We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commercial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Commercial Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Aboyne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here recently, thought it was very good value, clean and comfortable. My only complaint is the walls are quiet thin so you can hear the TV of the next room, also can be a bit noisy as the rooms are above the dining room so can hear at breakfats.
However, apart form that I thought it was excellent value, breakfast was good with lots of choice (although it took ages for the toast to appear). Rooms are well appointed with TV, hairdryer, toiletries and a fury covered hot bottle which was a nice touch and I did use.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asset2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    27
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
37
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is an excellent hotel located in a very quaint Scottish rural village. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful as are the staff. Accommodation and food excellent and, as we are fishers, it provides a great warming atmosphere to return to after a day on the river. I cannot recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FisherMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Really impressed with this hotel. The rooms are modern, well equipped and very clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful and dinner and breakfast both excellent. It was also excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestEndTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We often drink and eat in The Commercial. It is one of the few places I have found that has the relaxed, laid back, drinking atmosphere (but very sociable, as people do talk to each other)
As well as serving fab food
And the Juke box is great too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Commercial Hotel is one of those places you feel instintly at home. Husband and Wife owners, phenomenal staff and an atmosphere that makes you never want to leave. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and updated. The bar area is full of great people, conversation and personalities. They have a fantastic menu, the food is genuinely some of the best you will taste, and always served piping hot!
If you are visiting or staying anywhere in the Tarland/Aboyne area, this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I've stayed here a few times now -always the same. Cosy and comfortable bedrooms, spotlessly clean bathrooms with very good power showers. Free wifi. A lively public bar and quieter lounge behind. Food good with wide menu choice including breakfast that is served rather than left out to dry as a buffet. I booked direct online and got a very good rate. Friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are noisier - nearest the bar and late night the village can be lively (only for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wingostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Commercial Hotel the night before the Braemar Highland Games and enjoyed it a lot. The room was cosy, the staff friendly, the breakfast good, the beds (we had a twin room) were comfy, we had a really good sleep. Best accessory was the fur covered hot-water bottle. :-) You might get a problem if you have a lot of luggage because our room was not that big (don't know about the other rooms). Definitely one of the best stays of our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enj0ythesilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
3.8 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
8.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aberdeen Arms Hotel Tarland
4.8 mi away
The Boat Inn
The Boat Inn
#4 of 6 in Aboyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Lodge on the Loch of Aboyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commercial Hotel

Property: The Commercial Hotel
Address: 19 The Square, Aboyne AB34 4TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling between the rivers Dee and Don in the 'Howe of Cromar' on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. The award winning Commercial Hotel offers a spectacular setting for a relaxing and peaceful break on Royal Deeside surrounded by some of Scotland's most breathtaking scenery,whilst providing an excellent base for visitors to the Grampian Highlands and beyond This 18th Century Granite Coaching Inn has been lovingly restored to contemporary chic without losing its original charm. We promise you warm hospitality,courteous staff and a 'can do' service as you want it - if your not satisfied we're not satisfied Each of our 9 En-Suite rooms have been individually designed and styled with every room ensuring a good nights sleep,with comfy beds and crisp white linen "Enjoy the Highland Air" - where a good nights sleep is waiting for you. New for 2016 our Serviced Apartment The apartment has 3 bedrooms comprising of 1 x Double (king size bed) 1 x Twin room and 1 x single sleeping up to a maximum of 5 persons. It has a fully equipped kitchen including electric hob oven/grill fridgefreezer Kettle toaster microwave and kitchenware Lounge/dining area sofa,flat screen TV & table and chairs. A Newly fitted bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Additional features include free off road parking welcome pack free daily maid service iron ironing board & hairdryer. Guest controlled heating & Free WIFI. Breakfast is available in the main hotel (chargable) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Hotel Aboyne, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing