We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace perfect peace!”
Review of Sandford Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Sandford Arms Hotel is about six miles out of Appleby and is in the most peaceful location you could wish for. The rooms are pleasantly decorated and the bar and dining area have been updated recently and provide a very cosy area for for diners and drinkers alike. The food is top notch and a lovely selection of wines makes choosing a problem!! I wanted to try them all!
Be sure to look out for Millie the friendliest spaniel in town! Thouroughly enjoyed our two night break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just stayed at this small and extremely friendly hotel. It is situated in a most idyllic spot and is the perfect bolthole for a relaxing break. The room (4) was beautiful and the food was excellent, cooked by mine host. We visited Keswick and the north end of the Lake district which were both within 60 minutes drive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 which was excellent. Not able to comment on others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m10lps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here on a KGB deal on 2nd and 3rd august. Very nice quiet place to stay. Great rooms even greater food. The breakfast was enormous, and the evening meal on the Saturday night was equally impressive.Try the Sommersby cider on draught...am now converted.Bar staff very polite and friendly. Beware of the squeaky chair, if you sit in it you will soon know as the locals will laugh.
Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cujimeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Recently had a two night weekend break at the Sanford Arms booked through Groupon would highly recommend this inn for it`s friendliness by the owners and all the staff food was excellent as we ate on both nights of our stay and we give it a 5 star cleanliness and our room No 4 the same well worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 800danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Used Sandford Arms for weekend break in Cumbria and to visit the lakes in the the Lake District.
The place was very clean and well presented. The owners were evry relaxed and informal. The amenities i the room were good and the breakfasr was nice and filling.
You need SatNav or a good map to find the place which is located in very picturesque settings.

Room Tip: The rooms are located over the restaurant and one Saturday, there was a booking whoch menat that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abdul7829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived on wednesday for a two night stay booked through Groupon. the owner Stephen met us, shewed us to our room, informed us of meals etc. the room was pleasant, clean and well presented. first night evening meal - excellent choice on menu, food was divine (i'd recommend the slow cooked belly pork to anyone) as part of the deal a free bottle of wine came with the meal and we were invited to choose from the wine list - we had a Californian zinfandel which was very very nice. the hotel is family owned and it shows, Nicola and Stephen are the perfect hosts and do all they can to make guests feel welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Appleby area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked a weekend break at the Sandford Arms on a voucher deal. The pub itself is lovely - warm and friendly, nicely furnished. Our room was excellent - large and clean, very comfortable bed, quality T.V and a good sized bathroom. Very quiet location, so we slept very well. The food is amazing! gorgeous, excellent quality, and excellent value. The landlord and his family work so hard, they are all friendly and helpful, An excellent team.
We will definitely be returning - and would recommend this lovely inn - it,s a gem!

Thank you to Steve & family, we had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcthull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby-in-Westmorland
3.9 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
353 reviews
3.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,689 reviews
10.3 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Barbon Inn
Barbon Inn
#5 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
410 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
533 reviews
3.6 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#7 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandford Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandford Arms

Address: Appleby-in-Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6NR | Appleby-in-Westmorland, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandford Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Sandford Arms Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing