We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply great”
Review of Douneside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Douneside House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The aim was to have a relaxing few days after a very busy and tense summer period and this was achieved. There is no doubt that is exceptionally difficult for Douneside to be all things to all elements of serving, retired and prospective military officers'. As a younger (36) serving officer I was delighted by the food, the accomodation, and the diligence and dedication of the staff. I brought two young children (10 and 6) to Dounseside who both had a wonderful time running in the gardens, playing on the swings, and taking advantage of the largely private liesure facilities. As we travelled slightly off season the majority of other guests were retired officers' who I gladly engaged with and who were curious how the Services were changing. Needless to say that my family and I adopted an evening wear standard commensurate with those of other guests. I do feel that the other guests would not have objected to a slightly lower dress standard but I felt obliged to adopt this standard; it did not detract from this wonderful visit. Highly recomended to serving military who need a break in beautiful Aberdeenshire countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 286 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We both thoroughly enjoyed our first stay in this gem of a location. The house,food, room, staff and the gardens were all quite excellent. There was always something new to do - places and famous buildings to explore, golf courses and great hill walks within easy striking distance to enjoy. We always enjoyed a peaceful walk around the superb gardens in evening prior to dinner usually having beaten each other on croquet lawn or on the putting green. We would certainly recommend Douneside for a great holiday no matter what the weather.

Room Tip: Any room but the ones over looking the front garden with their fantastic views would be my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aandcharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our second stay at Dounside and it was as magical. Fantastic location with utter peace and tranquility. The staff are quite outstanding in every respect and the food was simply delicious. Made full use of the leisure facilities. In awe of breathtaking vegetable and formal gardens. We highly recommed this fantastic gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCoop45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Really relaxing, luxury and great fun stay at Dounside!! Food was amazing and I especially loved the afternoon tea! Kids had a ball swimming, playing tennis and running round the grounds and playing with lots of other kids and they loved kids dinner time!!! The paths around Dounside are amazing for a family walk or cycle!

Room Tip: Loved the gatehouse lodge, lots of space, warm and cosy and right next to the playpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We hadn't been for a couple of years having stayed every year for about 10 years or so. This stay was even better than the previous ones and they were exceptional. Everything was just perfect - even the weather bucked up for our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaffers1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Douneside House is a lovely place to stay within really beautiful grounds. The staff are all extremely efficient and always cheerful. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, and the food is first class, as are the leisure facilities provtded.
My wife and I can thoroughly recommend this lovely place to anyone who has reason to visit this area of Aberdeenshire

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We first came to Douneside some 10 years ago and have been coming back ever since. A matchless location for exploring Royal Deeside and further afield, excellent food and friendly staff all contribute to making each stay a relaxing period of family time. For those still serving I do suggest taking a leaflet or two back to the Mess wherever you are to inform others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickcooper186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
6.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
373 reviews
15.2 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
403 reviews
9.4 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
644 reviews
22.4 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douneside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douneside House

Address: | Tarland, Aboyne AB34 4UL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aboyne
Price Range: $107 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Douneside House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Hotel of the Year (Scotland) 2017/18. 3 AA Rosette dining by Head Chef David Butters. Douneside House is owned and managed by The MacRobert Trust, a Scottish, grant making charity. All profits are donated to charitable causes. Douneside House is a truly special place in heart of The MacRobert Estate. Here you can expect a warm welcome, fine dining and luxurious comfort in this most hospitable and unique country house on Royal Deeside. Set in seventeen acres of landscaped gardens, Douneside House makes the perfect base to take part in traditional sporting activities such as fishing and stalking, hill walking and ski-ing. The Douneside Health Club is fully equipped with gym, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Outside we have an all-weather tennis court and croquet, badminton and putting on our splendid 2 acre lawn. Our restaurant offers a range of award winning menus including lunch, afternoon tea, dinner and our signature tasting menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Douneside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douneside House Aboyne, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing