We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
warrington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“another wonderful visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

2nd visit...there will be a third ! set in absolutely beautiful and well kept grounds worthy of all the awards received. owners and staff could not be more friendly or professional..absolutely nothing too much trouble...not one but two chefs complimentary treats each evening prior to dinner which was always top class both in quantity and quality...and of course in the presentation ! loved the refurbished gaarden room..shame the weather didnt match the hotel to allow us to enjoy the patio balcony complete with our own furniture ! thanks again for everything...you deserve all your accolades.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y7161QImariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
I will also pass your comments on to out hard working gardeners, they will be so pleased that you appreciate there work - all we need now is some good weather so the plants will actually grow!!
We look forward to welcoming you back for a third time.

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    376
    94
    33
    16
See reviews for
118
1,118
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights here. Everything about this hotel is excellent.
The staff are friendly & helpful.
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order & the choice was extensive. The evening meal was as good as the breakfast. Really well cooked & presented. The meal also looked as good as anything I have seen on Masterchef!!
The room we stayed in overlooked the garden & the view beyond was spectacular. The room itself was very nice, the beds were comfortable & the bathroom spotless.
I would certainly recommend this hotel & would stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden room definitely. Ground floor has opening doors onto a patio with a small table & chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pejo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about the garden view rooms, they are very popular and especially so in the summer months. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has that rare family run feel with personal and attentive service from local staff. Our room was in the courtyard and was not the largest ive stayed in. Ample facilities with a relatively newly fitted bathroom that was spotless. Tea and coffee making facilities the normal sort of arrangements.

What sets this hotel apart is the light and spacious conservatory area beyond the bar and dining room. Overlooking a wonderful garden and the local area for miles into the distance. Superb quality outdoor furniture, which i would bet be a very popular place to relax in summer. You can sit in the conservatory,lounge and enjoy a long lazy cup of tea with cake if you have the time.

Food and service was always very personal but not over intrusive, breakfast selection was extensive with a buffet selection of cereals and fruit, including home made muesli. As well as an extensive menu selection of cooked to order items, try the crumpets with local ham and poached egg, really superb spicy tomato ketchup comes with that. Coffee was always great quality throughout our stay. Likewise the restaurant in the evening food was superb, venison was superbly tender, pea and ham appetiser was flavoursome and yummy. They take that little extra care with homemade biscuits, kitchen really knows what they are doing, no shortcuts here, please dont change that.

As you can tell id go again at the drop of a hat, so why not five stars, it was very very close ahead of most, just some small touches needed in the room, could have offered hand baked bread as an option for breakfast.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and especially the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thanks for highlighting the family run atmosphere and local staff, we are very happy to employ the vast majority of our staff from the local area, and also source a good deal of our produce from local Cumbrian producers.
It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Another fantastic stay at Appleby Manor! The perfect place to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant with great service. All the staff are smart and friendly, I think this is what makes the hotel work so well. Our two teenage girls were completely at home enjoying the spa and playing table tennis in the games room. Our youngest liked being able to choose from the children's menu and eat with us in the restaurant without anyone knowing it was a kids meal! These things are very important! We wish we could stay every weekend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franemro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
Its great to hear that you thought the whole family were happy with there stay as we do like to make kids feel at home in the hotel.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked 3 days for my wifes Birthday, emailed hotel to have chocolates in the room. We received a free upgrade to a garden room with jaquzzi.
Given a 25% discount on the excellent 5 course dinner, staff were helpful and nothing was to much trouble.
A great base to visit lakes, Teesdale and borders.
Thank you and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapper696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Fantastic! Many thanks for your review. We do feel passionately about the hotel and the service our guests receive, its quite personal as we put a lot of time and effort into the hotel to create a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

Keep an eye on our website as we regularly post special offers throughout the year, We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
296 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were made very welcome on arrival (although would have to mention this standard of attention did not continue, and when we gently questioned our bill there was a rather curt response) and the staff were very efficient although a little formal /impersonal in our opinion.
Our room was delightful, ground floor , large, opened onto the garden and very comfortable and quiet. Only slight niggle was the water pressure/temperature but we had a note to explain they are having boiler issues so that helped.
The decor through the hotel is 'traditional' and comfortable, but sometimes lacking finesse -the lounge is over full of large chairs/sofas for example. The dining room is pleasant but would benefit from more subdued lighting, maybe even some candles at night? The food deserves it. We had dinner once and it was consistently fresh, tasty and well cooked. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, usual buffet, cooked items variable ( miss the pancakes is our advice)
We will call the leisure centre idiosyncratic and rather shabby ...... I'm sure the gardens are nice in summer and when I noticed some ladies having a lavish afternoon tea in the conservatory I thought that would be worth returning for.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank grayfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. We have just installed a biomass boiler and unfortunately one of the water thermostats failed on the Friday evening so we had no control over water temperature in the garden wing resulting in the water reaching 80oc, obviously we wanted to warn guests about this and turn the pressure down a little to aid safety i am sorry for any inconvenience. Many thanks for your other constructive comments, we are always looking to improve and will take your comments into consideration.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited Appleby manor a little while back. My overall impression was neutral as many positives existed including excellent food and a nice building in a wonderful setting.

Two things cannot be overlooked however. My wife had a restricted diet and could not eat gluten so did not want bread with kippers at breakfast. She asked for a replacement of eggs and the waiter point blank and several times refused to ask the kitchen for this and insisted the meal would be filling without bread. He turned up with a plate with kippers on, nothing else, just kippers! Not a good experience.

The second thing was an overwhelming odour of paint in our room which gave us headaches after the first night. Having paid a lot of money for 2 nights stay we complained about the room. They agreed to move us to a building - converted stables or something - which were cold at night . The only discount was £20, a pittance basically for a night if discomfort. The beds in all the rooms were too soft and I got neck ache. Won't bother in future as I didn't feel happy after these 2 problems.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I will of course pass your comments on to our chef and breakfast supervisor about your breakfasts, I am sorry you were not happy with the breakfast you were served, i am disappointed that your request was not handled in a better way, We take pride in the food and service we offer in the restaurant and on the whole get many excellent reviews ( seen in many reviews below).
We did not have any renovation work under taken at the time of your visit in April 2012 so i am confused as to the smell of paint, but obviously having to move room is an inconvenience and i do apologise.
Hopefully the issues you have commented on will not prevent you returning in future
Regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing