We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
1 review
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I got married here at the weekend. I cannot recommend this hotel/venue highly enough. From the moment we booked our wedding the staff went above and beyond to ensure our day was amazing. Ruth, the wedding co-ordinator, does a fantastic job and i'll be honest is one of the main reasons we booked the venue. Mark (the owner) should be incredibly proud of every single one of his employees, who work tirelessly to make the day flow perfectly. Thank you for an amazing wedding, Mr and Mrs Howe x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELH250714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    58
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
44
98
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have been to the restaurant many times over the years and the service is always wonderful. We find the bar/ restaurant manager to be very helpful and welcoming and the waitressing staff are very professional.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Clare.

Thank you for your kind comments about us.

Im glad you enjoyed your recent visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

See you soon I hope.

Mark x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We were here for a family wedding. The room in which the wedding breakfast and function was in was a lovely room and set out well. The bar was understaffed given the number of guests. The food at the wedding breakfast and buffet was beautiful!! The room in which we stayed however was not very impressive. In particular the bathrooms felt very poorly set out with cheap interior. The shower was pathetic and the toilet in one of our rooms wouldn't flush. The breakfast was also poor and disappointing after such a nice meal the day before. In all I feel the facilities need updating throughout most areas.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine-j08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Im sorry you were disapointed with your room and the breakfast the following morning.

During the week we cook all breakfasts to order but on mornings after weddings we do a carvery breakfast due to sheer numbers and im sorry it was below your expectations, we do try to ensure its kept hot and well stocked during the whole breakfast service.

If you would like to email us directly stating which room you stayed in so we can do a quality assesment of the room and see what improvements we can make to enhance future stays.

I hope the good points that you mentioned outweighed the bad points and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.

If you have any questions or further comments please dont hesitate to contact us again.

Thank you.

Mark Brown.

Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

After a very disappointing visit in December I can now confirm that thanks to the generorsity of the hotel management we had a complimenary return visit on 16th June. Everything was perfect and feel I can now recommend this this hotel and carvery.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsW1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for posting your kind comments regarding your return visit to us last week.

Im so glad it was a more enjoyable day for you ahnd your family and I have passed on your kind comments send by email to the chef you mentioned.

We all hope to see you again soon.

thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had booked in for an overnight stay with my daughter and as soon as we walked in, we were greeted by Ian at reception. After being given the keys to our room we stayed to eat in the restaurant and Ian sorted our drinks as well. He was brilliant and just seemed to know when we needed something, as he appeared just as we had a question in mind

The most daunting thing was choosing a meal from the substantial menu! When our meals came, the food was absolutely fantastic and we sent our compliments to the chef via the waitress, who was so helpful.

After a great night's sleep, we then had a lovely breakfast where Mark saw to all our needs. I would recommend the continental breakfast. Mark even gave directions to the local waterfall where we could go and take a leisurely walk.

Everything about the hotel is wonderful and I would love to stay again.The staff are so helpful, the rooms are great and the food is delightful. I can't praise this place enough

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest.

I would like to just take a few minutes to respond to your very nice comments.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the breakfast. We have just started a new range of menus so its good to know you enjoyed the food here at the Jersey farm Hotel.

I will pass your kind comments on to all the staff mentioned.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a fantastic place. An ex working farm but still has animals on site. Lovely rooms, very polite staff. Breakfast was amazing and set us up for the day. The Shetland ponies and their babies were gorgeous. If you ever visit Barnard Castle, you need to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. Im glad you enjoyed the experience and hope you visit us again soon.

Please keep an eye out on our website for some new offers coming soon.

Thankyou again.

Mark Brown
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Was looking for a cheap bed and breakfast and stumbled on the Jersey Farm. It badges it's self as a hotel, but not sure it really is, but what is offers is almost perfect

Really easy to find and loads of parking - which is a real issue if you book a hotel in Barnard Castle town centre. The welcome was really warm and the bedroom.. .. .. .. .. BRILLIANT VALUE and so much more than I was expecting.

The bed was HUGE and as someone who knows what cleaning is the room was spotless - perfect - and no dust in the corners of the room

Everything you wanted was supplied - even down to homemade biscuits!!

If there was one down point it was the shower - it was an electric shower and not that powerful, but guess you can't get everything

Overall - almost perfect but I will certainly stay there again and would recommend it to

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyFarm, Manager at Jersey Farm, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thankyou for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.Im glad you enjoyed the experience and hope we see you again in the future.

As the months go by we modernise bedrooms and bathrooms so hopefully next time you visit us the shower might be more enjoyable.

Thank you again.

Hope to see you soon.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.5 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
10.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
22.8 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
22.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Property: Jersey Farm
Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HostelWorld so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing