We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 31, 2013

2 night stay in a garden view room. This was a deal through Travelzoo although we upgraded from a standard room. The manor itself was fabulous, food delicious, log fires and comfy sofa's along with attentive staff who were helpful through out. Definitely be returning

Room Tip: a garden room is ideal for smokers as there are french doors out into the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about the garden view rooms, they are very popular and especially so in the summer months. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay as a birthday treat for myself .wow! soooo!! Relaxing we both loved spa especially steam room then going into pool . Only criticism is pool on the small side .The service was excellent from the moment we arrived to leaving.When we arrived into Appleby around 3pm we were unaware of the school run and It's not easy to get a taxi between 3+4pm. So the hotel very kindley arranged a pick up for us.A BIG thank you. We dined one evening and food was superb as was the service nothing was a bother all very pleasant and well manered . Pleasant room would return. Great pubs round about and good pub lunches.Beware huge food portions..

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mearnsey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My sister, nephew & I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Appleby Manor. What a super place, such an easy journey there with great A roads & dual carriage ways.
Plently of parking and an unloading area right outside the front door.

We were allocated room 14 on the top floor, a lovely spacious family room, but decided to upgrade to room 6 on the 1st floor, there's something about lying in the jacuzzi bath while watching the built in television!

Such a comfortable bed, slept like a log. Leisure facilities were fantastic and we were often the only people there.

The lads on reception were fantastic, multi talented/skilled and nothing was too much trouble.

My only critisism would be our first breakfast ...... we all like crispy bacon & sausages and having expressed this to the waiter as best we could - cremated, sacrificed, burnt etc. we were surprised when that & the sausages were undercooked - in our opinion. We apologised for the inconvenience and asked if they could possibly cook them for longer, less than a minute later they came back looking the same, we asked again, once again, they came back looking blanched, the 3rd time of asking after apologising for the inconvenience, the waiter informed us the chef wouldn't cook them any more as he prided himself on not serving burnt bacon - any thoughts we'd had on booking dinner that night immediately disappeard. The following morning we chose the crumpets with air dried ham & poached eggs (though hollandaise may have been a better option to ketchup) and smoked salmon with salmon eggs, (again, possibly better with granary bread as the brioche was very sweet) both of which were absolutely delicious!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We returned here for the first time in 30 years, it was the first weekend away my wife and I had when we were married so we took advantage of a half price offer to return when we saw a Groupon voucher deal.

We didn't feel that the place had changed too much, there's an extension at the back of the hotel (although we stayed in the main house), the addition of a games room and, well, not too much else from memory. This of course is not necessarily a bad thing.

We had a most enjoyable weekend touring the Lake District and pretty much enjoyed the hotel although we didn't make use of the small spa area or eat in the restaurant. That may have been a mistake but we really didn't feel that the menu suited us too much but that's a personal thing - you can check out the options on their website. We ate both nights in Appleby itself (see my reviews under restaurants) and came back to the hotel for last drinks in front of the roaring fire.

Service was generally very good and the breakfast is decent, I much prefer the cooked to order option rather than the oft wasteful help yourself set ups found in many hotels. My only comment would be that there could have been more options with the cooked breakfast (hash browns/potato cakes, beans etc.?).

We found the bed a little hard but I do have issues with my back and prefer a medium mattress and the room/bathroom we had was "bijou" but maybe I'm being too picky.?

We had a great weekend and generally enjoyed the hotel but probably prefer the more boutique style establishments but if you like 'old school' this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nidgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

I will pass your comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meals.
I am so sorry you could not find something on our menu that took your fancy as we do pride ourselves on the quality of the food we serve in the restaurant.
We all hope to welcome you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Loved it, it was relaxing and quite. It was a surprise birthday gift for my boyfriend. We got snowed in the next day, so we spent the day sitting in the conservatory which over looks the hills. We enjoyed our gingerbread with tea. Had gorgeous meals for the two nights. The service was brilliant, very polite. Also the breakfast was lovely, no has browns but i wouldn't mark the hotel for that. 10/10. Would come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieClaire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your break so much.
We do try to create a relaxing and friendly and unstuffy atmosphere within the hotel and It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We saw the hotel in a Groupon email before Christmas and booked our weekend break for January 2013. We had a wonderful stay, the staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout the hotel. The hotel is very comfortable with lovely roaring fires in both of the lounges, which was very welcoming, as it was snowing most of the weekend! Our bedroom was large and very clean, lovely king size bed although the pillows were a little hard. We used most of the facilities; the leisure area which although small has everything you need to "chill out". We played pool and table tennis which was great fun and nice to see in a four star hotel.

We really enjoyed our evening meal, it was delicious and the service was very attentive. The breakfasts each morning were excellent and we particularly enjoyed the gingerbread tea on our return from Keswick on Sunday afternoon.

Overall the whole experience was perfect, a gem in the Lake District. If we visit the same area again we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 41 - a very quiet room with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SukieSueManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

I will pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Please do mention the pillows the next time you visit as we do hold a number of different pillows including feather, foam or hypoallergenic and will be more than pleased to accommodate your requirements.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Appleby Manor Hotel. We booked our stay with DealCloud for two nights B&B, a gingerbread tea one afternoon and a reduced price for dinner on the first night. We found the staff delightful, helpful, friendly and courteous without being officious or overbearing. They helped to set the tone for a thoroughly relaxing two days in a hotel of great character.

We were greeted warmly on arrival and given a complimentary room upgrade which was much appreciated. Our room was well appointed, very warm and spacious. Breakfasts were varied and appetising, good quality ingredients, well cooked and comprised buffet items and hot food prepared to order by the Chef. The dinner menu was excellent; a varied menu of locally sourced and seasonal items, beautifully and imaginatively presented; the 3 course menu was complemented by pre-dinner canapes and an amuse bouche before the first course. Taking coffee in one of the lounges in front of a roaring log fire was a real pleasure, as was the extensive range of malt whiskeys on offer.

The hotel has a small leisure facility with swimming pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. We made use of the facilities, which, although somewhat dated, were perfect for us and very relaxing. The Hotel has a lovely ambience and effortlessly creates a genuine 'country house' feel. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review of the manor. Its fantastic to know we are doing something right and it does give all the team a buzz to know our guest are enjoying their time at Appleby manor.
Hope to welcome you back in 2013.
Regards
Angela & Mike Dunbobbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
20.7 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
23.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $125 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HRS, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing