We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful stay”
Review of Douneside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Douneside House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came for a family celebration. Everything was beautifully organised including a special dinner in the library. Accommodation was comfortable. The gardens were beautiful, there are splendid views and there was plenty to do for the children (swimming, putting, croquet etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feldyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 298 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This had been recommended to us by friends and as such we got a 10% discount so, it was excellent value, especially for our teenage children! We were on full board, which includes 3 meals a day plus morning coffee and afternoon tea with cakes. The food was great and we especially liked the packed lunch option which included a flask of hot water for tea or coffee or a flask of soup; it was just great. Grounds and scenery are beautiful and we enjoyed a fun game of croquet in the garden. We would definitely recommend it for great service, value and location and we will be back :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and one at the back. The view from the front was more impressive but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilsrgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our seventh stay at Douneside, and as with all the previous occasions we had a wonderful time. The children love the beautiful grounds and the swimming pool. It is extremely relaxing for us with delicious food, amazingly helpful staff and a fantastic location. We really cannot recommend it highly enough. We have already booked for next year and cannot imagine a time when we will not be coming here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment of arrival, my wife and I, and our 16 month old little boy, were made to feel incredibly welcome. The view from the room overlooking deeside was stunning and gardens were beautifully tranquil. The room was really spacious and a travel cot was supplied so we all had plenty of space to sleep. The food was good and the service excellent - the dining room was well within reach of our baby monitor too so we could relax over dinner whilst listening out for our little boy. I also availed myself of the fishing on the estate's trout lochan. It's hidden out of the way so is very peaceful but I'd advise you walk the last bit of the track to get there unless you've a 4x4! Overall, douneside is a peaceful idyll within easy reach of terrific family days out. Service is great and the atmosphere friendly and tranquill - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was my first trip but my my wife and son had stayed last year with her parents. I had heard it was good but that was a serious understatement!
We stayed in the Gate House and it was very comfortable for the 5 of us (as my in-laws were with us again this year).
The main house was very relaxing with all the meals being of superb quality.
The leisure centre was also better than I expected.
On the activity front it helped that we had good weather the week we were there but there is good golf nearby, cycling opportunities of all different types, as much walking as anyone could want, serious meandering around the grounds to be done, castles to visit, farm shops to spend money in or if you just want to chill in the conservatory then you can do so.
Hopefully we'll be back before too long!

Room Tip: The Gate House is very comfortable and each bedroom having its own bathroom is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We only booked for two nights as we weren't sure what to expect - next time we'll definitely be staying for longer and hopefully bring lots of friends. My friends and colleagues are getting bored with me raving about it. Hospitality and service was superb, the rooms, leisure centre, gardens (including an amazing walled garden which is every gardeners dream), food, wine (etc etc) were immaculate. The attention to detail is what makes this place so attractive and welcoming. I can't recommend it highly enough. Stop reading reviews, go and book!

Room Tip: We had Rooms 1 and 2 which were superb for families (opposite to each other which enabled my childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My mother and I had a brilliant "short break" at this fantastic hotel, and we will definitely be coming back again next year. Food, staff and swimming pool were all superb, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
4.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
410 reviews
15.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
647 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
9.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douneside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douneside House

Address: | Tarland, Aboyne AB34 4UL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Price Range: $201 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Douneside House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Hotel of the Year (Scotland) 2017/18. 3 AA Rosette dining by Head Chef David Butters. Douneside House is owned and managed by The MacRobert Trust, a Scottish, grant making charity. All profits are donated to charitable causes. Douneside House is a truly special place in heart of The MacRobert Estate. Here you can expect a warm welcome, fine dining and luxurious comfort in this most hospitable and unique country house on Royal Deeside. Set in seventeen acres of landscaped gardens, Douneside House makes the perfect base to take part in traditional sporting activities such as fishing and stalking, hill walking and ski-ing. The Douneside Health Club is fully equipped with gym, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Outside we have an all-weather tennis court and croquet, badminton and putting on our splendid 2 acre lawn. Our restaurant offers a range of award winning menus including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and our signature tasting menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Douneside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douneside House Aboyne, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing