We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property
Romantic 4 poster bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic 4 poster bedroom
The entrance to 'The Garden Cottage' The open plan living space with high beamed ceilings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Romantic 4 poster bedroom
The entrance to 'The Garden Cottage'
The open plan living space with high beamed ceilings
The seating area
The kitchen and wall with feature bricks
The kitchen area
A feature window
The romantic 4 poster bed in 'The Garden Cottage'
The large bedroom with oak furniture
Bathroom
The view from the front door
View towards the North Pennines as you approach Scalebeck
One of Scalebeck's permanent residents
A quiet seat in our garden with farmland behind
Another regular visitor - you will hear him even if you don't catch a glimpse
Picnic table in the garden
The beck running through the garden - it is home to protected english crayfish
Looking back down the drive
The nearby conservation village of Great Asby
Our nearest pub 'The Three Greyhounds' (1 mile away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie S
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning and peaceful”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage is so pretty and cosy. Very clean and well equipped. A home made cake and tea greeted us on our arrival. The hosts were very welcoming. There are lots of walks from the cottage and wildlife every where. There are lots of quant villages, and plenty of places to eat. The food in the local pubs is out standing. Our holiday was peaceful, relaxing, and just far enough away from the commercial bustle of then lakes.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nigel2568
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, Tranquil and Romantic”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at this wonderful cottage and the photographs in the advert do not do it justice.
The owner (Kay) was there to meet us on arrival and was very helpful and friendly. Tea, coffee and a cake were already in the kitchen area awaiting our arrival, a lovely touch.
The gardens around the cottage were beautiful and teaming with wildlife, though unfortunately on our visit we did not see the Red Squirrels or Deer.
There are plenty of beautiful small villages in the area with Inns that provide excellent meals from locally sourced meat and veg. Meals are very good value too.
Kay has provided guest packs in the cottage which has places to visit, local walks, places to eat etc.
I would definitely recommend this cottage to couples who are looking for a quiet, romantic weekend together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron W
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place, with stunning views, loved our stay!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We made a last minute trip to the garden cottage and loved it. The cottage was lovely and Kay was very welcoming. We arrived home yesterday and I'm missing it already! Would definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathyA944
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning location, Beautiful cottage, Lovely Owners!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Have had such a lovely time staying at The Garden Cottage. Stunning views and so peaceful! The cottage was lovely (the photographs don't do it justice) and was immaculately clean. Beautiful bedroom. Flynn (our dog) loved his own field to run around in. Kay and Andy were so friendly and helpful. Don't often write a review, but loved everything about this place. Would definitely go back! Thank you.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaundj
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy quiet fantastic accommodation”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights as we enjoyed the Apperby Horse Fair. This was our first stay here, with close proximity to Appelby, it was perfect.
The accommodation was fantastic, the apartment was well at up with a good kitchen, ample space for two. Our host was very friendly and super helpful, we enjoyed the personal service. There are several setups to suit familys and couples. There was a shared laundry that we appreciated.
It is a lovely rural location, the building are typical farm style. Its a warm and quiet hideaway, and we will look to staying here again.
I would just like to ask for a more comfy couch in the lounge!
Many thanks for making our stay memorable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemc159
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a delightful cottage, part of old farm buildings set around the farmyard; very well designed so that you can have privacy when you want it. The cottage is very well equippped and comfortable. Kay, the owner, is extremely helpful and has obviously put a lot of thought into her business. The garden is a delight and Kay pointed out the best viewing points for red squirrels which we managed to see. This is a great pet friendly cottage. There are sheep in the neighbouring fields so you need to keep your dog controlled but there is a small fenced grassy area on the property where you can let your dog off the lead. We hope to be back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bedroom in the cottage; the overall setting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage comfort
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing