We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”
Review of Tufton Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tufton Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We did not stay at this hotel but had dinner there one night. We were a bit early but friendly staff showed us to a very comfortable lounge where we had drinks & viewed the menu.
The meal was very good & the staff pleasant & efficient. Coffeee was served in the lounge which was tastefully furnished & quiet.
The Tufton Arms is centrally located with plenty parking nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artnanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 354 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

I rate this as a good hotel for the area. The food was certainly better than I expected - we had breakfast and dinner in the hotel and both were pretty good. My room was on the first floor and had been refurbished recently - very comfortable with a great bathroom- the only criticism was that there was hardly any clothes hanging/storage space. Service was very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyscout25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

we stayed the 18th to the 20th may, yes a fire alarm went off, but we were fine! The food was wonderfull!
I cant wait to go again!!!
We had a kgb deal. we had lounge, bathroom & bedroom! all large!
It was so relaxing! clean! & homely!
will we go again? yes!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolhuyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Visited the cafe at Tufton Arms yard cafe today. There was only one guy running it by himself so service was slow. However everything was freshly cooked to order. We ordered three coffees, one diet coke, 3 crepes and a panini. The drinks were served after 10!minutes -very small cups and 2/3 of a small glass of coke which had been poured from a can. The food took another 15 minutes -by that time we had finished our drinks so we had to order again to have a drink with our food. Coffees all round this time. As we left I saw the waiter drinking from what was left in the can of coke. Clearly a can of coke is expected to last 2 servings and the long gap between drinks and food is designed to get you to double the order. Frankly with cups and glasses that small and with such slow service I would suggest free refills would go down well. I felt we were deliberately being ripped off. The food however was good but I won't go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is very central in Appleby for a short stay but the village itself is very quiet with little to do - the castle advertised on lots of web sites has been shut since 2004. Appleby was a good base for the lakes to go walking. The food was great at breakfast and evening and reasonably priced. Portions were massive on the main courses so be careful you don't fill up with a starter. The room was large and spacious with a hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was gorgeous and modern and the complimentary moulton brown toiletries were lovely. The bed was enormous and comfy. Unfortunately though this didn't equal a good nights sleep. The hotel only has single glazing so people shouting in the st, lorries rumbling by and the early starters did keep us awake/wake us up. Room 8 overlooked the main st and was nearest to the pub next door. When booking maybe ask for a room overlooking the rear. Staff were friendly and the service both in the restaurant and bar was good. There was a safe little car park to the side of the hotel which was useful as there was restricted parking at the front due to the horse fair. Overall the 3 star rating is fair and although not a luxury hotel it was cozy, comfy and welcoming. I booked with a KGB voucher and may have been a little disappointed had I paid full price.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank prendy_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was the first time we ate here and we plan to return , whenever we are passing through Appleby. The roast beef just melted in the mouth ; it was carved at the table and we were offered either well done or rare. The Yorkshire puddings were cooked to perfection and the accompanying vegetables were tasty . The dessert menu was interesting and I really enjoyed my iced nougat. The staff were all friendly and courteous. The best meal we have had out this year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nell506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Tufton Arms 18.05.12 - 20.05.12, to celebrate our 2nd weddind anniversary

We found the hotel very welcoming, very clean and the bedrooms were very comftable

The dining room light and airy and the food is fantastic

Even though there is not much to do in Appleby it's a wonderful place to stay and then go and visit the surrounding areas.

While we were there a fault in the fire alarm had us up in the early hours but all I can say these things happen and at least we were safe, a few people complained about this and were quite rude to an elder lady who had the keys, all I can say is shame on you and be thankful the hotel didn't burn down with our belongings and we are all safe.

Would I stay there again? I sure would

Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancerace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
0.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,694 reviews
9.3 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
12 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,232 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
12.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tufton Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tufton Arms Hotel

Address: Market Square, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $111 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tufton Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the medieval town of Appleby, just outside the Lake District and 15 minutes from the M6, this intimate family-run hotel offers excellent food, in its relaxed newly refurbished bar areas and in the Conservatory Restaurant. We are a fish restaurant and have developed an enviable reputation for dishes such as Gumbo's, Chowders, Goan Fish curries, Fresh Mussels (3 different ways), Cajun Prawns and Calamari, and our constantly changing fish specials all fresh daily from Neves in Fleetwood. We still have our traditional sources of great beef and Cumbrian lamb on a grill menu so meat eaters are not left out! Originally a 16th Century coaching inn, it was rebuilt in the Victorian times and is now a Grade II listed building. It blends both the contemporary and the classical creating an atmosphere that reflects the traditional charms of the past as well as the sophisticated elegance of the present. With stylish soft furnishings, heaped cushions, deep sofas, polished wooden floors and open fires its homely comforts are further completed by warm and friendly hospitality and free wi-fi. Each of the 22 en-suite guestrooms are individually furnished and decorated. Beautifully appointed they offer all the necessary modern comforts and luxuries one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. Guests can choose from a range of different accommodation options including Single, Classic Double and Family options. For those special occasions they also offer Luxury Double rooms and spacious Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tufton Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tufton Arms Appleby
Tufton Arms Hotel Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing