We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas visit back home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homelands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 19 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

we stayed at homelands the same time a year earlier and it has gone from strength to strength under the very friendly owners . The room was very warm and comfy and had everything we needed for a relaxing two night stay. Breakfast is fantastic with a selection of fresh fruit and quality produce. we would not stay anywhere else when we return to the north east and would recommend homelands as a first class b and b , Ian and Michelle

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 346 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

We needed to stay in Barnard Castle for just one night and were recommended to stay here. The owners were really friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. The breakfast was excellent - cooked to order and very tasty! Will happily return another time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Booked this guest house based on other reviews. Stayed in the garden room. Thought it was part of the house so was surprised to find it was at the bottom of the garden. Lovely room, we controlled the heating. Hubby feels the cold so I melted. The breakfast was lovely, all freshly cooked. Lovely family, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bed was firmer than we like but that's a personal thing not a complaint.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinders2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as a single traveller.The owners have only been here for a year or so, but they have made a great effort to make this a very good place to stay. The room although small(single bed) had everything one needs and is exceptionally clean. A great choice for breakfast. I had Kippers on the second day and were not the usual "boil in the bag" kind.! Debora and Brian deserve every success with this great B and B, conveniently located within walking distance of the Town. On street parking was a concern, but road has markings for all day parking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were met by Deborah and Brian, a delightful couple who seem to thoroughly enjoy their roles as proprietors. They showed us through their beautiful home, asked us if we had plans for the evening and if they could recommend a place to eat (they did, Valentines which serves delicious food with excellent service and reasonably priced). Brian then showed us to our garden room, an absolute delight, set at the bottom of the garden, beautifully decorated, incredibly comfy bed, plenty of hot water with a great shower. Breakfast was fantastic and set us up for a great walk to High Force. We shall definitely be back and would wholly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant two night stay at homelands b&b,can't fault it in any way. Very welcoming hosts on arrival. We stayed in the Garden room which was well decorated, very clean and spacious.
Large choice of breakfast items, cooked breakfast was excellent.
Would recommend to family and friends.
Well done to Deborah, Brian and son Dan.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrowe2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent the night before my wedding in one of the single rooms in Homelands. The relaxed, homely atmosphere made it perfect for preparing myself for the big day. The room was comfortable, bright and cheery and I had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was superb, freshly cooked and well presented. Brian and Deborah are friendly without being intrusive and make all their guests feel at home. I can't recommend Homelands highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
0.8 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 19 in Barnard Castle
514 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Lily Hill Farm
Lily Hill Farm
#5 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#4 of 19 in Barnard Castle
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#17 of 19 in Barnard Castle
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Guest House

Address: 85 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range: $109 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homelands guest house is a beautiful Victorian situated in Barnard Castle, set in the heart of the Teesdale valley. Relax in the luxurious comfort of our elegantly furnished guest lounge, before retiring to your en suite bedroom, beautifully furnished for your comfort. We have colour tv in every room, tea, coffee making facilities. Please note that in our dining room overlooking the garden, you can enjoy our wide choice of breakfast including locally sourced produce, a cold buffet of fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, full English breakfast and vegetarian options. Special dietary requirements can be accommodated if we have prior notice. We are able to offer evening meals if informed prior to arrival as all our meals are cooked to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homelands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Guest House Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing