We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
Ranked #4 of 8 Aboyne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

A Xmas gift from the kids
A great place to chill out & get away from it all . Enjoyed a little bit of pampering with a lovely back massage. A great Hot tub overlooking the Loch which we both thoroughly enjoyed .Excellent room with lovely view . Excellent menu & food was delicious .Intending to go back in the summer & playing on the golf course & of course the Hot tub . The Owners Derek & Jean
made us feel very welcome .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kev6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 360 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

I meant to write this review last summer. I had visited Aboyne and had rented a car with plans to just hop around the area, but stopped the first night at the Lodge on the Loch, and was lucky to be able to extend my stay for the duration of my visit. Derek and Jean printed me up a map of their suggestions for a tour, merging the whisky and Castle trails, which I tried to cover over the next three days. Fantastic hosts, and I would go back in a heartbeat - actually hoping to again this summer!

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms would be great.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oilfield2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We (four of us) have just returned from a two night stay at The Lodge. We were made so welcome by Derek & Jean, bedrooms & bathrooms were spotless, the food was delicious and the view over the loch took ones breath away. The informal ambience suited us perfectly. As a wheelchair user I could get everywhere without help. Make sure that you book a treatment with Jean, one of the best therapists I have come across & I wish she lived closer! Local residents are fortunate.
We will surely return next year and enjoy another wee dram of Cock of the North at The Lodge on the Loch.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank jennifers299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Overnight on Friday 23 & Saturday 24 September 2011

This was an exemplary offer of service from Derek and Jean and deserved the 4-star rating. My expectation of high quality (vegetarian) board and very comfortable lodging was fully met. The advertised lakeside location of the Lodge was accurate and I was sorry that we could not stay longer. Every single request from my friend and me was acceded to and we always felt that both Derek and Jean did their utmost to ensure our stay in Aboyne was perfect.

A most welcome element of our stay was the willingness of Derek and Jean to spare time to provide important local information and explain details of their menus, wine and whisky choice and other aspects of the services they provide. A delightful and knowledgeable couple!

We would echo the sentiments expressed by other reviewers who (a) gave the Lodge “full marks” for the welcome extended by the McCullochs and (b) could see no foundation whatsoever for the negative comments of a minority of reviewers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Extremely comfortable and very welcoming. My friend and I cycled 40 miles and were delighted to find an outside hot tub and spa at the Lodge on the Loch. We watched the sunset over the loch from the tub. The service from Jean and Derek couldn't have been better. They made us feel at home and the food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend the lodge to everyone I know as a wonderful place to recharge the batteries at any time of the year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had our wedding recently at the venue and we had a truly fantastic time. The venue was perfect, the location is great, the food was first class, the canapes were fab, breakfast was great. The rooms themselves are very comfrotable with huge beds. The facilities within the hotel are great. Our wedding we feel was very good value for money. The hotel is very clean and tidy. Derek and Jean were very helpful and all other staff went out of their way to help.
We did also have a slight problem with taxis the night before the wedding, but it got resolved.
I have a 2 year old boy and it is very child friendly even out on the decking area.
Truly lovely place,we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Unlike a previous reviewer, my wife and I found the proprietor and his staff to be most courteous and friendly. Not only that but we had no problem during or 2 day stay getting taxis to and from the Lodge. Both of us had breakfast each morning and they were fantastic. Made specially for you and not out from a buffet! In addition, it would take an awful lot to beat the views you get from both the dining room and the bedrooms.
The bedroom is spacious and tastefully decorated and the bed was large and extremely comfortable. The en-suite facilities are very modern.
There is a golf course attached to the hotel as well as a small gym and spa.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a view over the loch.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
5.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
365 reviews
10.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
608 reviews
5.1 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
384 reviews
10.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
628 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Boat Inn
The Boat Inn
#3 of 8 in Aboyne
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne

Address: Aboyne Golf Centre, Aboyne AB34 5BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aboyne
Price Range: $161 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 55 acres of stunning scenery literally a stones throw from Aboyne Loch, The Lodge on the Loch’s unparalleled surroundings and exceptional facilities are amongst the most impressive in Scotland’s North East. Set against the stunning backdrop of the Cairngorms National Park, the Loch side Restaurant is accredited by Eat Scotland, and offers a relaxed affordable fine-dining experience in peerless Scottish tranquillity. Ideal for anything from informal dining to special occasions, customers can enjoy wonderfully varied and healthy cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Hotel Aboyne
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing