We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Centre”

Deeside Activity Park
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Aboyne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based on Royal Deeside in Grampian, Aberdeenshire we offer a range of Outdoor and corporate teambuilding activities. From quad biking round our mud-splattered course and kart racing on our asphalt racing circuit, to hitting the bullseye on our fully automatic archery range and breaking a clay at our clay shooting facility. We offer something for everyone from 8 years to 80 years. At the park there is also a coffee shop, conference room, children's play area and 3 self catering cottages.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family discovered the activity park in April on our last trip up. We were staying in the Cairngorm lodges, which were nice. We noticed the cottages advertised at the park shop. The owner kindly showed us around them and we decided to book. We have been in the Bothy since Saturday with our 3 girls and 2 dogs. Ken the owner/farmer has been outstanding with our 8 and 5 year olds. He has taken them to feed the farm animals and asked them to look after the chickens, which has just made their holiday in Deeside.

A great location with breath taking views and the activity park is 5 minutes drive. We will be booking again for later this year.

Thank Scotsmenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femc8215, Manager at Deeside Activity Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Hello you guys, thanks for your kind review. When you coming back for a stay with us?

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Team DAP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

As above. the place is a bit rough and ready and could do with a facelift.The childrens soft play area, while its cheap, is a collection of very well worn toys. Shame really. Could be a great day out. One plus, the coffee isn't bad.

Thank sclarkdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femc8215, Manager at Deeside Activity Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thankyou for your review, and we have taken your comments on board.

Hope to see you back for more coffee soon.

Kind regards
Team DAP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed nearby in accommodation at Cairnton Farm Cottages so managed to stop by the Activity Park on a number of occasions whether for the café and delicious cakes, a walk or indeed a steak night. The staff were extremely welcoming and and café warm, following a cold walk around the Park in the snow. We were even lucky enough to be able to book a table at the steak night, where the food was second to none and I can say I have never tasted steak like it!

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femc8215, Manager at Deeside Activity Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind review, and we are just delighted you enjoyed our Steak Nite.

Look forward to you coming and staying with us again soon.

Kind regards
Team DAP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have visited on several occasions to take my son go karting the track is reasonably good and karts are decent enough, but its a minimum of 2 people per booking which means £90 for the hour which is ok if that's what your after but sometimes I would just like to watch whilst my son goes on
also I think offering 20 minute sessions rather than minimum of 1 hour would be a good idea
the place never seems busy and is a little rundown especially the kids area and its been like that for some time now
it's a shame as this could be a great place with a bit more attention to detail and upgrade of kids play area
I suspect this place only survives as there is no real competition in the area

Thank Hotelhalfmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femc8215, Owner at Deeside Activity Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

I'm really sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Deeside Activity Park.

We have look at various options for running our karting sessions, and bearing in mind the open nature of the track, and the speeds that can be achieved, we feel a good 10 minute safety brief is needed. This brief is required, whether you are on for 20 minutes, 40 minutes or indeed 2 hours.

We do offer a 'family taster package, which is two hours, with three different activities. Most commonly, Archery, Quad Biking and Kart Racing. Roughly 40 minutes at each activity.. It is really good value, at only £3 more than the one hour karting session !

I'm very sorry our yougsters play area is not to your liking. What we call our 'Indoor Arena', is used for a host of events, many of them community orientated, like our 'Burns Lunch' in January, and 'The Deeside Doric Dirl' in October. The Arena's default position is an inside, heated play area, which given our weather of last summer, was very much in demand.

Finally, regarding your comment about lack of competition.

Here on Royal Deeside there is no shortage of things to do. It has been a popular holiday destination and 'playground since Victorian times. Deeside Activity Park, welcome almost 50,000 visitors a year, and mostly we get it right. But I am always keen to hear criticism, and see if we can improve our offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visit this beautiful part of the world annually, and we always make at least one trip to DAP, but for a good, wholesome, hearty lunch!
We've used their activity facilities a couple of times (off road driving, fishing etc.) but we return year on year to have a downright fantastic lunch. Their home made burgers (local Aberdeen Angus beef) are sublime, their soups are fantastic and their sticky toffee pudding... unbelievably good.
The service is fantastic, they're really child friendly. It's quite a small dining area but it's really homely and very friendly.
It's possible to have your food in the outdoor barn which houses some low key kids activities (go carts, climbing wall, ball pool, giant jenga etc.), which means we can eat while the kids enjoy themselves!
A lovely place to go for a really traditional, hearty lunch!

Thank g00df00dhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
femc8215, Manager at Deeside Activity Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thankyou for your great review, we look forward to your next return.
kind regards
Team DAP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deeside Activity Park also viewed

 
Banchory, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Deeside Activity Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing