We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful week”
other travelers have booked this property
The story of Swallows Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Dedicated parking right outside your door,
Warm and cosy, the log burner in Swallows Nest is just the thing.
Cosy ambiance
Two of our gorgeous horses. Come and give them a lovely groom
Farm machinery at its very best. Boys and their toys eh?
Our farm is a full working livestock business where we believe in happy animals
You simply cannot beat our glorious Teesdale countryside. This is of our own farmland.
Horses grazing happily in our fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmacr0wt...
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful week”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have been going to the cottage for 3 years now and every year we thoroughly enjoy it. The perfect time, making wonderful memories with my children. Alison and Keith are fantastic hosts and the place is just lovely. We will be back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the farm, cottage and us too!! We love having you and your boys come to stay. You are a lovely family, great fun and good company. We are looking forward to seeing you all again next year. Many thanks again, Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlSuckl...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wheelchair access”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, made to feel very welcome by Alison and Keith and the kids loved looking round the farm and playing football with Glen (the sheepdog)! Being a wheelchair user access for me was great. We had a wonderful time not even the poor weather could spoil our holiday. Cannot fault, would love to come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for your super review. We are really pleased that you had a fab stay and as you say, even the damp weather didn't stop you from enjoying the farm and the surrounding area! The cottage is as accessible to all as we can make it and we try very hard to ensure that every guest is as comfortable as they can be-I'm glad that we succeeded with you all too :) We would love you all to come again and look forward to a return visit in the future. Regards to you and your lovely family, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BexG
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Had a fantastic time at the cottage. My eldest boy loved the farm and had a go at feeding the chickens. Alison was very welcoming. Toiletries are provided along with various food in the cupboard. Suitable for disabled/ less able. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that O had a good time feeding the hens! Next time, maybe he would like to feed some of the cows and become a farmer during his stay? We enjoyed meeting you all earlier in the year and are look forward to welcoming you all back to the farm in the future. Thank you again for your super review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam68988...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are staying at the cottage as a base for canoeing in the local area. Perfect for a group of three adults. We would normally use a YHA hostel, but there was no availability and the option of an affordable cottage seemed a good alternative.
The cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped. It is good value for money and we have enjoyed our stay. Our hosts have been welcoming and communication good. If we come back to the area we would certainly stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your super review. We are really pleased that you have all enjoyed your stay in rural Teesdale and that you have found it a good base for exploring our beautiful countryside and rivers. We would love to have you stay here once more in Swallows Nest and look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainduni...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and relaxing.”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great place to just chill out, everything you need to relax and have a proper rest. Off the beaten track but ideal location for getting out and about; we have Durham Cathedral, Newcastle river front and Hamsterley Forest penciled in for our next visit and I never miss a chance to poke around Barnard Castle.

My husband was ill while we were there and Alison and Keith could not have been more helpful. As a result we spent most of our break in the cottage and found we had everything we needed to cook and be comfortable. It was fun watching the chickens, pheasants, rabbits and birds while the powder snow came down and the log burner glowed- magic.

I have already recommended Swallows Nest to my sister and several friends and will be back later in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you so much for you wonderful review of Swallows Nest. You are right, although we are tucked quietly away in rural Teesdale, we have an absolute plethora of wonderful things to do and see right on our doorstep. I think we sometimes forget how much there actually is! What a horrid time for your husband to be ill and I can only be thankful that we are on the farm so that we could support you. We are so pleased that he's on the mend. We are really looking forward to your next visit when you will be able to see more of the area. Many thanks again, Alison.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances R
2 reviews
“Perfect holiday retreat”
Reviewed February 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our third visit, with our 4 for next year already booked.
The cottage is equipped with all essential items as well as those none essential but useful things, The slow cooker is a godsend for days spent walking, returning to a lovely cooked meal without the effort of cooking.
Alison listens to the feedback from her visitors and acts on any critique. The purchase of a slow cooker being one of them,
A couple of places to visit: Tunstall Reservoir a lovely place to walk round as well as Hamsterley Forest, (great for kids too)

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2017
Thank you so much for your glowing review. In response, I would like to say that we do try our very best to equip the cottage with the little things that might just make the difference between a good holiday and a special one. We're delighted that you have booked your 4th visit here and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks again for taking the time to write your lovely review it means suh a lot to us, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kazimag
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One word - WOW!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've sadly just left Swallows nest cottage.
What a find!!!
I booked this online and Alison contacted me straight away, her emails were friendly and informative and all questions were answered immediately.
On arrival the cottage was warm and inviting, Alison arrived and showed us where everything was and how everything worked and she's right next door if you need her. The cottage is lovely, well adapted for people who have less mobility, spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable, my hubby wanted to bring the recliner chair home with him. Alison provides lots of extras in the way of toiletries and the cupboards in the kitchen are packed full of little surprises, all you really need to bring is milk, bread and food. There's even an information pack provided with where the nearest supermarket etc is located.
Nothing is too much trouble for this lovely lady.
We'd like to keep Swallows Nest as our little secret, but that really wouldn't be fair on others and we've already given out Alison's card to our parents!
Will we be back? Hell, Yeah!!
Will we be recommending Alison and her lovely cottage? Definitely, in fact we already have.
Thanks for everything Alison, you really do go above and beyond, your reviews are well deserved and 100% accurate, you are an absolute angel xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2017
WOW!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are truly grateful for your comments and to you for taking the time to write such positive thoughts about us, our lovely cottage and the area where we live. We enjoy everything we do and gain immense satisfaction from knowing that our guests have had a fabulous time here. We are looking forward to your return visit and to hopefully welcoming your family and friends too. Many, many thanks, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing