We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Bathroom
High Cup Nick, amazing walk you can do from the barn, stunning views
Beautiful Eden Valley
View from Mini Murton House towards Murton Pike
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mashinka5...
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed a week at this lovely converted barn, the log burning fire was a great feature and was a focused point in our holiday as we enjoyed our relaxing time sitting by the warm fire playing board games. It was superb.
The master bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up in the mornings. The kitchen was equipt with everything we needed.
The nature surrounding was beautiful full of trail walks and cycle routes, we climbed Murton Peak which was very rewarding.
Mary Anne and her family were lovely, friendly, helpful and wonderful people. I will choose to stay there again in the future. Many thanks Mary Anne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burning fire
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2015
Thanks Maria for the feedback.
So pleased you had a lovely stay. We hope to see you again soon.
All the best Mary-Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful little cottage with lovely countryside around! The owners live next door but let you have your privacy. They even put on the fire for us so it would be warm when we arrived and additionally we received a bottle of cava for New Year's Eve.
We felt very welcome and at home sitting in front of the fire.

Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire place
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Pleased you had a good stay.
All the best for 2015!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleksande...
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Christmas ever”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had wonderful Christmas time. For some reason we've been away from our families this year so decided to spend in quiet village cottage. That was best choice possible ever. After we've been fascinated so great welcome - nicely presented, lighted up cute little cottage with Christmas tree seen through glass door we started feeling Christmas atmosphere. Cottage was warmed up with fire in classic stove, which kept as warm through night.
In the morning (as we arrived late evening) we were enjoying astonishing surrounding view on mountains. Of course can not miss out to have a walk, as there is a lots of foot paths around.
I don't think there is any need to look for some better place to recover, clear own mind or spend priceless time with closest people.
We are so grateful to Marie Anne and her family that we could had this experience at all.

Thank You All for that special time spent in Mini Murton Cottge.
Best wishes for coming New Year, and all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely mountain view and warm stove :)
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aleksande...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Christmas atmosphere ever !”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We had wonderful Christmas time. For some reason we've been away from our families this year so decided to spend in quiet village cottage. That was best choice possible ever. After we've been fascinated so great welcome - nicely presented, lighted up cute little cottage with Christmas tree seen through glass door we started feeling Christmas atmosphere. Cottage was warmed up with fire in classic stove, which kept as warm through night.
In the morning (as we arrived late evening) we were enjoying astonishing surrounding view on mountains. Of course can not miss out to have a walk, as there is a lots of foot paths around.
I don't think there is any need to look for some better place to recover, clear own mind or spend priceless time with closest people.
We are so grateful to Marie Anne and her family that we could had this experience at all.

Thank You All for that special time spent in Mini Murton Cottge.
Best wishes for coming New Year, and all the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely mountain view and warm stove :)
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2014
So pleased you had a lovely Christmas.
Have a wonderful 2015, wishing you all the very best.
The Sadlers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy G
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A gorgeous holiday home in a beautiful area. So relaxing and cosy. Great hosts who give you privacy but are always available to help (and also to provide some quality cake). I couldn't find anything to moan about even if I put some serious thought into it! We stayed for four nights and would have loved to stay longer. Perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2014
Hi Tracy
thanks for the review and nice comments.
Come back for more cake!
all the best M-A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy S
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant location & cosy house”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Had a lovely stay at Mini Murton, the house was clean tidy and well presented. The hosts were lovely and very helpful. Peaceful village with lovely surroundings and not far from Appleby town. Wish we had booked for longer, highly recommend for anyone wanting a peaceful break.

Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom and Bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
Hi Amy
thanks for the lovely review, pleased you had a good time.
Maybe see you again but for longer?
all the best Mary-Anne and Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macca1711
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“JUST WHAT WE PICTURED”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and both fancied the Lake District . Looked for ages and then found Mini Murton House . It is charming and tucked away in a lovely little village . It has a cosy sitting room /kitchenette, perfect for knocking up breakfast or a spag bol.A good sized bathroom with a huge bath, big enough for two. A mezzanine double bedroom which is beautiful and bright due to plenty of windows. The bed is very comfortable with lovely plump pillows. There is also a smaller down stairs bedroom with a couple of bunk beds which looked very cosy.There was every thing there for a comfortable break. Loved the wood burner which just added to the cosyness.Mary Ann and her family are very welcoming but not imposing , they kindly gave us champagne for our anniversary, some delicious cakes and the sweetest homegrown tomatoes. IT is a relaxing and picturesque setting with wonderful walks. Unfortunately due to my husbands ill health we were not able to take advantage of the walks. Still plenty to do around the area. Would reccomend a boat trip on Winderemere and a walk around Ambleside shops. We felt very comfortable in asking Mary Ann or her Ian her husband if we had needed anything. Would suggest you need own transport to stay here . Would recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner.
Liked least: Not long enough stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2014
So pleased you had a great break.
All the very best.
M-A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing