We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and comfortable hotel and very nice food”
Review of Tufton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tufton Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Lovely and comfortable hotel and very nice food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights , and had food both nights, first night I had venison which I must admit it was beautiful my wife had cottage pie which she enjoyed tremendously ,and 2nd night I had pan fried fillet of beef with Guinness gravy and caramelised carrots and my other half had roast lamb rump with mint jus to which she is still complementing . So the verdict : definatly come again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to add your comments, they are very much appreciated. As was your enjoyment of our food on both the nights you stayed. I will make sure that the chef's see your comments and look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    116
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
43
185
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked The Tuftom Arms,with my husband, for a one night stay, as we wanted to go cycling in the area for the day, We had never visited this area before and were unsure what to expect.
When we walked in through the rear entrance, we were initially a bit tentative, as it is quite small and gives a inaccuarte impression of the hotel, once into the reception the hotel is lovely. It is refreshing to see a well ran, family owned hotel with real charm and comfort. It has a peaceful and friendly atmosphere, well furnished but comfortable.
The staff were happy to lock our bikes away safely for us overnight.
We were lucky enoungh to be given room 1 (Lady Anne Clifford) an absolutely delightful suite, a huge bedroom beautifully furnished, and very well appointment, huge windows seat over looking the market square, and loads of storage, the large bathroom is immaculate, featuring a roll top bath, and fittings of a high standard, a piece of pure luxury. It was a pity to leave the room to go cycling, it makes you want to relax and enjoy the setting. The room, as with the rest of the hotel, has a lovely feel and makes to feel like you are part of a by gone age.
The staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating, the food was really nice, not fantastic, but good, well made, honest, tasty food, and wonderful value for money. Good wine list also. It's a shame there wasn't more people in the restaurent to give a little atmophere, and it is a shame for such a nice place not to be busier. A little background music would be lovely also, and make it feel a little more intimate. Breakfast was absolutely super, and a fab start to the day.
Parking was ample, and I am aware that some comments have mentioned that its a little tight, however if you enter from the rear of the car park it is slightly better. There is also a large public car park a minutes walk from the hotel.
I would have problem returning to the Tuftom Arms, and feel that we have found a wonderful little bolt hole, away from the stress and strains of every day life.
Fabulous area for cycling also, and a big push going onin the area to encourage cycling & electric bikes.
Wonderful, Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Market Square is said be busy at time, so some may prefer rooms to the rears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissP30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. The area is having a big push on cycling and we get quite a few cyclists staying with us and are well used to locking the bikes up safely. We can even allow the use of a private track right up into the Penines for those keen on mountain biking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were staying locally and were pointed in the direction of the Tufton Arms for a meal by our hostess at the B+B.
Our table was book for 8pm, we arrived just after 7.30 and were led through to the restaurant. Its very well decorated and the staff could not have been more helpful. Apart from 1 other couple, we were the only ones in there. We made our choices from the menu and ordered our drinks. The waitress was heavily pregnant , but still managed to have a laugh with us and was very interacive with us, which i personally think is great, becuase some places you go , you just dont get that sort of service. the meal was fantastic, as was the pud,, the honey nougar ,, you have to try it....
We then went there the following night and we were informed that because we were staying at The Limes,, we were entitled to half a caraf of wine. Which , because i was driving my other half duly drank for me. The staff were once again outstanding, I think the lady we had was called Sita,, she was, again , interactive and chatty, and a pleasure to be served by.
We would probuably like to stay here at some point, as it look very nice on the inside, although the outside could do with a sproosing up, sorry guys :-( ,,
You will NOT be disapointed in going for a meal here and for the prices are totaly outstanding.
We will be back.........

Room Tip: Great for a meal, but probuably the same if you were to stay here. Maybe next time..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fazertony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Great that you both enjoyed the food and had a good "craic" with Natalie and Sita. I shall hand on your comments. I agree that the building is a bit Victorian and plain in the winter, but we do have lots of plants in the summer and our hanging baskets win awards on the front of the building. It would be great to see you next time for a stay in the hotel keep an eye on our special offers page for last minute deals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff were always friendly, helpful and had a pleasant manner. Breakfast was plentiful and a very enjoyable start to the day. Room we were in was clean, tidy and nothing special but had everything we required for a good nights' sleep. If i had to gripe it would be the size of TV and amount of channels available, this could do with upgrading. but i wasn't there to watch TV, so this is for me a minor point. En suite facilities are modern and the bathrobe was a nice added touch. Parking through the arch can be tight with a larger vehicle, but i always found a space, you just have to be a little careful. Plenty of walks from here and the Lakes are only 20 miles away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review, much appreciated. I am glad that our full Cumbrian Breakfasts were a good start to enjoying the excellent walking all around us. With reference to the TV channels our system has 10 channels on it at present but we are looking to change it shortly and are in consultation with our local contractor who says he can improve things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Me and my wife have just returned from a two night stay at the Tufton Arms, and definitely recommend this hotel. The location is great for access to local bars, restaurants whilst there is easy access to the lakes for great days out. Although the parking is tight it's not a problem, and the staff happily advised us to leave it at the entrance overnight once the spaces were occupied. The breakfast was great, with quality food and plenty of choice, the room was great, and once we upgraded to the suite it was fabulous, probably the nicest room we have ever stayed in. It encouraged you to spend time in the room with a glass of wine etc. the staff are friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for 5star quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review it was much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and our lovely little town off Appleby. Everything really is within a stones throw of the hotel. We had a lot of fun designing the Lady Anne Clifford Suite and I am pleased that you appreciated it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lozay, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was probably our fifth visit to the Tufton, a nice hotel which is a mix of old world with modern facilities. We purchased a spring voucher (for the first time), so our visit was even better value for money. As always the staff are friendly, the hotel is relaxing, the food and wine are excellent and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you do get a choice of rooms, try to get either 12 or 14, we have always stayed in these rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StewartBoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to show your appreciation it was good to see you both again. As you rightly point out we make special offers via our newsletter and our special offers page on our website and that are often exceptional value and I am glad that you took advantage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just had a fantastic evening at the Tufton Arms, Appleby, the superior room was far beyond superior and the food, restaurant and staff were just brilliant, pity we only had the one night but will be back !

Room Tip: Ask for the Lady Anne Clifford, the room is amazing and the bed is just so very comfortable never sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annehallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel M, Owner at Tufton Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to he Tufton Arms Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
0.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,526 reviews
12.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
21.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufton Arms Hotel

Property: Tufton Arms Hotel
Address: Market Square, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tufton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the medieval town of Appleby, just outside the Lake District and 15 minutes from the M6, this intimate family-run hotel offers excellent food, in its relaxed newly refurbished bar areas and in the Conservatory Restaurant. We are a fish restaurant and have developed an enviable reputation for dishes such as Gumbo's, Chowders, Goan Fish curries, Fresh Mussels (3 different ways), Cajun Prawns and Calamari, and our constantly changing fish specials all fresh daily from Neves in Fleetwood. We still have our traditional sources of great beef and Cumbrian lamb on a grill menu so meat eaters are not left out! Originally a 16th Century coaching inn, it was rebuilt in the Victorian times and is now a Grade II listed building. It blends both the contemporary and the classical creating an atmosphere that reflects the traditional charms of the past as well as the sophisticated elegance of the present. With stylish soft furnishings, heaped cushions, deep sofas, polished wooden floors and open fires its homely comforts are further completed by warm and friendly hospitality and free wi-fi. Each of the 22 en-suite guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Beautifully appointed they offer all the necessary modern comforts and luxuries one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Guests can choose from a range of different accommodation options including Single, Classic Double and Family options. For those special occasions they also offer Luxury Double rooms and spacious Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tufton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufton Arms Appleby
Tufton Arms Hotel Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing