We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location, causy cottage, warm welcome”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tanar View

Enjoy a glass of something chilled on the deck and enjoy the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of something chilled on the deck and enjoy the view.
Letting the sunshine in. The bright shower room with heated towel rails.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Enjoy a glass of something chilled on the deck and enjoy the view.
Letting the sunshine in.
The bright shower room with heated towel rails.
Tanar View
Fish the Craigendinnie beat of the river Dee or just enjoy a stroll along the banks.
Drink in the view as well as the fresh air.
The second bedroom - adult sized bunk beds.
The master bedroom.
The spacious living area complete with wood burning stove.
Relax.  Enjoy. Explore.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aboyne, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JetDeB
The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Lovely location, causy cottage, warm welcome”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful setting, very causy cottage in a quiet environment. The owners are so friendly and welcoming. They really make you feel at home with freshly baked bread and scones by arrival. They were at our service during our whole stay.
Due to the sloping roofs the cottage is for tall people too causy I'm afraid. And the double bed in the master bedroom is very small and short.
It is an accomodation that is rented out to guests with dogs very often so if you are suffering of a seriuos dog allergy it is better not to rent the cottage. My husband is very allergic to dogs and when I booked the cottage I overlooked the fact that dogs are allowed. That wasn't very handy. The owners however were very friendly and cooperative. Although I took out all te rugs and vacuum-cleaned the whole cottage the allergy stays in the house. But other than that we would have loved to come back....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and the lovely owners
Liked least: That dogs are allowed....
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
We really enjoyed hosting your lovely (and tall!) family, and were sorry to hear that Richard suffered an allergic reaction as we thoroughly steam clean and vacuum the whole place. We do advertise the fact that we are a dog friendly cottage however which I know you said you had overlooked as you usually book places that do not accept pets because of your husband's sensitivities. Since your visit however, we have purchased a VAX carpet cleaner so we can give the soft furnishings an even deeper clean and also an air filter to try and stave off allergies as we do try and make it perfect for all of our guests. But as we also have three dogs ourselves, it is not the perfect place for those with allergic reactions sadly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and also the strawberry cake! Come back soon and enjoy the log burning stove!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MooshB
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tanar View was just perfect”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Tanar View was just perfect with everything you needed including a lovely welcome package from our hosts; a delicious home-baked chocolate and cherry cake along with home-made bread, a bottle of chilled wine, beer and even a Bonio biscuit for the dog! It’s a superb place to stay in Deeside and a great base for exploring the area. There are loads of options for hillwalking particularly with the Glen Tanar estate just on the doorstep. And while away on holiday themselves, Liz and Neil, left some notes and recommendations for what to do and where to dine. Our only regret is that we couldn’t use the log burning stove as the weather was gorgeous; maybe next time lol!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
So glad you all had a lovely time - we are blessed to live in a very special place and enjoy sharing it. Come back and see us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fimurphy1...
2 reviews
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here for our wedding last year and returned for our first wedding anniversary! We were not disappointed fantastic stay and Liz spoilt us wine, homemade scones, bread and jam! Lovely and our dog Mylo even got a bone! Home from home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2015
It was a pleasure to have you! I can't believe that you arrived in shorts and vest top and left in winter woollies! That's Scotland for you! Hope to see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely accommodation, fantastic location, delightful owners, supurb value:”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We Have stayed at Tanar View several times, and find it hard to think of anything negative to say. Your staying on the edge of the stunning Caingorm's, surely a bird watchers and or hill walkers paradise, your a stones throw from the Dee, which if the fishing gods are in a good mood, has historicaly been the best early spring salmon river. Glen Tanar and Ballogie Estates are within walking distance, offering every kind of country sports, Balmoral is a few miles down the A93, ditto Skying at Glen Shee. There is fun galor for the kids at a nearby adventure centre. And of course, for those wanting to spoil a good walk playing golf, your near to many international standard courses. All this on the door stop, with the added bonus that Tanar View offers way above average accommodation at reasonable rates. We cannot wait to get back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the place, the location, the hosts.
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2015
And we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daledance...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a super holiday . The owners are lovely and helpful . The apartment is very clean and well stocked . Set in a beautiful estate it's great for a relaxing holiday . Lots if near by things to do we can't wait to come back .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2014
So glad you and the dogs had a great time. You certainly got the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wood burning stove
Liked least: the parking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2014
Thankyou for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing