We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An all-round excellent B&B, with extras”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crich House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 20 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“An all-round excellent B&B, with extras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We chose this B&B over others as it had excellent feedback and was close to the centre of Barnard Castle. Parking is close at hand. The building is attractve and the premises clean and welcoming. There are many little extras, such as Molton Brown products (a sure sign of quality and a particular favourite of mine), tea and coffee facilities in your room, which includes ground coffee and fresh milk (I hate UHT!) and a plate of fresh scones with butter and jam. The beds were very comfortable and although the building is close to a main road, there is little road noise. The host and hostess went the extra mile to make you feel at ease and the breakfast was absolutely superb, with a number of options. All for a very resaonable price. Would definitley recommend and will go again if in the area. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Crich house is superb! A friendly greeting awaits you and a lovely room to go with it.
You can see why the breakfast wins awards. Lots of variety and very very tasty. If you are looking for a B and B in the area put Crich House top of your list. Thanks for a great stay.

Gary and Angie Lincolnshire.

Room Tip: Absolutely faultless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Picked this off the internet and were not disappointed, simply the best b and b i have ever stayed in. Hospitality grt, room sumptuous, breakfast was 10 star.
Just what we needed at the end of a long days cycling from Kendal

Room Tip: look on their web site and see the pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Food to die for (home made).. Rooms very clean and immaculately presented with LARGE comfy beds. En-suite shower is clean, hot and has good power. A welcome slice of cake every time I stay, fresh homemade pancakes for starters on your table at breakfast, fresh flowers in your room, called by your first name, TV with more than 5 channels and Wi-Fi that works.... I could go on and on but save to say that after staying in other B&Bs in and around Barnard Castle, I would rather drive home than stay anywhere else than Crich House. Do yourself a favour and stay here if you can.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Crich House... the most perfect Bed & Breakfast. We called in, late in the day, for an overnight stay after touring around the Dales and what a find! We were given a warm and sincere welcome by Alison, the owner. Our room was lovely - spotless and comfortable with everything provided. The following morning we were served the most wonderful 5 star breakfast by Alison's hubby. All in all - we cannot fault the place. Would absolutely recommend Crich House and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginette209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

This B&B is very well located, very close to the town centre and castle. The owner is very considerate, and runs a very very nice establishment. Our room was very clean, had the usual facilities you would expect (although the en-suite is very small, but perfectly adequate). Breakfast very very good, using where possible locally source produce, homemade bread + homemade jams. What is particularly nice are the little touches, such as homemade biscuits in the room, and, for us, attention to detail for our vegan requirements. Only one large table is available for breakfast, which might not suit everyone's liking, but it is easily big enough for four people. Parking was not a problem, we were parked right outside, and there was plenty of space nearby. We would absolutely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
1.1 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Strathmore Lawn East
#8 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baliol House
Baliol House
#11 of 20 in Barnard Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#16 of 20 in Barnard Castle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crich House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crich House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crich House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 94 Galgate, Barnard Castle DL12 8BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Crich House Bed & Breakfast Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing