We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Wedding Venue!”
Review of Jersey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jersey Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had our wedding here in October 2012.It was the most amazing day. Ruth the wedding co-ordinator is second to none. She was amazing from start to finish. Any query was answered instantly and without any problems no matter how minor. She wasn't even fazed by my request to get a race car simulator into the building.

The venue looked stunning on the day, Ruth kept everything running like clockwork and the staff were excellent. Everyone commented on how lovely the day was and that the food was the best they had had at a wedding. All rooms were taken by the wedding party and not one of my guests had a negative thing to say about the hotel. Thanks also to Mark for letting me use his racecar in my photos! We were pleased about the table service for the wedding breakfast as it meant no ordering and the fact you had a choice for the menu meant Jersey Farm stood out from the rest

Want an average conveyor belt wedding go to another hotel, Want a quirky venue with fantastic staff and the ability to make your day how you want it, book Jersey Farm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorsportgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is like an old car - it will get you there, but with a noisy and uncomfortable ride. The owners are delightful and the food was good. But the hotel has seen better days and could do with a complete overhaul. It is dated, scruffy and some minor attention to detail would work wonders. We stayed in room 2, where the view of some of Britain's most beautiful countryside has been entirely blanked by an unsympathetic architect who decided a roof would suffice. This high slated roof, just a couple of metres away, reveals slipped and broken slates, much of the flashing lies in the gutter and there are bits of electrical wiring and other debris strewn about. There is no excuse for this eyesore, and it makes one consider what is happening elsewhere that cannot be seen. Back in the room, the sash window lifter was broken and the sink was badly cracked. In the reception both Certificate of Employers Liability were out of date. No, this is not a place I would revisit or recommend, until completely overhauled.

Room Tip: Not room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband & I stayed one night here to see the locality with a view to returning for a longer break as appropriate. We booked a standard room which was far better than some we'd stayed in. The ensuite was quite small but manageable. The whole place was clean and comfortable, and staff were very welcoming. Evening meal was again good. Plenty of choices and good portions without feelling you'd gone over the top. Dave had steak which was very grisly, but when mentioned to the staff they immediately took it away and asked if he would like a replacement steak or another meal. He opted to have some beef from the carvery with the veg he had not eaten and thoroughly enjoyed it. When checking out the cost of Dave's main course had been deducted anyway - due to the problem he had - and the butcher would be spoken to!!! We will definitely go back for longer. An excellent place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My daughter has just had her wedding here in the Barn Function room . It was a wonderful day and Ruth the wedding planner was especially helpful in making the day go just as they wanted it. The food and service was excellent and everyone enjoyed having a choice of menu and thanks to the beautifu floral arrangements and table settings the room looked fabulous and smelt lovely with the rose scented candles.Tthe location is lovely and we had a sunny day so could all enjoy the outside area.Most of the rooms
Can definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evie&bw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

we recently met up family for a meal at the jersey farm hotel. we have a large family and there were about 12 of us. we had my autistic nephew with us who does not relax well in dark , strange places. the ambience was lovely for everyone else, however my nephew needs consideration for everywhere we go. the staff were very understanding and let us use the quiet room, this was ideal as we had a new born baby with us too. the staff were friendly, kind and helpful. it was a lovely meal and very relaxed for all of us including my nephew who even had a nap as he was so relaxed. I can not praise the place enough and we will certainly be going there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Visited jersey farm for one night in July 2012, the accommodation was amazing stayed in luxury room and it was. However booked in for a meal on the night, we were sat at the table right next to the kitchen & every time the kitchen door opened it was so hot, apart from it being a warm night anyway. My husbands meal wasnt right he had to wait for the rest of his main meal. Also watch put for the waitress with the extremly long fringe, it ended up in my drink when she put it on the table. The meal was a bit pricey for our experience. The breakfast the following morning was good. Would definetly go again, however don't think I would eat in the restaurant .The service based on accommodation and breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We recently had a college party at Jersey farm. Great location, great venue. But unfortunately the DJ wasn't great. His music wasnt right for the age of our party. The playlist he used was more for a school disco. But apart from that, great night!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyA s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.6 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
367 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
5.5 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
449 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jersey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey Farm

Address: Darlington Road, Barnard Castle DL12 8TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnard Castle
Price Range: $103 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jersey Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jersey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey Farm Hotel Barnard Castle
Jersey Farm Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing