We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homelands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 21 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A quite weekend away”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

my husband took me to homelands for my birthday for two nights (first time away without kids) the welcome we received was so warm and we were offered tea coffee or sherry while Brian n Deborah told us all we needed to know, we were then shown to our room which was gorgeous (double en suite) it was so warm and clean. breakfast was made by Brian and was all local produce topped of with his own home-made bread which was beautiful. we have already told Brian and Deborah that we will definitely be returning later in the year and will be recommending homelands to all our friends. The hospitality and cleanliness of the guest house were second to none.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneR19211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
154
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

on the 19th of January 2013, We had an absolute fantastic time, We had the most friendly welcome and was given coffee on arrival, we were shown to our room and we couldnt believe how beautifull it was(The garden room) I have never stayed in a guest house so clean and everything well all I can say spot on, the owners are v experienced, friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing, so much to choose from I had the beautifully varied fruit salad followed by delicious full english. I would recommend the stay 100%.
Jill Forster Newcastle.

Room Tip: We stayed in garden room which I would highly reccomend but the whole house is beautifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Homelands Guest House for 1 night as we were attending a function in Barnard Castle. The new owners couldn't have been more welcoming., Before been shown to our room we were offered coffee and buscuits. This gave us the opportunity to have chat. Our room was really cosy and very clean, one of the best nights sleep I have had in some time.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Brian and Deborah were very accomodating a lovely couple who have a natural manner in order that they make their guest feel welcome. Well done to you both, we wish you every success.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was in the middle of a cycle trip inbetween christmas and new years eve ( more fool me ) and I stayed at Homelands for one night. The couple which ran this B and B could not have been more hospitable. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet, with everything I needed. They even dried my wet gear out for me and gave me a puncture repair for the rest of my journey. Just great, well worth it.
Graham

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamA169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Under new owners Brian and Deborah Jukes, Homelands provides the friendliest welcome we've ever experienced. The tranquil garden room is at the far end of the garden, which is pretty even in winter. Supremely comfortable bed, and a real bath with lovely brass fittings. Lavish breakfast including deliciously varied fruit salad, succulent kippers, or every imaginable combination of bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms ... , and lovely crunchy toast from home-made bread. After a day's sightseeing we relaxed on the comfortable sofas in the cosy front room and enjoyed the tasty sherry which is included in the deal.
Barnard Castle itself is a fascinating real market town. The ruined castle is romantically placed over the beautiful wooded valley of the Tees. The Bowes Museum is world class. It would take many hours over many days to see everything worth seeing.
You don't need a car. The town is compact and lovely to potter around in. There are convenient buses from Darlington. To Darlington, there are fast trains - cheap if you book in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Homelands over Christmas. Friendly welcome, lovely accommodation and tasty breakfast.The location is very handy for the high street and the dales. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

stayed for two nights over xmas period. On arrival met by owners who showed excellent hospitality offering free drinks after a long journey. The double room was immaculate and had everything you could wish for to have a good stay. The house itself was beautifully appointed and central to barnard castle. Wonderful nights sleep in extremely comfy bed followed by the best breakfast we have encountered. If you want a quality stay in barnard castle at reasonable prices then look no further !!

Room Tip: try garden room for that little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
3.0 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 21 in Barnard Castle
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#19 of 21 in Barnard Castle
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#8 of 21 in Barnard Castle
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Strathmore Lawn East
#6 of 21 in Barnard Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homelands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homelands Guest House

Property: Homelands Guest House
Address: 85 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Homelands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homelands guest house is a beautiful Victorian situated in Barnard Castle, set in the heart of the Teesdale valley. Relax in the luxurious comfort of our elegantly furnished guest lounge, before retiring to your en suite bedroom, beautifully furnished for your comfort. We have colour tv in every room, tea, coffee making facilities. Please note that in our dining room overlooking the garden, you can enjoy our wide choice of breakfast including locally sourced produce, a cold buffet of fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, croissants, full English breakfast and vegetarian options. Special dietary requirements can be accommodated if we have prior notice. We are able to offer evening meals if informed prior to arrival as all our meals are cooked to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Homelands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homelands Guest House Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing