We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming - quiet location”
Review of Sandford Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming - quiet location”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Sandford Arms for two nights this weekend and had a relaxing break. The food was good value and tasty. The room was nice and the hosts were really friendly. The one thing I should mention as a negative. We stayed in Room 3 - this is immediately above the restaurant and when people are in there you can hear the noise bubbling up surprisingly. This finished though certainly by 9.30 so really wasn't a problem. But, all in all, we had a really good stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    26
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
140
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

So accommodating to us and our 6 dogs after our walk for sunday lunch. Always top food and look after us amazingly thank you. We really enjoy visiting here winter and summer alike. Always a lovely day.thankyou

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lelR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent never been before just brilliant made us very welcome.staff excellent.great night we will be again.food great size and fresh.thank you for a wonderful night. Excellent beers and nice and warm

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philomena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very good 2-night stay
Sandford Arms is a pub/restaurant with guest accommodation about 4 miles from Appleby.
Our room (Room 4) was in an annex; it was comfortable and spacious and was well appointed.
Very good breakfasts included cereal and very tasty cooked breakfast. An option of fruit and yogurt would have been a minor improvement. Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the room.
Very good value for money – we stayed on a KGB deal.
We had two evening meals at the Sandford Arms, both of which were of a very good standard. There were 3 good cask ales on offer in the bar.
Minor negatives included a shower head, which seemed to have a ‘mind of its own’ and some late noise in the car park after closing time.
Sandford Arms is well-located for visiting the Eden Valley and Appleby area with several good walking routes nearby.
We would return to Sandford Arms and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Keep room window closed to minimize any disturbance from 'closing time' noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Sandford Arms, and have no hesitation in recommending it to others. Our room was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. On the morning we left we had to leave early as I was going straight back to work, so I asked the night before if it was possible to order our breakfasts to be ready for us in the morning, which they happily did for us. The breakfasts were lovely by the way. We also ate our evening meal in the pub both nights, and the food was excellent. The Sandford Arms is situated a very short distance from the A66, and a few miles from Appleby, so is very handy for a stopover en-route to the Lakes, or could even be used as a base for trips to the Eastern Lakes. Its location in a small, quiet village, is ideal if you are looking for some peace and tranquility, coupled with the charms of a good old-fashioned country pub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Sandford arms as we were very impressed the first time and decided to take my Mum and Dad with us aswell as our Springer Spaniel.

This is an excellent country pub with modern well furnished and large rooms. The bar/restaurant area is very pleasant with a wood burning stove.

The pub is familty run which is great to see. The food is of an excellent standard, in particular I'd recommend the Sandford Burger. On the second night I had lasagne which was very nice but more pub than gastro-pub standard. Food all round was excellent and the breakfasts are unbeatable.

So nice to find somewhere of a high standard at reasonable standards where you can take a dog. We're going back in January.

The owners of this pub are clearly aiming for a very high standard (and acheiving it) and it's great to see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewjfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last weekend with our German shepherd Sam on a Wowcher deal. We didn't really know what to expect but the hotel is lovely, beamed ceilings, log burner in the bar and very comfortable furnishings. The staff were very helpful and friendly the young lady serving in the bar even came over with treats for Sam. Our room couldn't have been better clean, comfortable and lovely decor. I had 2 of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time and in the mornings went down to one of the biggest and tastiest breakfasts we could have ever wanted. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycee1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
3.9 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
314 reviews
10.3 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
3.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
482 reviews
6.2 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Arms

Property: Sandford Arms
Address: Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6NR | Appleby-in-Westmorland, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandford Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sandford Arms Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing