We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a haven of peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 12, 2009

tucked away just outside Appleby this country house/hotel is ideal for some peace and quiet, where the staff are always there but never obtrusive.
Nothings to much trouble for them so when my wife and my self fancied a late afternoon dip in the indoor pool they quickly opened it up for to use at our own convenience. no TV's in the public rooms brings back the art of conversation.
Food was tip top, admittedly pricey, but was included in our half board winter break deal so bargains are there to be had.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryholdenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,630 - 1,636 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

The room was very clean and spacious but at this level of hotel we didn't expect to find UHT milk in the rooms and the room lighting was very poor.

Bathroom included jacuzzi bath and small TV but spoilt by an inefficient shower and very thin, non absorbent bath towels.

Food quality was the biggest dissapointment. It was very well presented but really did not live up to it's appearance. Steak was tasteless, a pork dish contained a large piece of fatty grissle and the strawberry mouse was virtually inedible as it appeared to be set using a large amount of partially undisolved gelatine.

Basically we would have prefered less attention to presentation and more to quality of ingredients and cooking, particulary as the prices are over the top for what was on offer.

Breakfast was passable but again nothing special for this level of Hotel.

We did complain to the waiters but received no further feedback or comments and was not even asked if we enjoyed our stay on checking out.

Overall this is a reasonable hotel in a good location but I would not reccommend it at the prices being charged.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank YorksBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Stayed here with my family for an anniversary celebration, and was more than happy with the hotel.

I had one of the Garden rooms, and the room was spacious with a great view.

They could do with a bigger pool, as it is very oddly shaped and small, and some gym equipment would have been nice, however the sauna, Turkish steam room, and jacuzzi were nice to have.

The view from the conservatory with pre-dinner gin and tonics was superb, and the food itself was top notch, although I think the chef at breakfast was not up to scratch, we were served almost raw sausages, and he managed to burn my brioche.

All in all though, the hotel is perfectly situated, comfortable, and expertly staffed - its perfect for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rustytravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

An excellent location for touring the Lakes, the Dales and the Pennines. The hotel is very comfortable with beautiful floral displays outside on the terrace with wonderful views. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent but above all the staff are friendly, helpful and proud of their hotel- a rare combination these days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gclontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel, I booked it for our first anniversary. After checking many reviews on other hotels. this seemed the best one, so I booked it, with a package that included champagne and flowers. (beautiful flowers in the room waiting for us). The hotel is lovely, in a lovely location and gorgeous views. The grounds of the hotel are kept really nice and gardens look beautiful. We had a 'garden view' room (£10 extra chage for this room), this was really nice, big room and very very clean. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to accommodate you. the food is excellent! very well presented and tasted delicious, cooked to perfection. We did try the pool, the only thing with the pool is, its very small, and oddly shaped at the bottom, short shallow floor which drops suddently to bout 6ft, some children were in the pool and they seemed to be happy with it. Has a small jaccuzi and a small sauna, turkish room. Would i stay here again...... yes definitely. The only thing I would comment on is if you book it, phone them as their website needs updating which they agreed with me. Hopefully next time the weather will be better for us, but then we were in the lake district!

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank nuttymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Stayed in one of the family rooms over a bank holiday weekend with two small children in tow. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome and the children loved the hunt for the bedroom!
The gardens are beautiful and the views just amazing.
We got a great rate on dinner, bed and breakfast and the evening meals were delicious and the children were also well catered for.
The hotel is also conveniently located to explore the North Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and there are plenty of family activities nearby.
Highly recommended!!!!

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank hollifer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The hotel is in an excellent location, close to everything but quiet, we visited the lake district, hawes in the yorkshire dales and also the pennine way all of which were only a short distance away from the hotel.The room was spotless and well equipped. The bar staff friendly and efficient. The restaurant was superb, the meal was presented very well, well cooked and well priced for the excellent quality.
We had great weather which helped tremendously, we wiil definately return to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Matt1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $110 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing