We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and pleasant stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
Ranked #4 of 8 Aboyne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Excellent location, the hotel is situated on the edge of the loch with lovely views from the restaurant and the bedrooms. The restaurant food was a little expensive, but very well cooked and prepared. The room was spotless, with all the facilities of a modern hotel (TV, phone, wifi, etc). We took advantage of the massage treatment during our visit and this added to a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave201166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 363 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Title says it all, we've heard countless stories from locals to this area about the dispicable way they treat their customers. It tells you something when the majority of locals refuse to use their service.

If you are thinking of staying at the hotel or using their facilities please note that this hotel has two sets of reviews on trip advisor, one as hotel and another as restaurant (which has been on this site longer). I would advise you to check out these other reviews before booking as some of the reviews added are for overnight stays.

They seem to like things done their way and if the customer wants it done another way then tough! Their responses to negative comments on this site are also quite odd - they seem to think that customers just have too high expectations!

It's a shame as this venue could be the perfect getaway but is ruined by appauling customer service.

To sum up in one word - AVOID!!!

Stayed: July 2010
8  Thank football28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

This should be fabulous as its location is stunning, but the service and attitude of the owners is beyond belief. If ever there were people not suited to catering / customer service these are the people!
Food was very poor and service was just an inuslt. Apparently if you are not a vegitarian you cant have risotto, if the cup of tea you have asked for 3 times still hasnt arrived by the time the table is finished coffee then you cant have it, if you want coffee whilst others drink alcohol then you are being awkward and will have to wait - as a Scot I am ashemed to say that this epitomises everything that I had hoped we had escaped from, but very sadly not.
Go look at the view then go stay & eat somewhere else is my advice. (Lock Kinnord Hotel about 5miles away is the complete opposite - fabulous servcie & great food.

Room Tip: dont do anything here other than admire the scene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Johnfcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great hospitality.The room was clean and fresh with fantastic views and a great bed. The hotel was very relaxing with outstanding food.Breakfast was a delight.I spend a lot of time in hotels on business this hotel i would go to for pleasure.

Room Tip: all rooms have the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaystheoptomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Good sized room with fantastic view over the loch. Clean, well presented and with excellent facilities. This hotel offers the comfort and attention to detail of a small guest house but has all of the modern facilities of a much more expensive hotel. Very friendly and helpful hosts, great evening meal and breakfast was just as good. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleggy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Jean and Derek McCulloch, are great hosts and very accommodating, the room was of good standard with a great view.
Fabulous location within the golf course.
.
Ideal for walks and for visiting the beautiful Deeside area.
I fully recommend the hotel and the visiting this area
I liked best, the tranquility and friendliness of the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Had my wedding here at the beginning of March. Jean and Derek could not have been more helpful. Everything ran so smoothly thanks to them. The rooms were all lovely and the views were breathtaking. If you are thinking of getting married in Aboyne please go and see this place you will not be let down. The food was amazing, service fantastic, all our guest had a ball!! Thanks again Jean and Derek

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thisisme12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
5.1 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
293 reviews
10.6 mi away
Banchory Lodge
Banchory Lodge
#1 of 3 in Banchory
653 reviews
5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Boat Inn
The Boat Inn
#3 of 8 in Aboyne
200 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch Lodges
0.9 mi away
Struan Hall
Struan Hall
#2 of 8 in Aboyne
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne

Address: Aboyne Golf Centre, Aboyne AB34 5BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Aboyne
Price Range: $168 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in 55 acres of stunning scenery literally a stones throw from Aboyne Loch, The Lodge on the Loch’s unparalleled surroundings and exceptional facilities are amongst the most impressive in Scotland’s North East. Set against the stunning backdrop of the Cairngorms National Park, the Loch side Restaurant is accredited by Eat Scotland, and offers a relaxed affordable fine-dining experience in peerless Scottish tranquillity. Ideal for anything from informal dining to special occasions, customers can enjoy wonderfully varied and healthy cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Hotel Aboyne
The Lodge On The Loch Of Aboyne Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing