We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC BREAK , AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent a wonderful few days in this clean relaxing hotel, with great staff and amazing food, especially the evening meal( which was the highlight of our stay). this must be the 4th or 5th time we have stayed here, and it never fails to impress .this time we managed to stay for 5 days and ate in the hotel every evening, which was delightful. the only downside is a minor one, but it would influence the length of stay here, is the fact that the menu was not changed for the 5 nights we stayed there. there was 7 or 8 starters, mains and desserts but if you were staying for 7 or 10 days or even longer I think the menu could become monotonous however good it is.
nevertheless we hope to be going back there again as soon as funds allow

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
We look forward to welcoming you back for a sixth time.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at Appleby Manor in April 2013. From Friday night to Sunday.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds and although in quite a remote area is very accessible to many areas of the Lake District. Our room was small but well furnished. The bathroom was tiny but adequate, perhaps could have just had a shower cubicle instead of a bath. The staff were excellent and were happy to advise on places of interest. We had dinner at the hotel on one of the nights and the food and service was excellent. The conservatory was a lovely place to relax before dinner, with beautiful views of the countryside. All in all a delightful place to unwind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals so much.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Recently had a weekend here (2 ladies of mature years), we got a good deal with Travelzoo. I loved the hotel from the minute I saw it from the outside. We were made extremely welcome and as we arrived a little too early to check in, we ordered lunch in the conservatory and enjoyed the beautiful views.

Dinner served at the hotel in the evenings was excellent and there were a few nice nibble surprises too.

If I had to have something negative to say it was the very small bathroom which was a little old-fashioned and the bath had obviously at some time been re-enamelled which was peeling off. Also the wifi was extremely slow but I did notice a computer for public use in the conservatory.

The breakfasts were delicious, the beds extremely comfy and there were much more positives than negatives - we will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

I wiil pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
We do pride ourselves on providing great food from local sources, we make great efforts in making sure our menu uses great quality food from as many local sources as possible.
We do try to create a relaxing and friendly and unstuffy atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know we succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A 2-night weekend stay in April 2013. We booked through Living Social which was a £160 deal including breakfast. We upgraded to a "garden room" which effectively bumped the price up by £100. I don't recommend doing that.

Good points:

- Friendly staff.
- Lovely views.
- Clean hotel and clean rooms and bathrooms.
- Good (not gourmet) quality food and drink.
- Nice shower in the room.
- Warm and cosy room.
- Free table-tennis and 50p pool table - but the ping-pong bats are falling to pieces :)
- Free (but very slow) WiFi

Bad points:

- Extremely tired-looking leisure facility which consists of a tiny pool, hot tub, 2-person sauna and small steam room. Cold and cramped changing rooms, and the steam room was out of service.

- Hard mattress and noisy springs on our super-kingsize bed (felt like two beds shoved together).

- Loud whistling noises in the night from the water or heating pipes which woke me up several times - and I'm a heavy sleeper!

In short, we had a nice stay but it isn't the most luxurious place, and we felt it was consequently overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to an upstairs "Garden Room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zootius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the Manor. The team take great pride in providing the wow factor to our guests and always try to exceed guest expectations, its so good to hear you were looked after well. We do have great pride in the staff and thank you for acknowledging the professionalism of the all the staff,
Hope to welcome you back very soon.
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Lovely hotel within easy reach of Lake District. The staff are all very friendly and helpful with ideas about what to do and where to go whatever the weather. We didn't eat in restaurant on an evening but did hAve breakfast there throughout our stay and it was lovely, my husband had the full English and said it was very tasty and meats were of an excellent quality, I had the manor house breakfast each day, perfectly scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on lightly toasted brioche, was a lovely way to start the day looking out over the mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coach house the room was lovely, if we were staying in the summer I think we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forsy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about your breakfasts, we do try to use as much local good quality produce as possible for the buffet and cooked breakfasts.. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The setting is amazing, the location for touring - exploring cumbria and Northumbria as it sits right on ther border is perfect.
We went for our 15th wedding anniversery via Group on and it didnt dissappoint. what ever we asked was fullfilled without a moan or groan. the lovely little touches- even down to having books at the breakfast table to share funny anecdotes with your partner was a lovely touch. The 4 course meal ( I had wood pigeona nd cumbrian venison) was cooked to perfection ! My wife and I sat in the conservatory having a PRE- dinner drink over looking the rolling country side as the sun went down- nothing was too much trouble. We are recomeninding this hotel to every one and will be back ( and no we are NOT on the payrole) . It is lovely to get proper service away from the 'sterile' chains that exist- the owner si s credit to the hotel industry !!

Room Tip: the rooms in the old part of the manot are briilliant so if yo uwant something special select room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDavy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor. Thanks for highlighting all the great things to do in the local area we are really blessed in our situation so close to the Lake District, North Yorks Dales and the Pennines.
Many thanks for the mention of the owners its much appreciated!

Hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here as part of an online deal and thoroughly enjoyed it, we will definitely be returning! We didn't want to leave!

As soon as we arrived in the hotel we were made to feel welcome and relaxed by the very friendly staff. We were also given a tour as soon as we arrived which was great.

The leisure facilities (swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi) although a little small were a great bonus as you wouldn't expect to find these in an old manor house.
They even have a games room which has a pool table and also table tennis which was fun!

The bedroom was lovely, decorated beautifully with very comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. There was also a flat screen tv hung on the wall. Basic tv channels and Movies are played on a certain channel at certain times which was enjoyable.

The lounge rooms in this hotel are sooo cosy and there are quite a few board games and books that are provided for you to enjoy.

The food in the restaurant is delicious and the breakfasts are definitely worth getting up for! Service throughout our stay has been first class and we have no complaints at all.

One recommendation I would make is to have some kind of music playing in the background in the dining rooms and also the games room. There were a couple of occasions when eating in the restaurant where there were around four couples sat eating in absolute silence and I found myself whispering to my husband as I did not feel comfortable speaking at normal volume!!! This is not a big deal by no means and with this being the only recommendation I would make it must prove how good this hotel is!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxhill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

Keep an eye on our website as we regularly post special offers throughout the year, We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
24.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $110 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing