We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First but not Last”
Review of Douneside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Douneside House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant first week at Douneside. All our fellow guests were regulars, I think one couple were making their twenty third visit !! We found a friendly atmosphere,good food and very comfortable accommodation. With all the facilities ,including an excellent pool and leisure centre,Douneside would be ideal for a small group to have an enjoyable active or restful stay.

Patrick S Dedham

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedham265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We returned here for our second visit at almost the same time as when we came last year. The only difference was that we did not experience a heat wave this May! But the welcome at Douneside was no less warm & we found relaxation & wonderful food too. It was lovely to see a young family-4 children, very well behaved, with their parents this time.

Room Tip: We were in Casa 24-its disadvantage being the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Douneside last week. We hiked and went sightseeing, visited Balmoral and a distillery, climbed Scolty and encircled Loch Muick. Douneside is the perfect base for a highland vacation. The rooms are excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food is delicious with lots of Scottish flavor. The chef even made my husband a birthday cake with candles and fireworks....if you choose Douneside you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The beautiful location, exceptional quality of the staff, good food and delightful company all made this a perfect break from the stresses and strains of everyday life. It's a great place to use as a base to explore the delightful Scottish countryside, see the sights, navigate the numerous walking trails and just generally chill. The facilities include a swimming pool, sauna, and fitness room if you have any energy left at the end of the day, or if you want to work off the excellent cuisine (forget any notion of keeping to the diet if you come here). Cannot praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent a glorious weekend in this delightful setting. The house itself is tastefully decorated and there are lots of pleasant and comfortable rooms to relax in. Food was fresh, tasty and imaginative and made from local ingredients. It all felt like staying in someone's lovely country house. The grounds are really beautiful and immaculately kept. Paul and Ginny were welcoming and charming and all the staff were friendly and helpful. A great place all together!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotstripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the best kept secret in the Forces! A wonderful place to relax and unwind far from the madding crowd. I have been coming here for 35 years, and it is like a second home. It has a calm serenity, with good food (forget the diet), comfortable rooms, great facilities and best of all the company of old friends of the Oman Reunion. We have a lot to thank Lady MacRobert for, and Paul and Ginny and staff for maintaining the standards.
Thank you Again!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the view to the south are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingWalkerWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our week's stay at Douneside in early May was everything we have come to expect during our stays there: a comfortable and well equipped apartment;friendly,efficient service;delicious meals;beautiful surroundings;excellent facilities.
We look forward to our visits there each year and are never disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomar1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
6.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
374 reviews
15.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
404 reviews
9.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
645 reviews
22.4 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douneside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douneside House

Address: | Tarland, Aboyne AB34 4UL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Price Range: $112 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Douneside House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Hotel of the Year (Scotland) 2017/18. 3 AA Rosette dining by Head Chef David Butters. Douneside House is owned and managed by The MacRobert Trust, a Scottish, grant making charity. All profits are donated to charitable causes. Douneside House is a truly special place in heart of The MacRobert Estate. Here you can expect a warm welcome, fine dining and luxurious comfort in this most hospitable and unique country house on Royal Deeside. Set in seventeen acres of landscaped gardens, Douneside House makes the perfect base to take part in traditional sporting activities such as fishing and stalking, hill walking and ski-ing. The Douneside Health Club is fully equipped with gym, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Outside we have an all-weather tennis court and croquet, badminton and putting on our splendid 2 acre lawn. Our restaurant offers a range of award winning menus including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and our signature tasting menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Douneside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douneside House Aboyne, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing