We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RayWcelebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bengal Merchant

Bengal Merchant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in Barnard Castle's beautiful ancient artisan quarter, below the Market Cross is a charming, inviting, comfortable restaurant offering sophisticated, vibrantly flavoured, subcontinental cuisine of real style and taste. The menu features authentic, traditional favourites as well as creative dishes all made with the freshest ingredients. For those with an eye towards light, healthier eating we also offer our famous low calorie (yet authentic Indian) option of all our curries.The Merchant attracts a knowledgeable and loyal clientele who come back time and again for the fine food with exceptional friendly service. The Bengal Merchant is one of Barnard Castle's treasures and a perfect choice for exotic meals with friends & loved ones in a warm, cosy and romantic setting.For those with something to celebrate we also have a separate, newly refurbished function room too.
Middleton in Teesdale, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RayWcelebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have visited Bengal Merchant many times since it opened. Food and service is absolutely top-notch, whether eat-in or take-away. Good for meat-eaters and vegetarians alike; never been disappointed yet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    66
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very good food with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

we have visited the restaurant on several occasions - the greeting we receive is always very friendly, service excellent and food is very reasonably priced and of the highest quality which never varies. Would recommend to anyone who enjoys Indian cuisine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing food and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went here for the first time after stopping over in
Barnard Castle for work and I have to say it was the best food I have had. The curries were full of flavour with absolutely no shortage of meat unlike others you find. Both of us were extremely satisfied. As for the service, all the staff were soo friendly. We finished our meal at half 10 and stayed until closing simply chatting whilst stood at the bar. They will know exactly who we are from saying this. Fully intend on dining here again any time I am in the area. A* food A* staff. Love it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phowat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly service, gorgeous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Benghal Merchant is a friendly and inviting place to eat. We don't go very often but the staff still always remember us by name and are so welcoming. The food is gorgeous, all homemade and really tasty, definitely the best Indian in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dascha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Great Night....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

......thanks to the food and staff of the Bengal Merchant. Tandoori mixed grill was to die for - the meats were SO succulent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Merchant also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Bengal Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing