We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped cottage in excellent location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage .

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Electric reclining chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby-in-Westmorland, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda O
1 review
“Well equipped cottage in excellent location.”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cottage is situated in an ideal location for easy access to the Lake District, Carlisle, Barnards Castle, etc., by car. Property was spotless on arrival with tea, coffee, milk and a cake provided so we were able to immediately get a hot drink and a snack. Excellently equipped cottage with most modern electrical equipment, including flat screen TVs in lounge and bedrooms, washing machine and tumble drier, and WiFi access.

The owners are friendly and approachable who gave us excellent tips on where to eat, visit etc. A very minor problem with the property was resolved immediately so definitely no complaints about service.

A minor downside as far as we were concerned was the downstairs bathroom which took a couple of days to adjust to but this is the design of many older cottages. The standard/quality of duvet covers etc was excellent but we found the memory foam mattress on the double to be rather uncomfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped with modern electrical equipment.
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumzie44
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What A Lovely Hoilday Destination”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival the proprietor was very welcoming, also throughout our stay.

The area was easy access to parts of the lake district.

The cottage was very comfortable ... like home from home. Also the garden was lovely to sit in, in the nice summer sunshine which followed us from home..

Easy walks within distance. great for Lunar and Adam (greyhounds).

The local was pub was an advantage, with excellent meals.

Will definately go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable Cottage / Access to local amenities / Friendly area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynpoynte...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage was absolutely fantastic everything you could need and very comfortable.
Had a lovely time in the village also went to the local pub was made welcome too.
Mr cambell is a lovely man looked after us very well.
Fabulous place
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: The hills
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvia c
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“damp bedrooms cat smell in living room”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

On approaching this cottage all the windows were open which tells me oh oh.
The owner showed us all we had to know except the parking discs which we have never used before when we have stayed in holiday cottages. We had to go next door and ask the owner all about them. A Sainsbury cake and a small milk was left for us but the items of food that were left in the cupboards should have been chucked out ages ago. The towels were good quality and the beds were to our liking. It wasn't too much bother having to use the toilet down stairs we had stayed in a similar cottage before
We went to the village for food for the breakfast and shut the windows before we went out. When we got back the living room stunk of cats. There was electric smelling things in the wall socket with nothing in them ? so had to go out and buy some fresh air spray which didn't do the job. We went to unpack and both bedrooms stunk of damp. Had to wash our dressing gowns when we got home because of the smell it left from the bedroom The second bedroom was not as bad as the double so I ended up sleeping on my own for 5 nights.
We couldn't stand the smell any longer and decided to return home after 5 days instead of the 7 we had paid for with Sykes cottages.
I went round to tell the owner and she wasn't in so I left a note with a lady who answered the door. I had already wrote a note out to say we were leaving early for another reason but the main reason we left was because of the smells. Infact the owner didn't come round to see if we were OK all the time we were there.
This cottage has everything you would need for a week visiting the dales and we were sorry to have to leave early as the weather was good.
I write a lot of reviews on the trip adviser and this is the first time I have had to be so negative about a place we have rented.
Just 2 other things about this cottage and the parking. It says on the advert enough room for 2 cars. SORRY BUT THIS IS NOT TRUE. W e have a normal size car and found it very hard to park close to a wall for other cars to pass from a very narrow country lane. Oh and take a frying pan if you like a hearty breakfast because the one that's in the cottage needs to be replaced ASAP. So for the people that have booked this cottage all I can say is good look with the smells. If you have cats in your own house you will probably feel at home here with the smell but I doubt you will feel at home with the damp smell.
And to the person who made the same complaint on here I say this
I SHOULD HAVE LISTENED TO YOU.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
What a load of rubbish. Cats have never been in the cottage. Windows on hot days are left open after the cleaning lady has finished steaming the floors and for the parking we had two large holiday vans parked outside the cottage this year. We don't supply food we only leave a cake and milk so guests can have a tea and cake on arrival. The parking disks don't apply in our own car park but if you are visiting places in Cumbria then you may need one. The frying pan was just bought a few weeks ago but had been misused by other guests so had a few scratches on. We don't bother guests whilst they visit but if we see them we are always friendly and will have a talk with them and make sure everything is ok. Everyone else has had lovely things to say about our cottage but she never had a nice word to say. We apologise to anyone who has had to see this comment as it it is not a true reflection of our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third visit to Jasmine Cottage,this time for 2 weeks.We love coming here.Relaxing and quiet yet within driving distance of the Pennines,Dales and Lake District.Steve and Vivienne are very helpful and we highly recommend this cottage.We have re-booked again for our 4th visit next year.Tilly,our Spoodle loves it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliemulv...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, Ideal Location.”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

just had a marvellous weeks holiday at Jasmine cottage, superp location for getting out and about. The cottage has everything you need to make your stay very comfortable and relaxed, the owners are very friendly and informative about the area which helps when your not sure about various places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The area.
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame L
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a week at this lovely cottage with my niece as a quite break after a caring for my elderly mother for 3 years, there is everything that you would ever want included in the cottage and more, fresh flowers and cake included, nice touch. Great location for the Dales and the Lakes and very close to the town centre but still in a very quite area. Beds are so comfortable and rooms very spacious more than enough room for 4 people. There is no negatives to this cottage.BRILLIANT!!!!!!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing