We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Stobgreen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stobgreen House
Ranked #7 of 21 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at Stobgreen House and really couldn't fault it from start to finish. Anna Marie is a wonderful and very charming hostess for whom nothing is too much trouble. She has lovingly restored and extended her accommodation which is perched on a hillside above the village of Eggleston, affording superb views over the surrounding dales. Both rooms have access to the garden which means that you are free to come and go as you please which is very useful if, like us, you are walkers and don't know what time you are likely to return. There is even a drying room for wet walking gear but fortunately during our stay, the weather was really kind to us and we enjoyed two days of sunshine. Breakfast is delicious and extensive and Anna Marie filled our flasks for the day and offers packed lunches to those who want them. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we will definitely be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaghetti16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently renovated House with a very welcoming owner. We had walked 13 miles to get here (we were on a long distance trail - The Teesdale Way) and were greeted with tea and biscuits.
The bedrooms were luxuriously appointed with a walk in shower in the en suite. Excellent choice at breakfast. On so many fronts the extra detail made this place exceptional and very good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The lovely renovated house has a wonderful Teesdale view. The rooms have a nice style and access to a terrace at the back garden. You are only surrounded by sheep. Modern bathroom, breakfast is very good. Barnard Castle is not far to drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pato189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a fab place. Despite arriving by bicycle looking rather weary we had the warmest welcome , and a large pot of tea and chocolate biscuits were soon on the table in the lounge for us .This lovely oid dales farmhouse has been completely refurbished to the highest standard .The two bedrooms - we took both- are large , light and with fabulous modern bathrooms with power showers. The bedrooms open onto a private walled garden , recently planted , that will be glorious next year . Your breakfastscrambled eggs always taste better when you can see the chickens from the window . The standard for B&B has been set !

Room Tip: You can have a Wooden bateau bed with views up the fellside , or cast iron bed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theyorkshiredoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were booked in for one night on 5th July - stayed for two & would have liked to have stayed for more! --but had to leave as we had other commitments.
Great accommodation, crisp white cotton sheets, comfortable bed & pillows, non cluttered large rooms, oak floors, newly refurbished bathroom & power shower. We had own enterence with a fascinating courtyard & garden with chairs, table & a parasol, for the sun, to enjoy the fantastic views.
Breakfast was good with eggs from the B&B hens!- it was served in a relaxing room with oak floorboards, two sofas and gentle music - again great views of the countryside - very tranquil. Anne Marie is a great host giving attention to detail with a friendly welcome.
We enjoyed - many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinecharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 16th 17th March. Arrived to a warm welcome, great place
with fantastic views, lovely gardens, fabulous
views from the room and the breakfast room. Room was huge with loads of
space, en-suite rain shower wet room was great bed was really
comfortable. Good place for a weekend get away lots of nice walks,
enjoyed local pub, Barnard Castle, the nearest town, is lovely full of
antique shops, cafe's and general shops. Breakfast was really well
cooked plenty of choice. Even when it rained it was a nice place to
stay! Liked the fact you could come and go when you wanted no need to
be out all day. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break
with plenty to see. I would will recommend this to all of my friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this immaculate guesthouse set in beautiful countryside, and were given a warm welcome from Anne Marie who provided the perfect level of attention and service. The room we stayed in was the smaller one which was perfectly large enough, spotlessly clean and with the right mix of modern and traditional styling and comfort. Nothing was too much problem for Anne Marie, even stopping her wonderful old grandfather clock from chiming for us! We will certainly return on our next visit to the north east and cannot recommend highly enough. If you are staying in the area look no further!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guildfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
0.0 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 21 in Barnard Castle
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#19 of 21 in Barnard Castle
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 21 in Barnard Castle
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lily Hill Farm
Lily Hill Farm
#4 of 21 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#8 of 21 in Barnard Castle
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Strathmore Lawn East
#6 of 21 in Barnard Castle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stobgreen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stobgreen House

Property: Stobgreen House
Address: Stobb Green House Town Head, Barnard Castle DL12 0DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Stobgreen House Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing