We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merseyside
Level Contributor
273 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked a 2 day break with Appleby Manor via a `Living Social` deal and, after reading earlier reviews, decided to upgrade which was just as well as, because we had left it late and also because of the time of year, the standard rooms were all taken! The staff were very pleasant when enquiring over the phone, and reserved us a room until our voucher came through. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with magnificent views from the front- the car park and the gardens. These views can be enjoyed while relaxing in the Conservatory Lounge or at breakfast in the restaurant. From the moment we entered the Reception , we were made to feel welcome- each guest being given an individual tour of the hotel making you feel comfortable right away. The dinner menu is very good and the food worthy of the AA Rosette awarded. All of the staff were excellent- very friendly, polite + knowledgable without being `in your face`, but Geoff in the restaurant was exceptional.Our room was spotlessly clean as was the hotel throughout, and , being December, was tastefully decorated adding to the warm and cosy atmosphere. They had a function on the Saturday night ( our 2nd night ) which we had been made aware of at time of booking, which restricted the time we could have dinner, but it fitted into our plans perfectly and the function also added to the festive feel. My wife made use of the spa facilities and found them relaxing and, again, clean. The only thing she commented on was that the pool was rather small but, then again it is a Country House Hotel , not a Spa retreat, so the ammenities were adequate and served their purpose. Check out, like check in , was very informal and friendly and we left feeling thoroughly relaxed and rested- even though we stayed up late chatting and joining in the party from the function! Appleby Manor is a perfect place to unwind and is perfectly situated for visiting the Lake District+ North Pennines or even just staying locally ( the Settle- Carlisle Railway for example ). We will definitely return again and would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Fantastic! Many thanks for your review, and the mention of members of staff who will be felling very proud as a result. A hotel is not a hotel without its staff, so it's uplifting for them when they receive praise. Many thanks for your time in sharing your experience at the Manor.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    378
    94
    34
    17
See reviews for
120
1,128
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just had a lovely two night stay at Appleby Manor. Four couples away for our annual pre-Christmas walking break. Could not fault it. Attentive staff, delicious food, comfortable b eds and cosy log fires. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just arrived back from a two day trip to this wonderful hotel. We bought the deal through Groupon and never felt like we were being treated differently, indeed we found out upon arrival that we had been upgraded. Check-in was extremely prompt and we were taken directly to our room (we were able to check in two hours early).

The hotel is a beautiful building (quite old) but so full of character. We were upgraded up to a 'Garden Room' (room 30) which was a really spacious room with two sets of french windows, lovely green decor, two chairs, tv, dressing table and lovely comfy bed. There was also ample tea/coffee making facilities and a spotless en suite bathroom. The shower was really powerful and lovely toiletries were provided.

The hotel has a bar and a number of lounge areas plus very spacious restaurant, including extra seating for bar meals in the conservatory. The views over the surrounding area are spectacular, especially on a frosty morning with the snow covering the mountains.

In addition there is a spa which comprises of a pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. The pool is a little on the small size but perfect if you plan to take a quick dip in and out and then relax in the jacuzzi etc. We were told upon arrival that extra towels would be provided upon request, and indeed we asked for these, which were provided immediately and with no fuss whatsoever.

We ate in the restaurant for the first evening, it was a discounted three course meal at a cost of £30 each (instead of £40). We ate mushroom risotto and crab souffle for starters, venison and black banded bream for the main course and cheesecake and a trio of apple dishes for the desserts. I think that the price was fair for the quality of food which was provided. In addition we had a bottle of Torres white wine for £19.95. Breakfast on both mornings was less formal and Mike was so lovely and helpful. There was plenty of choice, ranging from continential to simple toast, full cooked breakfast, salmon or smoked haddock, served with unlimited tea, coffee and juice etc. They have little books of quotes provided on the tables so that you have something to keep you occupied whilst breakfast is being cooked.

Included within our deal was a 'Gingerbread tea' so we were served with tea/coffee and homemade ginger cake, choc chip cookies and shortbread which were divine (you can choose which day you have this on).

The location is approximately 1 mile away from the small village of Appleby, which is a nice distance if you don't want to take the car but don't want to venture too far. The village itself has a number of small shops, pubs, bowling green and places to eat (including pubs). We ate out on the second evening - just pub food but that was lovely too.

If I could have one complaint, it would be that the room walls are VERY thin. During the first evening we were aware of the sound coming from next door's tv but then again it didn't keep us awake at night. During the second evening, however there was a different couple staying and the sound of their tv and loud talking went on well into the early hours. Additionally the floorboards are quite creaky and we could hear people walking around above us (having said that I am a very light sleeper...)

All in all I can highly recommend this hotel - the cost of £149 (inc B&B) for the two of us was a good price for the standard of room and facilities etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 which was a Garden Room. Spacious room and beautiful views. Not sure if sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwinsStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
Its great to hear that you thought the break was great value for money, it's always our aim to have guests leave with a smile on their face.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a two night break here on a reunion with ex work friends and their wives.We had a standard room which was nothing special but contained all we needed and was warm and clean. The food was some of the best that I have had in the UK and the service from all the staff was first class. There are log fires in the lounges which was great to come home to at this time of year. Bar prices were a bit on the high side but that is to be expected in British hotels. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I wiil pass your fabulous comments on to the front of house team and especially the chefs in the kitchen, all of which will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
It is always our aim for guests to leave feeling relaxed and with a smile on their face, its really motivational for the team to know they succeeded in this goal.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
regards
Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I paid 149 for a 2 night stay, which was a fair price. The hotel is in a stunning setting and it's easy to see why it would appeal for weddings. However, a 4 star rating is generous by 2012 standards. The spa is dissapointing at best, the pool is tiny and the sauna resembles a converted garden shed. However, the food was excellent. My wife and I pre booked a meal at £30pp. The staff are pleasant, but a little formal and the building interior does look like it needs a little TLC. Beds were comfy and most importantly, room was quiet even though we were in the coach house. All in all, enjoyed our stay, though would have been very dissapointed if paying full price - £340 for two nights. In summary, probably wouldn't return but don't regret staying at all.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
We do inform our guests on booking and on the website that the leisure center is quite small and is more for relaxation than serious exercise and we do not refer to it as a spa as this could be very misleading.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us.

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

As many others we had booked the two night break as a special deal and were delighted to still be given the full works treatment. Staff were polite, knowledgable and helpful. Our upgraded garden room was good overall - spacious, clean and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the armchairs looking out over the lovely view, although would say slightly disappointed with not very strong shower. Afternoon tea on arrival in the Conservatory was lovely, and the various lounges with their log fires and comfy sofas a cosy end to an evening. As one of us is vegetarian, we were delighted the chef seems to pay particular attention to developing interesting vegetarian options with imaginative use of ingredients - our dinner and wine were beautifully cooked, presented and served. Morning breakfasts were also up to high standards. The spa was used and enjoyed and we understand will shortly be refurbished. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable break in a hotel that exceeded expectations in several areas, is more than comparable to other 4 star hotels and a break we would very much like to repeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review. Thank you also for your comments about the garden view rooms, they are very popular and especially so in the summer months. I will also pass your comments on to our great house keeping team who are really unsung hero's and contribute a great deal to the appearance of the hotel.
I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay of two nights. The reception staff were helpful on arrival. The room was good and the bed comfortable. Dinner on both nights was well cooked and presented and the staff served it and the drinks well. Breakfast was good. The views from the front are fabulous. Appleby is an interesting and historic town. The station is within walking distance and is on the famous Settle to Carlisle railway line. The swimming pool is small but well heated and the whirlpool was nice and hot. The staff all seemed to enjoy their jobs. Don't be put off by the fact the hotel is near the by-pass- you won't notice it. Overall good value and an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike2507, Owner at Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Appleby Manor.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, I will of course post your review on our staff notice board so the whole team can take pride in your review.
Its great to hear that you thought the break was great value for money, it's always our aim to have guests leave with a smile on their face.
On behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for your time and efforts that you have taken to let us know about your pleasant experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mike Dunbobbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
22.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
12.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
23.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa

Property: Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Address: Hotel & Garden Spa Roman Road, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa is set in Cumbria within the Eden Valley on the edge of the Lake District, it is surrounded by the magnificent mountains and fells of the North Pennines and is close to the Yorkshire Dales.4 National parks within a 20 minute drive. Appleby Manor is a four star luxury Lake District Country House Hotel with everything you need including warm open log fires, excellent hotel bedrooms, a fine selection of wines and whiskies together with an award winning restaurant that offer superb views over Lake District fells. The Luxury Garden Spa at the manor is the newest destination spa in the Lake District, perfect for pamper days and relaxing spa breaks.Indulge in our unique aqua thermal journey and lift your spirits with one of our 80 rejuvenating spa treatments. Why not avoid the congestion of Windermere and other Lake District Hotels, explore the hidden Lake District - the Eden Valley, while staying at Appleby Manor Country House hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Appleby
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing