We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect girls weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The new pool and hot-tub.  Available to book for private use at no extra charge.
East Briscoe, Teesdale Holiday Cottages
The games room is a large space which can be used for group gatherings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
Barnard Castle, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scraggsy1...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect girls weekend”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last year around the same time, 16 mums 14 of us returned again this year, perfect cottages, everything you need is already there! We have just returned home and have booked for 2019! Ideal location to chill out and perfect for walks to nearby pubs! Owners on hand if anything is needed!! Pool and hot tub is great and the games room is an awesome place to be during the day, not over crowded and pleanty of room for us all to be together for evening meals and just generally spending time all together! Can’t wait to return again next year!!!! Hopefully minus the snow...but oh what fun we had sledging like big kiddies down the hills!! Thank you Again and we look forward to seeing you next year!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykaycra...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic-Nice & quiet”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned home yesterday from a fantastic 4 days with family to celebrate New Year. The group consisted of 19 with ages ranging from 16 months to 79 years old. And 2 dogs...
We hired all 5 cottages which were all very comfortable. Although they could have been a bit warmer but that's something that can be sorted. A lovely welcoming touch was the milk & home made biscuits. Condiments were provided but we had took our own tea, coffee & sugar. Loads of books to choose from if you just wanted to chill out. Plenty of jigsaws & games for the kids. The pool was a fabulous place for the kids (& big kids) to play together. Lots of inflatables for them to use. They even provide shampoo, conditioner & shower gel in the pool & changing room. You only need to take towels for the pool as they are provided in the cottages. We had 3 nights in the games room where we played killer pool & darts. There's no mention of a dartboard so we didn't take any. The ones there have been well used so if you fancy a game when there I would suggest taking your own. Lots of books & games again are in the games room. Even down to toys for the tiny ones. Although my 14 year old granddaughter enjoyed playing with the building blocks lol. The only thing missing really in the games room is a tv but it's no big deal.
We had a meal New Years Day in the Fox & Hounds in Cotherstone. Beautiful food & really friendly people. Barnard Castle is only a few miles away with lots of pubs & a Morrisons. Nice Fish & Chip shop too. Also plenty of take aways.
It really is the perfect place to chill out & relax. I think in the spring & summer it would be just lovely to go for nice walks in the countryside. We looked for New Year 2018 but it's booked already !!!!
Will definitely try & go back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donch42
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic family Christmas”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

East Briscoe farm cottages was the perfect venue for our large family Christmas and we couldn’t have asked for anything more- it really was idyllic in every aspect.
On the drive up to the cottages we saw the Christmas lights twinkling outside welcoming us and bringing serious Christmas magic to us all - there were 16 of us ranging in age from 7 to 60+! - we fell in love instantly. Chris the owner couldn’t have done more to help (even sorting a very minor problem on Christmas Day). All of the cottages were decorated for Christmas with a tree and lights and even the games room had a huge twinkling tree and lights all round. The cottages were seriously well equipped and we all said how Chris and Emma had thought of everything. We even had extra tables and chairs in the pool house so we could all sit together for our special meals.
Cannot praise this venue and owners enough really, only to say that this will not be our last family outing there! We are all looking at when we can go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy R
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage setting, great pool/hot tub!”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Although a little out of the way, these cottages are just beautiful and, once you are there, there is no need to go out and about anyway! We booked all cottages to accommodate a hen party weekend for 16 and it was perfect. The cottages were extremely comfortable, with ample cooking facilities. The pool/hot tub room and the games room were perfect communal spaces, and accommodated the 16 of us easily. Would absolutely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise G
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax”
Reviewed February 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my husband and kids (4&6) stayed here during the half term holidays. What a lovely place this is, we have stayed here before although this was a few years ago and some excellent changes have taken place since. This time around we stayed in West Cottage, very spacious for the 4 of us and well equipped. The complimentary tea, coffee and sugar was a nice touch as was the welcome biscuits and milk. Lovely eggs from the chickens. The pool house is a welcome addition to the farm cottages, easy to use and book (2 hours private usage per day). The games room was well presented with air hockey, pool and table tennis as well as a dart board. A small gym was available also but we didn't use this during our stay. The children really enjoyed the pool and we enjoyed the hot tub. Nice and relaxing place to go. Would definitely recommend not far from Barnard Castle which is a lovely market town with plenty of shops to browse. All in all an excellent holiday and I'm sure we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chillyhil...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous 40th”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just returned from a weekend with 14 of my friends to celebrate my 40th, we had lots of fun the cottages provided everything we needed, the pool and hot tub were a big hit and the surroundings are beautiful. I would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing