We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and Peaceful break!!”
other travelers have booked this property
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
East Briscoe, Teesdale Holiday Cottages
The games room is a large space which can be used for group gatherings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
Barnard Castle, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsTATayl...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Peaceful break!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

First visit to East Briscoe and certainly won’t be the last. We’ve stayed in lots of cottages before but the bonus of the resistance pool, jacuzzi and games room drew us to here. The stunning scenery was the icing on the cake. Lots of friendly furry neighbours and great for spotting wildlife!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shan D
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super pet friendly holiday accomodation.”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Very relaxing weekend in a super location, beautiful countryside, accomodation good. Hosts very welcoming, good food at local pub, interesting places to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rav01
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10 out of 10! Perfect, group friendly, location for an amazing 25th Birthday !”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Where do I start with this place……? Wow! I just returned from a weekend stay and this property is nothing but perfect. I booked all 5 cottages for my group and I, over the weekend, to celebrate my 25th birthday, and it definitely had more than enough space + more left over. Everything was perfect for my needs;

Communication
From the very start of booking this cottage, Chris made it easy for me to gather information and that it was hassle free. From providing me with taxi numbers, collecting my online groceries prior to arrival, recommendations of places to eat close by; these were only a few of the many things he was very helpful at. Not only this, Chris came over to the cottage to welcome us, he ensured that we were at ease and comfortable, which made us feel welcomed.

Cottages/ Space
The cottages all had their unique personalities; they were very well kept, clean, cosy and had lots of space. In fact, they were spacious and bigger than I had imagined. Perfect place for a large group of people. To top it off, upon arrival, the owners left a welcome note, teas, and biscuits; this was very kind and a thoughtful way to welcome us.

Pool House
With having a large group I had to book up all 5 cottages, this gave us sole use of the pool house. The pool house was fantastic! It came equipped with seating area, fridge, a games room, gym, hot tub and swimming pool. I wish we had more time to spend in the pool house but it was so fantastic, space was incredible and it was a great place to use for any gathering.

Travel
I had a large number of people travelling from all over the UK; Midlands, Yorkshire, London and Northern England, so we all took different methods to get there. Therefore I hope this will give you an idea of the best way to get to the cottage;

Train
The closest station to the cottage is Darlington- which is approximately 45mins/ hour way, in a car, from the property.

Car
A few of us travelled via car and I feel this was the best way to get to location due to how remote it is. Also, we found that it is best to use the actual name “East Briscoe Farm Cottages” as opposed to the postcode. We used the postcode at first and it brought us to a place which was 8 miles away from our location.

Taxi
Cost £45 from Train station/coach station to and from the property

Overall, it was a great place for any large gathering and I will definitely book again in the future. It was a great way to spend my birthday weekend and Chris made the process of booking very convenient & easy. I wouldn’t change anything; 10 out of 10 to a perfect location. Will definitely be returning!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect weekend brrak”
Reviewed January 28, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a relaxing weekend at Low Barn, one of the cottages at East Briscoe. The cottage truly was home from home with everything needed, catered for. We had a lovely family time making much use of the pool, hot tub and games room. The little one particularly enjoyed spotting the chickens roaming around. It was a great location for visiting Barnard's Castle and walking to Highforce. We will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scraggsy1...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect girls weekend”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last year around the same time, 16 mums 14 of us returned again this year, perfect cottages, everything you need is already there! We have just returned home and have booked for 2019! Ideal location to chill out and perfect for walks to nearby pubs! Owners on hand if anything is needed!! Pool and hot tub is great and the games room is an awesome place to be during the day, not over crowded and pleanty of room for us all to be together for evening meals and just generally spending time all together! Can’t wait to return again next year!!!! Hopefully minus the snow...but oh what fun we had sledging like big kiddies down the hills!! Thank you Again and we look forward to seeing you next year!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykaycra...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic-Nice & quiet”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned home yesterday from a fantastic 4 days with family to celebrate New Year. The group consisted of 19 with ages ranging from 16 months to 79 years old. And 2 dogs...
We hired all 5 cottages which were all very comfortable. Although they could have been a bit warmer but that's something that can be sorted. A lovely welcoming touch was the milk & home made biscuits. Condiments were provided but we had took our own tea, coffee & sugar. Loads of books to choose from if you just wanted to chill out. Plenty of jigsaws & games for the kids. The pool was a fabulous place for the kids (& big kids) to play together. Lots of inflatables for them to use. They even provide shampoo, conditioner & shower gel in the pool & changing room. You only need to take towels for the pool as they are provided in the cottages. We had 3 nights in the games room where we played killer pool & darts. There's no mention of a dartboard so we didn't take any. The ones there have been well used so if you fancy a game when there I would suggest taking your own. Lots of books & games again are in the games room. Even down to toys for the tiny ones. Although my 14 year old granddaughter enjoyed playing with the building blocks lol. The only thing missing really in the games room is a tv but it's no big deal.
We had a meal New Years Day in the Fox & Hounds in Cotherstone. Beautiful food & really friendly people. Barnard Castle is only a few miles away with lots of pubs & a Morrisons. Nice Fish & Chip shop too. Also plenty of take aways.
It really is the perfect place to chill out & relax. I think in the spring & summer it would be just lovely to go for nice walks in the countryside. We looked for New Year 2018 but it's booked already !!!!
Will definitely try & go back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donch42
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic family Christmas”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

East Briscoe farm cottages was the perfect venue for our large family Christmas and we couldn’t have asked for anything more- it really was idyllic in every aspect.
On the drive up to the cottages we saw the Christmas lights twinkling outside welcoming us and bringing serious Christmas magic to us all - there were 16 of us ranging in age from 7 to 60+! - we fell in love instantly. Chris the owner couldn’t have done more to help (even sorting a very minor problem on Christmas Day). All of the cottages were decorated for Christmas with a tree and lights and even the games room had a huge twinkling tree and lights all round. The cottages were seriously well equipped and we all said how Chris and Emma had thought of everything. We even had extra tables and chairs in the pool house so we could all sit together for our special meals.
Cannot praise this venue and owners enough really, only to say that this will not be our last family outing there! We are all looking at when we can go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing