We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox and Hounds, Cotherstone, Barnard Castle”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #5 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hexham
2 reviews
“Fox and Hounds, Cotherstone, Barnard Castle”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Quaint, oldy worldy pub that serves excellent food. Room clean, tv with good reception,warm with huge bathroom although no double glazing to window. Good choice for breakfast, nothing too much bother, a good choice for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our party of 4 went on a saturday night. Booked a table in the bar where there was an open fire and a good atmosphere. We had the fishcake starter and cheese and walnut pate. Both were very fresh and tasty. The main courses all went down very well - chicken and leek, steak pie and gammon. There was a warm friendly welcome from behind the bar and the waitresses were polite and helpful. Definitely recommend, we will be returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank anthony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in Cotherstone and tried this pub, first for Sunday lunch and then for an evening meal. Both times we were not dissapointed. Food was beautifully cooked and served with fresh veg! Home made soup was really nice. I recommend the home made fish cakes - the best i have ever tasted. Staff are very friendly and the atmosphere was excellent. Lovely open fire. A good selection of ales. A definate return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hasbeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

whenever we caravan in barnard castle as we have done for a number of years we always make a point of eating here. this year we went 3 times sun. lunch, a lunch time snack & an evening meal & all were excellant the warm bacon & wensleydale starter was superb. all the meals we both had were well cooked & well presented by the very friendly staff who work there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a lovely lunch here. Steak, black pudding and ale pie was beautifully cooked and delicious. The chicken with cotherstone cheese and leeks was moist and juicy. My salad of prawns, cooked beef and cotherstone cheese was simple but worked well being both fresh and tasty. Uncomplicated and unpretentious food with good service. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just stayed two nights at the Fox and Hounds and the service, food and beer were all excellent. A very enjoyable weekend and a great base to see the local area.The breakfasts were particularly noteworthy. Highly recommended. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were walking from Romaldkirk to Cotherstone and back and decided to try the Fox and Hounds for lunch before heading back along the railway line. What a surprise!. Had the chicken with Cotherstone cheese and leek sauce. Realy well prepared. The vegetables were faultless and the ckicken moist and succulent. Good wine list, excellent beers and a friendly welcome. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
4.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
420 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#12 of 20 in Barnard Castle
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
53 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds

Property: The Fox and Hounds
Address: Cotherstone, Barnard Castle DL12 9PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Barnard Castle
The Fox And Hounds Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing