We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of The Limes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Limes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I could not recommend The Limes enough. Penny was most warm, welcoming and friendly.
Upon arriving we were offered tea and scones, served in the beautiful garden.
The room was immaculately clean and very comfortable with the most amazing shower!
The attention to detail was fantastic.
Breakfast was quite possibly one of the best I've ever had - YUM!
I very much hope to return and will be telling everyone i know about The Limes :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for The Limes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for five nights and we were made so welcome from the start - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were superb, excellent choice, cooking and the quantity was just right. the room was great overlooking a meadow full of sheep and a couple of horses alongside the river Eden.
A good centre for a five day break.

Room Tip: The Merton room has a superb view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leightravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stopped for one night on the way home from Scotland,just wish it had been moe,will certainly return. Penny was the ideal host and made us so welcome,rooms and facilities excellent, this is one B&B who have got it right. Breakfast was first class and the setting perfect.
Wendy & Mike Halifax West Yorks

Room Tip: We had the downstairs double which was lovely,can,t coomment on the others
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Stopped overnight on the way to Yorkshire. Lovely spotless room. Lots of extras, like slippers and dressing gown. DVDs on the landing.
Splendid breakfast - again, the extras like home made bread, fat trimmed off the bacon, quality local produce (amazing black pudding from a local farm) and eggs from their own hens - these things make all the difference.
I had a toastie in the evening and asked for a packed lunch for the next days travel - very reasonable and not many B&Bs offer this.
Quiet and relaxing - excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley_C_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

About 2 miles from Appleby, this B & B is very comfortable and located on a quiet country road with little traffic passing. Penny, our hostess was very welcoming & helpful & the rooms were immaculate. The breakfasts were excellent with a good choice.
This would be suitable for singles or couples & we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have fine views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artnanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

On our way home after a trip to Edinburgh we were pleased to be able to stop here. A really restful location with sheep in the back field; gorgeous view despite the rain! Lovely welcome from Penny with a cuppa & flapjack. The room we stayed in was en suite & the attention to detail was incredible. Lovely big room, all spotless. My husband used to be in the hotel industry & so has very exacting standards - its very rare for him to say a place is perfect but here was the rare exception! Fab breakfast with a good selection

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hostess is a lovely person, welcoming and friendly. On our late arrival we were provided with tea/coffee and home cooked flapjacks and very nice they were too. We were very happy with our room with a lovely view of the countryside. Breakfast was tasty with fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juice, yogurt, full english breakfast and other choices together with Penny's freshly baked bread with home made jams. The rooms were spotless, a comfortable bed and all the extra touches provided. Located in a small quiet village. From our experience in the past, it is the best B & B in the area. All being well we shall be back at the Harness Racing at Appleby next year and will ensure to book early with Penny at the Limes. A good location to visit the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleby-in-Westmorland hotels
0.8 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrowgarth Guest House
Barrowgarth Guest House
#4 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#2 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#1 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Appleby Castle
Appleby Castle
#8 of 17 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Limes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Limes

Address: Colby, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Appleby-in-Westmorland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Price Range: $101 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Limes 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limes B&B rests in the heart of the Eden Valley in the village of Colby, two miles north west of Appleby. We have the Pennines to the east and Lake District to the west.We have three lovely centrally heated bedrooms one with king size bed and en-suite, one downstairs king size / twin bedded with en-suite and one double room with private bathroom. All with their own Freeview TV and coffee/tea making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Limes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Limes Appleby-In-Westmorland, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing