We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what walkers need”
Review of Hall Croft

Hall Croft
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hall Croft
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overnight stop on Pennine Way. This B&B is in an excellent location close to the pub. We were made very welcome. Rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Don't be put off by the "vegetarian" apology - everything was perfect. The pub is just 100 yds away for dinner in the evening. Host and hostess both very wlecoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Hall Croft
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed one night at Hall Croft and were very pleased. The room and bed were very comfortable and the breakfast was very good too. Frei and Ray Walker are very pleasant and the house is situated in a wonderful spot. Our room was very spacious and had an ensuite with a shower. Unlike a previous reviewer we found a flat screen colour TV.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jww7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

First class. Rooms spotless and comfortable, fresh baked bread for breakfast and great date and walnut cake on arrival. Very hospitable, nothing too much trouble. We stayed around the time of the Horse Fair which makes eateries bit crowded.
Good advice too on our section of the Pennine Way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I booked my room as a base for a day walk on the Pennine Way. Frei and Ray were welcoming and obliging. My room - one of three - was a nice double with a large private bathroom. The other two rooms are, I believe, ensuite. Non-vegetarians - like me - should not be put off by the meat free breakfast as it was good and set me up for the day ahead. Unlike some other Dufton B&Bs this is situated in the village, just 100 yards from the Stag Inn, and therefore ideal for Pennine Way walkers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Very warm welcome,the afternoon coffee with cake was delicious. Each breakfast - we were spoilt for choice.Our lunch pack-ups were very good value. The room was pleasent, clean with plenty of hot water and towels.Ray's banter and local information was first class.
Well done Frei and Ray for making our stay a most enjoyable time

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Yorkshire_lass186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A lovely B and B . nice rooms . but could do with updating their Televisions, as they had really small old type tvs , and it was difficult to see the picture or read the credits.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatwave54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

A very welcome sight and a very warm welcome after a long day on the Pennine Way - we got birthday cake and solicitation when we arrived and a lot of very interesting conversation. A great breakfast and good advice the next moring before our assault on Cross Fell. Highly recommended! Very nice to have all locally sourced food - homemade jam and yoghurt, eggs from well known local chickens, (lived in yard), home made quilts and drapery.

Room Tip: seems all rooms are good - reserve ahead though
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlweld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
2.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,629 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
504 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Limes
The Limes
#5 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Dufton
YHA Dufton
#2 of 4 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#2 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
62 reviews
5.7 mi away
Laurel House
Laurel House
#1 of 2 in Culgaith
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Croft

Address: Dufton | Appleby-in-Westmorland, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hall Croft Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing