We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were here for our wedding anniversary & had a really nice time.
The hotel is clean & comfortable with friendly staff, we had dinner there on the first night and although they were a little slow seating us the food was good.The spa is a little dated but on the whole Would recommend and stay here again : )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure that our guests get the best possible break from the outside world.

regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    365
    90
    33
    15
See reviews for
113
1,081
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This was our first get-away since having our baby in December. I must admit I was very apprehensive about taking him away as I have experienced first hand how annoying it can be to have other peoples noisy babies/children around when you are trying to have a relaxing holiday!

We were greeted and shown around the hotel - I really appreciated this as sometimes you miss out on things because you simply don't know where they are. We were booked in for a meal (this was free through our secret escapes deal). Room was a great size, we had a deluxe double and they have placed a cot in the room for our baby (which he absolutely loved). The room was cleaned to a very high standard and also had a jacuzzi bath (that had a tv!!) This is an old building and is bound to have a few drafts, however, I was very impressed with how well the hotel was heated. My only advice would be that you may want to bring your own hair dryer - the one in the room wasn't very powerful but it did the job! (I think I was just too eager to get down to breakfast!)

The meal in the restaurant was lovely and I was impressed they did extra vegetarian options. It was beautifully presented, we also got canapés in the conservatory and a mini cup of soup before the starter. The Parma violet ice-cream was delicious. We chose to go out to the Royal Oak in appleby the next night - portions were huge! And ate in the hotel bistro on the last night - they also had an additional vegetarian menu.

The spa is small but that was fine for us. We had it to ourselves for a good hour which was fantastic because we were able to take our baby swimming for the first time - he was so relaxed he fell to sleep in the water! being able to have this experience really made our holiday :)
Something like this is a great addition to a hotel - especially when it's cold and windy outside.

I agree with a previous review, Appleby itself doesn't have much to do. When we drove around it most of the places seemed to be closed. This wasn't a problem for us - but I suppose it depends on what you're going away for!

The hotel itself is very quiet (to the point that you could probably hear a pin drop at times during breakfast) - most people are probably just in oar of the view. Our baby slept most of the time whilst we ate and when he was awake he loved all the attention from the staff.

I must say the staff absolutely make this hotel - polite, friendly, smart and welcoming. Rarely have I seen an establishment that have such a good group of staff. I wish I could remember everyone's name to give them a mention (...Mike was great at breakfast) because they really did add to a great experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cotonrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Fantastic! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable, we like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure our guests leave with and smile on their face, refreshed and relaxed.
I will pass your comments on to all the departments within the hotel.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came for a mid-week two day break last year. We were very happy with the overall experience. We took a luxury room overlooking the garden. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a problem with the hot water but a super-duper new biomass boiler was actually being fitted at the time. We took all our meals at the hotel and they were superb. We thought the staff were excellent. The hotel is quite near a dual carriageway and there may be an issue with background road noise in some rooms but we certainly did not experience any.
We will be returning to this superb small hotel in lovely countryside.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gordona107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Fantastic! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable, we like to feel we go the extra mile to make sure our guests leave with and smile on their face, refreshed and relaxed.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My boyfriend had booked here for my birthday weekend..he waited for a month after my birthday as he wanted to ensure we had a deluxe room. All I can say is if the room we had was a deluxe room, I'd hate to see what the standard rooms were like. The 'deluxe' room was small, looked quite tired and the bathroom was very old fashioned. Each time we had a shower it leaked out from the side of the bath and partially flooded the bathroom.

I found myself feeling very unwell on one of the evenings and had to come home from the restaurant we were planning to eat at. We decided that we would get a takeaway as I was too unwell to eat out. We asked a member of staff for some plates and cutlery and were told we would be charged £5 for 'room service' despite us offering to bring our used plates back down and despite explaining I was too unwell to eat elsewhere.

Overall, I found the experience very disappointed, especially as we had spent so long looking forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyW1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.
So sorry you were disappointed with your stay, we are very busy at the weekends so specific rooms can get booked weeks out, I was surprised you were unhappy with our deluxe rooms as most reviewers on TripAdvisor rate them very highly as they are all over 30 sq meters all have been refurbished within the last 4 years and all benefit from bathrooms with jaccussi baths and bathroom T.Vs. There is a shower protector or curtain in each deluxe bathroom, so as long as this is positioned inside the bath there should be no problem.
We do charge a small room service fee for guests requesting plates, glasses and cutlery for takeaway food as obviously there is a staff cost to bring them to your room and to wash said items afterwards.
Regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived Saturday evening to a lovely welcome from the gentleman on reception who showed us round the hotel, then showed us to our room. We unpacked and went to the bar for a drink prior to our evening meal, we drank in the lovely relaxing conservatory, which in the daylight has wonderful views. Dinner was in the Bistro and it was very nice, the staff were very attentive and helpful. Breakfast next morning was in the Restaurant which again overlooked the beautiful views and the food was very nice. Once again the lady on reception was extrememly helpful as we were trying to find a local walk and she printed some off for us. We didnt eat in the hotel that day as we had eaten a little bit too much whilst out but did go in the bar and yet again staff were very helpful. Our room was very clean if a bit on the small side and we didnt like being in the coach house, if we went again we would ask for a room in the hotel. But overall we did enjoy ourselves.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room not the coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janebLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Great, Thank you so much for your great review. It gives everyone at the manor a great buzz to know you have enjoyed your time with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Appleby Manor was a perfect stay for me and my boyfriend, we thoroughly enjoyed it! The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay! We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend this to anyone! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the annexe of the building and this was perfect but next time we would probably try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Perfect! Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had such a great time. The staff are one of the main reasons that make a stay here so enjoyable. So happy that you enjoyed your meals, we do take great care in selecting the best local produce we can to insure we get the best possible quality on to our guests plates.
Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike and Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I had one night here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They securely locked up our mountain bikes. The rooms were well appointed and clean. The highlight though was definitely the service and food we had during the evening meal. The staff were attentive and very professional. The food was outstanding and had an excellent choice on the menu. The breakfast was also outstanding with a good selection and again outstanding service. Would recommend to anyone and we will return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
Hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
12.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
24.7 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing