We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Enjoying a two night stay with dinner, Appleby Manor was a big hit with my wife and two teenage children. We booked two adjoining rooms with connecting door, perfect for independence but also family togetherness. The rooms were spotless, well serviced and had all the usual trappings of a quality hotel. We had a patio too to enjoy the great views across the fells and gardens. Our meals on both nights were stunning. Top class. Innovative. We were made to feel special but at he same time it was not too overpowering. Staff were faultless in their service and friendliness. The food was to die for. Even breakfast was interesting. On top of a great English there were pancakes, salmon and scrambled eggs on brioche, ham and poached eggs on crumpets, kippers and other choices, all beautifully presented. Why not make the breakfast as interesting as the evening meal!

We enjoyed games of pool for 50p and a free ping pong table with bats and balls in a Settle to Carlisle railway themed room. We sat for ages in luxurious, comfy lounge chairs in a variety of lovely lounge rooms. Finally we ventured into the 'spa' area. This is the area that needs the next bit of care and attention. I am sure that the owners will transform this soon to match the changes they are clearly making elsewhere ( e.g. Table covers replaced with stylish slates and wooden tables). It was ok - small pool, sauna, steam room (not working) and jacuzzi but just needs a bit of tlc.

We were at the shore of Ullswater in 25 minutes and spent a great day in the Lakes but could also have gone the other way into the Dales. The hotel kindly provide hundreds of ideas for sunny and wet weather activities. This sums up this lovely hotel - friendly, welcoming and helpful. They make looking after you appear so simple and effortless but I am sure it is not that easy. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank gnreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor. Thanks for highlighting all the great things to do in the local area we are really blessed in our situation so close to the Lake District, North Yorks Dales and the Pennines.
Thank you for your constructive comments about the leisure club, it is on our to do list but obviously a job of that size takes time to plan and fund
Hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel ticked just about all the boxes for us. Nice secluded location with stunning views. Beautiful grounds with well maintained flower beds. Right on the edge of the Lake District made this a great base to explore. Nice friendly staff who were attentive but not in your face. The stand out feature of the hotel was the food. Absolutely stunning flavours presented artistically. We have never eaten so well before or since. The hotel is at the more expensive end of the market but we were made to feel special so felt it was worth every penny. Only tiny criticism was the firmness of the bed, but this minor point was not enough to dock them a star!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your break so much.
We do try to create a relaxing and friendly and unstuffy atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent a weekend here using a wowcher deal for boyfriends birthday. One of the best hotels we've stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful and appear to be happy in their work , at the same time they leave you alone to get on with your stay, nothing is too much trouble. We were given a complementary room upgrade on arrival . The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on our first night , the food was excellent with plenty of choice , then spent the rest of the evening in very cosy , comfortable lounge area with adjoining bar. The spa area is clean and well maintained an added bonus and great way to spend some time before dinners served at 7. The village is a 10 minute walk down the hill and has some great little pub. All in all this was a fantastic break at an amazing price, we loved every minute and will definatly be going back

Room Tip: We stayed in room 45 , very spacious with a great view out onto the village. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
Its great to hear that you thought the break was great value for money, it's always our aim to have guests leave with a smile on their face.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a lovely part of Cumbria - mainly due to the hotel we chose. The staff were first class, whether at the bar,or serving in the dining room both morning and evening.The atmosphere was very relaxed and the food was really excellent, to the point where we starting to say time to cut back - fat chance! We knew there was an issue with the leisure facilities, but once they are upgraded they will be fine.Booking through Classic Britain was faultless as usual and it's just a case of saying thank you very much to everyone there and we would recommend you to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2bandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
Hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay which was a birthday treat for my husband. We booked via Secret Escapes website a Three night break .The first night was a Thursday in late January and the hotel had very few guests which made it feel very quiet. It improved on the Friday and Saturday though we found ourselves seated away from other guests when the first dining area had been filled and it took a while for the second area to have more diners arrive.The food was really good and beautifully presented.We enjoyed the Spa area .We walked into Appleby and round the town
on the Friday . We appreciated the lovely log fires and the comfort of cosy settees though the ones in the staircase area could have done with a shampoo.We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room 3 in the main building facing the garden and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

I will pass your fantastic comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals so much.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a 2 night stay for a belated birthday treat. We can say the hotel is a "GEM". We had chosen a garden view room, which was very warm/comfortable. with a king-size bed. The Guest Directory in the room was very useful. With all the usual info, plus the menu,wine list and lots of things to do. 43 for sunny days and 49 for rainy/dull days. The food was excellent. Good selection for the evening meal and the breakfast. I believe you could spend the whole day in the hotel - leisure centre with pool,jacuzzi,sauna and steam room. Table tennis/pool. 9 hole putting green and squash court. (although we didn't see this) Appleby is on the Settle/Carlisle railway,with a frequent service. All the staff were friendly and helpful Mike with his dry wit at b/fast really helpful. We recommend the hotel without reservation and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a garden view room on the ground floor - if we had had better weather this would have had a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Fantastic! Many thanks for your review, and the mention of Mike who will be feeling very proud as a result. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike & Angela Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the hotel. The food was great, the views are fantastic and it's only a 30 min walk in to Appleby. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We booked a meal prior to arrival and were told that the offer included a 5 course meal. We had 4 courses and coffee, but were billed £7 for coffee on checkout. When we queried this we were told that it was a 3 course meal, not a 5 course meal that was on offer. Very confusing and Very inconsistent. not a great way to end a lovely stay. Also, the free wifi does not extend to rooms that are not within the hotel, as we stayed in the annexe. Finally, the steam room didn't work. Everything else was great. Fix these errors and ammend the inconsistency and we will return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Turncake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

I will pass your great comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals.
I am so sorry there was a misunderstanding over the billing, our £30 for 5 courses does pertain to canapes, amuse bouche, starter, main and dessert, the coffee & tea are charged for separately. It is our fault that we did not communicate this properly and i do apologise.
The free Wi-Fi in the coach house is weak due to the very thick walls, unfortunately there is not much we can do about this but the Wi-Fi is available in all the public areas of the hotel.
I have investigated the steam room issue and cannot find any problem, all seems to be working as normal. We have not had any reports of a fault.
I hope the misunderstanding over the billing will not stop you returning in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
20.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $114 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing