site wardens going around checking on. Come Sat morning you could see it was like it elsewhere on the site with standard pitches– a bit of a free for all, so not sure the rule could of been enforced in any case.
Camp`shop
Quite good and contained lots of useful items such as camping equipment spares, accessories, food, milk etc.
Toilets and shower rooms.
2 blocks, 1 of which is quite new.The older block has seen better days, especially the women’s side with broken toilet seats and some doors not having locks on. My wife tried to use the new block but gave up as when she went the women were queuing out the door . We felt the facilities for the women were inadequate for volume of people.
By about 11 30 the campsite always seemed deadly quiet, which for the volume of people on site was impressive. However as some tents were so close to us we could hear everything – snoring, people moving on an airbed etc, which in turn made us very self conscious about noise.
Staff.
Apart from the nice young lady who booked us in on arrival the rest weren’t the friendliest bunch , at best we would say abrupt and could really benefit by learning some basics of customer service. On leaving we took back the ice packs we “hired” to get our deposit back on them. The receptionist then highlighted that one of the ice packs had a dented corner and asked us if we had been chewing it! Seriously she wasn’t going to give the deposit back, so we had to justify why it wasn’t us who dented it or chewed it! Yes grill us about a poxy ice pack, but don’t do anything about how and where people pitch their tents!
Would we go back, hmmmm, doubt it during peak season as they just allowed too many people to be crammed in so you had very little space. If they are not going to have designated pitches then they should really enforce the 6m rule. Shame as the site location is really nice.

Room Tip: Some areas with good views are very exposed to the wind.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilandNickki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thanks for your comments. The August Bank Holiday is the busiest period for most camping parks. The majority of our visitors (and other reviewers too) have noted how enjoyable their Bank Holiday weekend stay was and how quiet the park is at night and how clean and well kept all the toilet facilities are (all of which have been independently inspected and assessed by the AA again this year as Three Pennant, with an increased quality score). Sea Barn Farm is open for 7 months of the year and so visitors who prefer to visit when the park is not full have plenty of opportunities to do so. Standard pitches are not allocated and this works well for the vast majority of our customers. Those who fail to maintain an adequate gap between tents are asked to move. Customers who are too noisy at night are reminded of their obligations to other campers. The park is limited to the number of units that can be sited at any time and at no time has that been exceeded over the Bank Holiday. There is a trend for ever larger tents, with bigger and bigger foot prints. Sea Barn is happy to accommodate these alongside much smaller units at a broadly similar price. The most effective way of achieving this on standard pitches is not to allocate areas to particular tents. This also means that customers who want to pitch together can usually do so, subject to the park's policies on noise and other issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from an eighteen night stay at Sea Barn Farm. We had a wonderful time. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views were amazing and although our pitches (250 & 251) did not have the views we were not exposed to any wind. The toilet/shower blocks were always kept clean, even on the busy bank holiday weekend. Our children really enjoyed the swimming pool next door and we found the food in the clubhouse very nice. (especially the steak!) The one negative is that it could do with some more dish washing sinks around the older shower block. All in all a terrific site which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I love this campsite, it is beautiful and well appointed. The staff however are not lovely, namely the older lady. I did not need reminding of any rules, or the like, it is just her general manner. Even trying to pass the time of day, left me experiencing her abrasive manner.

Great campsite, marred by staff who obviously hate their jobs and despise the people who camp there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulGirMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time camping for a couple if years, so picked this site from reviews read on Tripadvisor, and what a great choice! Location was beautiful and facilities great! We camped for 7 nights (2 adults and 1 child) and were really pleased with the overall experience. Our 10 year old son thoroughly enjoyed it and wants to return. The site is also clean and safe, and well maintained, with a good amount of room per pitch. We opted for an electrical hook up which again was a good choice. Highly recommended, not too far from Weymouth, and we will definitely be returning. Also, we were very lucky with the weather!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ShelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent four nights here (originally only booked for three but extended because we were having so much fun). We camped near the older shower blocks which gave us the most magnificent views. Over a bank holiday (23-27 August) we expected it to be busy and it was. Little bit annoying to go out for the day and come back to find the space where we keep the car was now someone else's camping pitch - we had a standard pitch - and I'm not sure how much the no noise after 11pm rule was enforced as we were next to a large, noisy group. They weren't disrespectful - just loud.

My eight year old loved the swimming pool and being able to watch the sunset each night.

Definitely need more washing-up points and more bricks to put our disposable BBQ on.

I made it my mission to make the front-of-house staff smile and achieved it.

All in all a wonderful campsite, with very clean facilities and within easy striking distance of masses of lovely day trips. Thanks Sea Barn Farm!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilentNights, Public Relations Manager at Sea Barn Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. The August Bank Holiday is, not unsurprisingly, one of the park's busiest weekends. Even so we have no reports of noise after 11 pm over the weekend, with most customers and the park's night staff commenting on how quickly the park fell quiet. The night staff patrol regularly for this reason. As Sea Barn Farm is open from March to the end of October, there are plenty of opportunities to return when the park won't be so full!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
0.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
656 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Higher Moor Farm
Higher Moor Farm
#1 of 24 in Weymouth
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#14 of 165 in Weymouth
245 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chesil Family Holiday Park
12.6 mi away
Highlands End Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Barn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Barn Farm

Address: Sea Barn Farm Fleet, Weymouth, Dorset DT3, UK Fleet Road, Weymouth DT3 4ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Also Known As:
Sea Barn Farm Hotel Weymouth
Sea Barn Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing