We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

The Midland Hotel - Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Midland is a free house with three hand-drawn pumps offering a selection of local award-winning beers, ales, traditional ciders and perrys. Cumbrians are fond of their pub food and our menu includes some of the all-time favourites: local butcher's Cumberland sausage in a giant Yorkshire pudding, lasagne made with best minced steak & red wine, ham & eggs or steak & ale pie.The Midland is known for its speciality dishes too. Daily specials can include a creamy Italian risotto, a range of Mediterranean treats in the tapas style menu, a Thai curry and there's always a selection of vegetarian specials.We aim to use as many locally-produced ingredients and make as many of our dishes on site as possible. We use Appleby Creamery's award-winning cheeses in our specialty dishes or you can have a selection as a light meal or dessert.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Visited on a number of occasions during our week in Appleby and would say without a doubt that it was our favourite of the places we ate at! Sunday lunch was delicious, great to see basket meals making a comeback too! Service, cleanliness, choice all first rate. See you again next year!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
thanks you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay in Appleby and our pub, we look forward to seeing you next year! Amie, Clive & Staff x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    15
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having visited previously for food,we were determined to come back for a stay,when we booked we were lucky to book our stay whilst the hotel were hosting their first beer festival (of which we thoroughly enjoyed).Our room was lovely,clean and comfortable,the breakfast and the homemade meals are very tasty and the service overall was excellent.All staff being very friendly especially the owners Clive & Aime who are very welcoming hosts.We will most certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeC19703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your great review, it was great to see you both again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.and hope to see you sometime in the near future.

Regards

Clive & Amie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner and beer”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Enjoyed healthy and substantial BBQ shrimp and salad. I love that a pub can have healthy food too. We stayed in this hotel/B & B also and had a great meal in the morning. Great customer service from the owners and their family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Midland is very handy for the Settle/Carlisle railway and for the centre of Appleby. It's been refurbished reasonably recently and the rooms are fresh, clean and pleasant. Evening food was an interesting selection and a bit different from the the normal pub fare though that was there as well if you wanted it. Excellent selection of guest beers and clearly fully deserving of its 2013 Camra Award. I'd recommend it for accommodation, food and drink.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterMW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AM1E_B, Owner at The Midland Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the great review we are always pleased when someone has enjoyed their visit and takes the time to review us. Thanks for the recommendation too!
Cheers, Amie & Clive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel, bar and restaurant!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Midland for two nights (Sat & Sun).

We had a lovely stay - the room (#4) was absolutely fantastic - spacious, fresh, clean, comfortable - could not have asked for better. The breakfast was top notch too!!

The bar and restaurant were great - Real Ale is a big plus for me, and the selection on was great - and in very good condition. The food was lovely too - I think we tried the burger, sausage & mash, ham & eggs and the chilli over the course of the stay - all were great.

Clive & Amie were welcoming hosts, and we will certainly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveBiss, Owner at The Midland Hotel - Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Ian, we enjoyed having you both stay.
We are pleased with things so far but aim to build upon what we have achieved so far.
Hope to see you both in the near future.

Regards

Clive and Amie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Midland Hotel - Restaurant also viewed

Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
 
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
 
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District
 

Been to The Midland Hotel - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing