We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
Ranked #3 of 6 Aboyne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
1 review
“Amazing Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Amazing location and the hospitality received from Jean and Derek was exceptional, very friendly and knowledgeble about the area. Room was beautiful and spotless, overlooking the loch. The breakfast was very good and dinners were fantastic with a variety of choices in the menu. Having a drink on the terrace was amazingly peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraFalzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    82
    18
    16
    18
See reviews for
61
179
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mintlaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at the Lodge for a couple of days with my Mum. Couldn't have chosen a better location. Beautiful views out of the balcony window in our room, which was a very comfortable and well appointed room. Lovely walk around the loch. Perfect for visiting Deeside area. Owners and staff all very welcoming and friendly. The food was delicious and the view from the restaurant added to the experience. All in all a lovely break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for two nights and I was amazed how quiet it was. The location is superb overlooking the loch. Our room was good (superior), spacious, clean and well appointed. The owners were away so we didn't receive the same hospitality as quoted in other reviews. The food was freshly cooked - my only grip is that as a vegetarian there was very little choice. The breakfast is brought to the table rather than buffet - this may suit some but again as a vegetarian, I eat more of the buffet style things than cooked breakfasts.
We played golf on the lovely 9 hole course (only thing here is the greens need some attention - pity 'cos the rest of the course is very well kept.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Recently spent a night here, as part of a motorcycle tour through Scotland. The hotel is in a beautifull setting. The room far exceeded expectations and was spotless and very well appointed. We had a fantastic stay. The hosts were very friendly and knowledgable of the area. The breakfast was also excellent. We had ZERO to complain about! Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The lodge on the Loch was very well located for walking to village with one of the best views on Deeside. We ate at the Lodge one night and the food was excellent , along with service and facilities. The room was a good size although we did not spend much time in it. There was an excellent stock of Malt whiskies in the bar and the owner seemed very knowledgeable.
The couple who owned the Lodge were friendly and had good knowledge of the locality.
The table service was attentive but not over bearing.
The choice at breakfast was varied with something for all in our party.

Room Tip: Pick a room with view of loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonhenry352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Lodge and had a lovely time. On arrival Derek was very helpful in guiding us into town (we were walking) and he also arranged golf for my husband on our last day.
Our room was small but nice and clean. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the bed - it seemed to move very easily on the wooden floor so be careful when you sit down.
The views of the loch are amazing and I can see how it would be a nice hotel for a spa weekend (unfortunately I didn't have time to try the spa for myself).
The breakfast was lovely and cooked to order in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A party of 6 of us recently dined at "Lodge on the Loch" at Aboyne and we certainly will not be returning due to the extremely poor attitude of the staff. When we arrived and asked to be seated outside it was plain to see that this was a great inconvenience for the waitress who preferred us to sit inside as it was too "windy" outside (despite it being 20 degrees and glorious sunshine). The place was totally empty when we arrived and by the time we left there were only 2 other people dining, despite this it took 30 mins for us to be served our drinks. Whilst ordering the waitress was clearly bored of taking our order (huffing and puffing), it was almost as if we were inconveniencing the staff by being there as customers. We overheard a couple arrive just for drinks (they were not dining), and the barman asked them to sit outside on a small table just incase a big party arrived for food, so rude! We were astounded that the barman said this when it was obvious the place was completely deserted apart from our party of 6 and 2 others. In addition to this, my husband went for a look on the balcony to see the loch and was promptly followed by the barman and asked to refrain from wandering around the balcony as it was a "residents area". Added to the appalling attitude of the staff is the quality of the food which was extremely average (pub grub) yet the prices bear resemblance to a good quality bistro. The food looked and tasted like it had been prepared well in advance and heated up in a microwave, not freshly made. The building is in a beautiful location, shame the attitude of the staff and quality of the food doesn't match it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
5.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Commercial Hotel
The Commercial Hotel
#5 of 6 in Aboyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lys-Na-Greyne
Lys-Na-Greyne
#1 of 6 in Aboyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne

Property: The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
Address: Aboyne Golf Centre, Aboyne AB34 5BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 55 acres of stunning scenery literally a stones throw from Aboyne Loch, The Lodge on the Loch’s unparalleled surroundings and exceptional facilities are amongst the most impressive in Scotland’s North East. Set against the stunning backdrop of the Cairngorms National Park, the Loch side Restaurant is accredited by Eat Scotland, and offers a relaxed affordable fine-dining experience in peerless Scottish tranquillity. Ideal for anything from informal dining to special occasions, customers can enjoy wonderfully varied and healthy cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Hotel Aboyne
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing