We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

HelenONe
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was such a lovely quiet place ideal for recharging our batteries. The birds and red squirrels kept us looking out of the window and even though the weather wasn't good the cottage was cosy enough not to matter. The cottage has everything you need for self catering and Kay was on hand if we needed any help. My husband and I also had fun playing pool in the evening in the games room. We would definitely recommend this cottage.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lakes”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed our short stay lovely cottage. Host verry welcoming deffinatley go back 5 star lovely area .loved the nice cake.Pam & Ken

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alitrimme...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Woodlands at Scalebeck suited our needs down to a tee. It was located in the countryside with very accommodating hosts.
Our Children enjoyed staying in an upsidedown house and want to return to see more of the squirrels.
Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort705...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a warm welcome from Kay on our arrival, lovely touch to have tea/coffee and cake waiting after our long drive. Nice cottage with all we needed , beautiful surroundings, and love seeing the red squirrels on feeder on mornings. Perfect for exploring both the lake district and Yorkshire dales. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thanks for your review - and the amazing drawing of one of our red squirrels in the visitor book! I'm so pleased you enjoyed seeing them and that one sat still long enough to have his portrait painted!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Hi Chandni - I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your short stay with us. It is certainly peaceful here and a great place to recharge the batteries. I'm sorry you had a problem with the shower. Thanks for letting me know. I've increased the water pressure and it seems to be OK now.
Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Davohull
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting, stunning accommodation - and red squirrels!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We don't usually write reviews on Trip Advisor, but our visit to 'Woodland Cottage' was just stunning. We booked at the last minute and really didn’t know what to expect (the photographs don't do it justice), but when we arrived we were very impressed. The cottage is bright, homely, spotlessly kept and very well equipped - and the surroundings are unbelievably beautiful. We loved waking up to cows grazing in the field, red squirrels in the garden and swallows swooping in and out of their nest above our door! Kay was really helpful, without being intrusive,and we really enjoyed exploring the Eden Valley and The Lake District.
Drinking an afternoon vodka and coke in the garden was my highlight :) If you're looking for a really peaceful getaway, excellent value for money and stunning countryside, then this is the place to go!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and its setting...
Liked least: Checking out!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clorimers
2 reviews
“Idyllic cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed in 2 bedroom cottage. Wonderful views,cottage had everything one would need. We dsw cows and a red deer from lounge. Met Catherine and Richard our neighbours. Happy days. Highly recommend! !!!!

Date of stay: July 2014
Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.