We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Candlestick-maker - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Candlestick-maker
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Basically, If you haven't been to the candlestick-makers then you need to go!!! The food, service and atmosphere were fantastic! Cant wait to return!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolynJAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice food, but eat early to get full choice of menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

When we went, which was a Saturday night at 8pm most tables were already seated. The menu seemed nice but small, however I guess this is due to the fact that everything is cooked from scratch and uses fresh ingredients. When the waitress took our orders she later had to came back to say only one steak was available , and one of the starters we had chosen had also run out.

We were obviously the last table of the even evening, and were victim of our fellow diners having similar tastes to ourselves, but it was only 8pm !! So the small menu was even more limited by them running out of options before we had got there, which was a bit disappointing.

However, that said the food that turned up was nice, tasty and obviously freshly prepared, but by 9pm we were the only one left there on a Saturday night and felt like we needed to hurry up because they started clearing and cleaning all the other tables around us.

It a nice intimate setting, with nice food, but those few things just spoilt it a little for us that evening. My advice would be to eat early in the evening to have a chance of getting your first choice.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumblietum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Use to be good but lost its shine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Been here several times and they kept running out of choices on the menu which is not what you expect when you done out at a restaurant with as many covers as this establishment. You do get a warm welcome but it's not what it use to be.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went to this restaurant on Fiday night for my birthday. The food is great. All fresh produce and served to our liking. I had steak which was really nice followed by apple and bramble crumble and ice cream. The menu is more or less set into a choice of 1, 2 or 3 courses with fixed prices and although a little on the expensive side - very much worth the money as the food was fabulous. Soft drinks were very reasonable too. The decor is modern and very well chosen to give a relaxed and clean look. Booking is required as it is popular. We would highly recommend to anyone with good taste looking for a nice meal out. (cost is approx £26 for a 2 course meal )

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balfroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
387 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We travelled out to The Candlestick-Maker from Aberdeen on a wet and miserable Saturday night with the promise of an excellent meal in a very special restaurant and were not disappointed.
We were warmly welcomed and given a table at the window and promptly provided with a jug of ice cold water and delicious bread with olives and feta cheese while we looked at the menu.
The restaurant was very quiet when we arrived but we did book an early table but it was quite busy by the time we left. The place has a lovely warm comfortable feeling with quiet background music and the staff are attentive and friendly.
The food is outstanding. We both had a smoked venison and mushroom starter followed by a whole sea bream with sweet potato chips and a butternut squash and red lentil thai curry. I was a bit worried about the previous comments regarding small portions however we didn't experience this and unfortunately I couldn't finish my sea bream dish as it was too much. Neither of us had room for dessert which was disappointing as they sounded delicious.
Overall a wonderful experience and I would gladly return. Its just a pity its not closer to home.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Candlestick-maker also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing