We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Low Barn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Barnard Castle, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suesuesue...
2 reviews
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a fantastic week we have had! Beautiful cottage! Amazing pool and games room! Fab walks and plenty to do and places to eat! Owners and staff are fantastic and so friendly! Will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phyllis k
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2016

stayed here three times wonderful stay quiet peaceful everything you could want chris and emma great hosts looking forward to our stay this may

Date of stay: April 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debz682
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most perfect place and location to chill!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I went here with my family as we all needed to 'get away' from normality for a few days but needed somewhere that took dogs. This was just perfect. It's in the middle of nowhere surrounded by sheep and fields. The leisure block with the pool etc was just the job to keep my godson and his girlfriend happy. It is a fantastic asset to the place. When we arrived they had left us some freshly laid eggs and some homemade biscuits. Yum yum. There were also tea towels, tea bags, coffee, dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, washing up liquid, just so many thoughtful things which they had provided. I can't sing the praises of this place enough. It is so worth a visit. I know we will definitely be returning.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thanks for the lovely review - glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJW161
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful location”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay at Low Barn Cottage. The cottage is set in a stunning location with views of the countryside all around. The cottage is one of a handful on the site and is ideal for almost anyone - comfortably sleeps 4, all on one level, step free which was great for us as we had our 16mnth old daughter who has only recently started to walk. Its spacious inside with a large kingsize room and a twin with enough room to fit a travel cot in too and still be able to move around! The kitchen is fully equipped with utensils and cookware, including oven gloves which you don't often get! The owners provided toys to keep our daughter entertained and a high-chair for mealtimes meaning we didn't need to take our own. Everything was clean and tidy and we were welcomed with home baked cookies, fresh eggs from the resident hens and milk in the fridge.
The only element that prevents this accommodation being 100% wheelchair friendly is the bathroom - as someone with no mobility wouldn't be able to use the bath or shower but otherwise access is really good for limited mobility.
The cottage is in a good location in terms of nearby attractions, with Barnard castle about 10-15mins drive, walking paths on the doorstep - literally, most big cities within an hour-ish (eg. Newcastle) as well as Beamish museum and Hadrians wall. Also worth a look is High Force waterfalls which can be approached for free from Holwick along the public footpath (about an hours gentle walk max).
Definitely a place we'd re-book at if we were heading to that area of NorthYorks / County Durham.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed!
Liked least: cold without heating on
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here Monday to Friday. Had a fantastic holiday. Accommodation was her warm and cosy, had everything one would need. Chris and Emma are very friendly and on hand should you need help or information. Great value for money. Looking forward to next visit when pool and gym room is finished.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry B
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have been to East Briscoe Farm Cottages 5 times now and I cannot recommend them too strongly. The accommodation is excellent and the owners are always willing to provide any assistance that you may require. If you are looking for a relaxing yet comfortable holiday in a beautiful part of the country then this si the place for you. Trust me you will not regret it.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqui13B...
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely break.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed Mon-Fri in Low Barn in March with my Mum. Lovely area, totally secluded but easy access to the surrounding area which is worh exploring. Hosts were very welcoming but unobtrusive. Going back soon with hubby as he will love the "black out" nights, no light polution for his star gazing and also all the fantastic birds/wildlife. Cottage was warm and welcoming with some freshly laid eggs & home made bisciuts too! Very well equipped and lots of basics provided. The king sized bed was super comfy, such a bonus. Perfect for families to relax and enjoy amenities. Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing