We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed a couple of nights this week on a wowcher deal. Overall the stay was very pleasant. All the staff were all so friendly and helpful, and breakfast was lovely too. I am very impressed with the location as we could travel anywhere we wanted for the day.
The room was just what we wanted and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. We stayed in the annex which was very pleasant too, but next time it would be nice to stay in the main house. The grounds were also very lovely.

Thanks again for such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the views of the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Abby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I wiil pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and especially the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals so much.
I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent two nights in a standard room in august in this hotel, I booked it on line as bed and breakfast, never been to this area or hotel before, it was very well maintained, beautiful gardens, and set in a very tranquil area with a lovely view, the rooms were very clean, staff were very helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, continental breakfast and good english fry up, fast to the table nice and hot, the only fault we had was that we didn't realised there were tea and coffe facilties in the room, (they were in a cupboard) we had to shower and dress before getting one at breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals so much.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Sorry the tea tray was not more obvious - we will rectify this i know how important that fist cuppa is!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

As my title signifies I am very fond of Appleby Manor. In fact, I would even say I have not found better. From the moment you arrive your are treated special. Everyone is so nice and helpful. The food is excellent, the views from the beautiful gardens sublime. This was our second visit, but it certainly will not be our last. well done Appleby Manor.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mags1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your second stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
I am really pleased that we are simply the best in your eyes.

Looking forward to your next visit

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have just returned from a two night break at Appleby Manor, this being our third visit in 18 months. We were upgraded free of charge to a garden room overlooking the flower filled gardens and scenic Eden Valley. The food in the restaurant on the first night was up to it's normal high standards with canapés in the conservatory followed with a 4 course meal in the garden room restaurant. We dined in the bistro on the second night and although the quality of the food was equally as good as the restaurant I started with a platter of mixed ham and salami and salad, which I felt would have been enhanced with a couple of slices of bread or a crusty bap, my main course was a lamb stew type dish topped with pan hagerty potatoes, this was all served in one pot and again would have been enhanced with a bap or bread and butter. On the second day there, as part of our deal we visited the Lakeland Bird of Prey Centre at Lowther where between 1400 to 1600 hours there is a fantastic 2 hour flying display with peregrine falcons and hawks being flown by a very knowledgable and entertaining handler. This is well worth a visit and is only a 25 minute drive from the hotel. All of the staff at the Manor are friendly, helpful and quite obviously from the smiles on their faces are very happy in their work. There is a free wifi service although the signal is rather poor and we failed to get a connection, however, on a two night break in such lovely surroundings who needs the internet! The leisure spa is outdated and I understand will eventually be renewed, it consists of a very small relaxation pool, a jacuzzi which is empty and unserviceable, a steam room and a sauna, the sauna when we visited in February this year only reached a warm temperature with a note on it stating that one of the elements wasn't working and a spare was on order, disappointingly 6 months later the sauna is still not getting hotter than warm and the note they the element is on order remains in situe! To summarise, a lovely hotel with character in a picturesque part of Westmorland, excellent food and staff who go the extra mile but if you want a state of the art health spa wait until it is renewed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are quiet whereas rooms in the stable annexe are close to the A66 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you for your constructive comments about the leisure club. Be assured that we are looking to upgrade the leisure facilities but obviously a job of this size takes time to plan and fund!
Plans are being submitted to the council in the next couple of weeks with a view to the new facility opening in the summer of 2015.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We spent four nights in this lovely country hotel. We cannot fault the service offered the staff could not be more accommodating.Our room had been upgraded and was clean and we were always left with a complementary bottle of their own water.The setting was beautiful with lovely views out from the conservatory. Breakfasts were huge with lots of choice and we ate in the Bistro on two nights which offered a great menu.We came to do walking in the Lakes and this was quite a journey in each day but we didnt mind as we so enjoyed the scenery and having such a nice relaxing environment to come back to.There was lots of local info available throughout the hotel and a daily weather report !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Great to hear you would consider coming back to Appleby manor, we do get a lot of repeat visits from our guests and it is always nice to welcome back a familiar face.
Maybe on your next visit you could take in some local walks as we are only 3 miles from the Pennine way and high cup nick.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited Applyby manor for my partners 40th birthday celebrations, we stayed in one of the garden view rooms which was to our liking with patio doors leading to some stunning views of rolling countryside and beautiful gardens. The room was very clean and well set out with everything you could need. Our evening meal in the bistro was breathtaking the food was sensational, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend a visit as it' will be one to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about the garden view rooms, they are very popular and especially so in the summer months. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a voucher deal used the restaurant on both night's food was excellent service was great all staff very friendly . Stayed in an annex room which was ok but next time would like to stay in the main house . Thanks all for a great relaxing break .

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DUNCAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had the relaxing break you were hoping for.
I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us.
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
23.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing