We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moldy cheese!”

Cross Lanes Organic Farm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A green venture working towards an eco friendly way of living with organic, local and green thinking at the heart of everything we do. Bread and pizzas are made daily in our wood fired oven, and we serve simple rustic dishes made with local, organic and seasonal ingredients, all cooked fresh to order using traditional cooking methods. Supporting local producers the farmshop has a traditional butchers counter, delicatessen, bakery and general store with organic fruit, veg, wines, beers and baby products. All of our bread, cakes, patisserie and even chocolates are organic and are hand made in our own kitchens.
York
1 review
“Moldy cheese!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food is amazing, and the hot chocolate tastes good. The second time I ordered cheese from this place, it smelt off and tasted terrible! Going to try and get a refund, but it's a little shocking the cheese counter attendant did not recognize the smell.

It is also not the way the cheese is designed, as I have ordered this brand before.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdmundFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLanes M, Manager at Cross Lanes Organic Farm, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We're sorry to hear your recent purchase has not been up to our high standards and we will contact you directly to discuss this, we always like to follow up any issues our customers have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    45
    15
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
173 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Do try !”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good freshly cooked food. Smoked trout fish cakes are mint. Have stopped here a couple of times, the bread is a treat.

Restaurant cafe is good but do not miss butchers and bakers, I bought some local goat which butcher put on sticks for kebabs , excellent.

Local and organic products with veggie options :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank hexaminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely airy feel; Delightful wood fired Pizzas”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is very close to where I live and we could walk if not for fear of crossing the busy A66 on foot.
The builiding has been very tastefully designed and is a very pleasant place to drop in for a coffee and home made scone, both of which are very good. Today we opted for pizzas, hand made and cooked in their own traditional brick built and wood fired pizza oven; these were thin and crispy and simply divine. On each occasion I have visited the food coming out of the kitchen looks amazing. Well done Cross Lanes and noses thumbed to planners who won't allow better signage to the place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ukstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
402 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“JUST THE TICKET FOR THE TIRED AND HUNGRY TRAVELLER!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stopped off at Cross Lanes for a well needed cuppa and some food en route from South Yorkshire to Carlisle. It was just like being on holiday despite the proximity of the farm to the A66. The food was absolutely lovely, as was the cuppa and the service. If I am ever in this part of the world again, I will be sure to return.

The farm's commitment to organics and recycling is extremely impressive.

I was only sorry I didn't have time for one of the lovely cakes on display!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed dining despite being just off A66”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Open Friday and Saturday evenings for bistro-style dining. Mostly pizzas with a small selection of other dishes. Plenty of choice for vegetarians. We shared an Antipasto platter for a starter then I has the Aubergine Melanzane with salad and Cross Lanes bread while my husband had a full English breakfast pizza (yes, really) both were excellent and we ate the lot! There are puddings including a choice of ice creams but we couldn't manage any more! Wines and beers available.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sisteriris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrossLanes M, Manager at Cross Lanes Organic Farm, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We are really pleased you enjoyed your meal on Friday evening, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Lanes Organic Farm also viewed

Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 
Barnard Castle, County Durham
Barnard Castle, County Durham
 

Been to Cross Lanes Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing