We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly”
Review of Lily Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lily Hill Farm
Ranked #5 of 19 Barnard Castle B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here about 5 years ago and when we needed accommodation in the area this year we rang and luckily was booked in for a night's stay. The room is really clean and well maintained, the welcome is great and the breakfast, well thats fantastic. We will be back when we need a room in the area again. It is a bit off the main road but with only birds, cows and sheep as company its a very quiet location.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FENTONS161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a very good B&B a short distance from Bowes and Barnard Castle. The beds are very comfortable and a large bedroom and en suite make this a very relaxing stay. The host's attention to detail makes this a very pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: The larger of the two rooms is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clast49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

By far the best B&B of our recent holiday. Karen came out to meet us from our car upon arrival and showed us to our room. The room was nice and big and spacious enough to accomodate the double bed for me and my husband and two single put up beds for my children. The view was fabulous overlooking the garden and countryside. There were home-made scones, bisuits and fresh milk and after a long journey the refreshments were very much appreciated. The attention to detail was exceptional and the breakfast was divine - lovely toiletries in the bathroom too! Would most certainly recommend this Farmhouse B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonesyS597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Lily Hill Farm has sheltered six generations of the current tenants. The historic farm house is authentic and homey, the beds comfortable, the room has serene views of field and pasture. The owners were welcoming and helpful. Fresh milk and home baked scones were brought up for the room tea tray, and breakfast was varied and generous. The opposite of slick and generic hotel accommodations, Lily Hill Farm offers a glimpse into the life in the English countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia_painter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We had a great welcome with tea and scones, and they were happy for us to arrive earlier than planned. We had a fabulous double room that overlooked the countryside. It was really peaceful and we particularly enjoyed a walk down the lanes and footpaths to a ruined church by the river. We watched the birds and the sunset. The family were friendly and happy to suggest places to go. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with lots of healthy as well as the full blown fry-up options.

Room Tip: Power showers cost more but our room was fine!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Coxtonwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

If you enjoy peaceful countryside and panoramic views then Lily Hill Farm is a must. Although very rural the farm is not remote, being a very short drive from Barnard Castle.

We were warmly welcomed by Karen, our hostess, who served homemade scones and tea in the guest lounge on arrival.

Our double room ( no. 2 ) was light and spacious with a southerly aspect over the garden and countryside beyond. The room looked lovely with crisp white bedding and antique furniture. The ensuite was finished to a high standard with an excellent shower. Cleanliness was impeccable.

The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and Karen's homemade biscuits on the tea tray were a nice touch.

We stayed for 3 nights and wish it had been longer. Lily Hill Farm is definitely worthy of its 4* rating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Fortunately stumbled upon this establishment for a very short 1 night stay. Welcome was warm, room was very nice and breakfast excellent! Dinner recommendation to the Old Well at Barnard Castle worked out very well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barnard Castle hotels
3.0 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
230 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 19 in Barnard Castle
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homelands Guest House
Homelands Guest House
#1 of 19 in Barnard Castle
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 19 in Barnard Castle
510 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn
#6 of 19 in Barnard Castle
189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Newgate House
Newgate House
#4 of 19 in Barnard Castle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Hill Farm

Address: Brignall, Barnard Castle DL12 9SF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Barnard Castle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard Castle
Price Range: $89 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lily Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lily Hill Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Hill Farm Barnard Castle, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing