We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit and just as good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from a second visit thsi year to this lovely hotel. Yet again the staff were wonderful, food great and room beautiful. Since our last visit they have opened a Bistro in addition to the main restaurant giving another less formal option for eating at the hotel yet still with the same standard of wonderful food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SNic_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Fantastic! Great to hear we matched your hi expectations on your 2nd visit. Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
There are newer reviews for Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We arrived to a really warm welcome by Carole, the receptionist, and although we were 3 hours early for check in, our room was ready. We stayed in the Heelis Suite which was very large and comfortable with a beautiful bathroom (the only downside was the view from the huge window as it looked onto the roof of the conservatory). We ate in both the bistro and the dining room and were very impressed by both. The service was very professional but also at the same time extremely friendly and the food was excellent. My husband, being a cheese lover, was very impressed with the cheese trolley! The views from hotel are stunning and sitting in the conservatory for a pre-dinner drink was very relaxing. We went on the Red Deer cruise on Ullswater which the hotel had booked for us and that was a fantastic day out. A lovely hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff - we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms have the best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Wow, Thank you so much for your great review. It gives everyone at the manor a great buzz to know you have enjoyed your time with us.
Really pleased you thought your experience with the red deer was great ! Being a family run hotel we like to feel we can go the extra mile and offer our guests the wow factor and great service, we have invested heavily in the facilities but most people remember the service they receive from hotels rather than the decor.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived at this gorgeous hotel for our anniversary trip. The setting is absolutely stunning and the building itself is pretty impressive. We were upgraded to a garden view room on arrival which was a nice surprise but unfortunately our experience went downhill from there. Our mattress was lumpy, headboard extremely squeaky and the sheets were not a good standard (a bit rough and ill-fitting), we slept very badly all 3 nights. The food was a surprising disappointment...we went expecting the very best but were underwhelmed by the majority of it. I have to recommend the crab souffle as it was excellent. However, the chef went on to spoil my steak - added mint to the peppercorn sauce (oddly there was also an extra charge for the accompanying sauce) and the meat itself was overcooked, bland and watery - the first steak i've ever had that hasn't been tasty. Even the breakfast was only ok except when i was served fishy scrambled eggs and raw pancakes.
In addition, the jacuzzi was filthy, with an oily scum on the surface that you could only see when the bubbles were off.
Just gutted with this trip, we went there happy to pay as much as we needed to be pampered and stay in luxury, but have come away feeling disappointed and out of pocket.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahlortscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review of Appleby Manor, I will pass your comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen.
I am so sorry not all aspects of your stay was to your satisfaction. I will look into your comments about the mattress as we have had no other complaints about this.
I was on duty the night you dined and i think your review could be construed as slightly misleading as you ordered a medium well steak and complained that there was no blood/pink left in the steak, I have been cooking for 25 years and have never served a medium well steak bloody. You also commented that you did not like the cut (sirloin) and would have preferred a T-Bone, unfortunately we do not have these on the menu. I do not know where the mint sauce has come from as we do not put this into our peppercorn sauce.
In your email (sent just after departure) you did comment on your breakfasts, you complained that the English crumpets breakfast should of had muffins and not crumpets as stated, the menu clearly states ENGLISH CRUMPETS and is printed on our breakfast menu and also published on our website if you would like to take a look, whilst there take a look at the description of the Manor house breakfast, which clearly states - Creamy scrambled eggs with Scottish smoked salmon on soft toasted Brioche - this is perhaps why you scrambled eggs were fishy???
The jaccuzzi is not filthy, we test it 3 times a day and is within water quality regulations at all times when open to guests, there are notices in both changing rooms asking guests to shower before using the facilities.
I am disappointed that during your 3 night stay with us you felt you could not mention any of your concerns as we would have done our utmost to make sure your stay was as pleasurable as you hoped for. It is always our aim for guests to leave with a smile on their face and i am sorry that this was not the case.

Regards
Mike dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here last week on a short two night break and upgraded to the Heelis Suite as a treat for my Husbands Birthday. On arrival we had a very friendly welcome and given a tour of the hotel so we knew where everything was. We dined in the restaurant on the first night with a wonderful dinner at a special price. I had ordered a birthday cake for my husband, this was brought to the table after our main course complete with candles and the staff singing happy birthday ( the other diners also joined in).
Our bedroom was large and very comfortable with a huge bed and two sofas with a large window seat. Unfortunately we didn't have a great view but as we didn't spend much time in the room this did not matter to us. Our bathroom was also huge with a spa bath and a TV to watch whilst bathing, separate shower and twin wash basins.
The staff were great, very friendly, helpful and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was delicious and very well presented. We arrived back after a day touring to a glass of bubbly and strawberry merangue, all part of our two night deal.
On our second night we ate in the newly opened bistro, although we only had sandwiches and birthday cake again the presentation was first class.
The views from the conservatory are wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianandjanet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The approach to the hotel bears out the fact that Appleby Manor Country House Hotel has indeed award-winning gardens. Complements to the gardeners for the glorious display of window boxes. On entering the hotel the reception is very professional yet warm. Breakfasts are delicious (especially lightly smoked haddock with poached egg). Complements to the chef. Restaurant staff are also warmly professional. Lovely room in the annexe which prevented climbing stairs...thanks to the receptionist. Fun pool and jacuzzi with sauna nearby.
A great location for those who love walking, shopping (Penrith is delightful for the older-at-heart) or cruising the lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margareth724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about your Meals, we do try to use as much local good quality produce as possible. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel. Lastly thanks for mentioning the gardens in your review the gardeners do work very hard to maintain the grounds and the results are fantastic.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a fantastic 2 night B&B package, including gourmet dinner, free cruise on Ullswater, and a free glass of fizz with meringues.
We really enjoyed our stay, from the minute we arrived the staff made us feel extremely welcome by taking us on a tour of the hotel to ensure we knew our way around. Our room was a garden room which was large, clean and very well furnished with a huge bed.
The first evening we dined in the main restaurant where the food was very very tasty and well presented. The service was organised, friendly and professional.
The next day we enjoyed a lovely cruise on Ullswater from Pooley Bridge.
The second evening we dined in the new Bistro which was a less formal atmosphere and very enjoyable with lovely food and good service.
For things to do we would recommend Lowther Castle and Gardens, and the National Trust Acorn Bank, both a short drive away.

Room Tip: If you want to sit out on your private terrace, upgrade to a garden room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traceyandstuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor. Thanks for highlighting all the great things to do in the local area we are really blessed in our situation so close to the Lake District, North Yorks Dales and the Pennines.
Hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here on an 'itison' deal for 2 nights and had a lovely time.
The grounds and manor building are stunning and the décor fits well with the character of the property (although could be updated in some areas).
We received an upgrade to a deluxe room which was a nice surprise. This room had a Jacuzzi bath and walk in wardrobe (again décor was in line with overall look/feel of the building however slightly dated).

We dined in the restaurant on the first night and the food was delightful! Scallops and black pudding and smoked seafood terrine to start followed by decent sized sirloins cooked to perfection. My fiancé finished this off with a nice sized portion of carrot cake (although it was lovely had we paid £8 for it I would have expected a larger portion). We were also whispering to each other in a busy restaurant as there was no background music - several other tables appeared to be doing the same.

We had several drinks during our stay in the conservatory and drinks were reasonably priced for a 4* hotel.

We used the leisure facilities and unfortunately wish we had not bothered. Sauna was not working and steam room took over 30 mins to heat up. The changing rooms are very dated and in need of an upgrade, to be honest the hotel would be better without this area.

The lady who owns this hotel was extremely helpful, very friendly, sending us on our travels around the lakes and checking we enjoyed our day on return.
The gentleman who serves at breakfast was very friendly and his customer service skills are second to none!
Breakfast on both days was also very nice with a good range to choose from.

We walked into town on our second night (15 min walk) and dined at Appleby Thai - which was OK (nothing special), we also went into a few of the local bars - some of them leave a lot to be desired!

The pros of this hotel are;

- lovely owner
- lovely building
- delightful food
- good service (most of the time)
- relaxing atmosphere

The cons (really just a few niggles however for these reasons we could not rate 5/5);

- slightly worn décor in some areas
- bed was quite hard
- lady on reception smirked to herself when we asked for our gingerbread tea shortly after arriving (which was part of our deal!) and made us feel awkward
- my fiancé found a piece of round plastic in his muesli (while chewing it!) at breakfast however was offered a fresh bowl immediately by the gentleman who was serving and had noticed this
- leisure facilities are poor for the quality of the hotel
- some light background music would be nice in the conservatory and restaurant areas to avoid awkwardness of having to whisper or listen to others conversations.

We would stay here again on this deal and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a lovely time however if we were to return to the lakes, although easily accessible, we would probably stay in Ambleside/Grasmere purely for location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments, I will make sure they are passed to the relevant departments. We do have music in several areas of the hotel and it should have been playing whilst you were in the restaurant, i do apologise, our aim is always to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere and not get into a situation where our guests fell they have to whisper.
We are planning to upgrade the leisure facilities in the next 12/18 months but obviously a project of this size takes time to plan and fund!
I am glad to hear you would recommend the manor and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Mike and Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
20.7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
24.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $122 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing