We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay Wonderful hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Hand crafted country kitchen, oak wood flooring and underfloor heating. King post trusses, hemp insulated walls and textured lime plaster create a beautiful rustic feel.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Hand crafted country kitchen, oak wood flooring and underfloor heating.
King post trusses, hemp insulated walls and textured lime plaster create a beautiful rustic feel.
TV / DVD player, docking station, digital radio, DVD selection and guidebooks to the local area
Perfect for a relaxing, rural retreat to share with family and friends.
Relax in the quiet of the countryside
Victorian double brass bed with en suite shower and toilet
Wood burning stove with complimentary logs
Super king bedroom - or can be made up as two singles
Welcome hamper of local produce, including eggs from our free range hens and home baked bread.
Super king sized bed (or can be made up as two singles). With en suite roll in shower and toilet.
Family bathroom with heated towel rail, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries
Private patio garden with views over fields and woodland
Awarded Green Tourism Gold
King post trusses made from reclaimed timbers
The Cart Shed looks out onto our woodland - with deer and birds galore.
Swallow fledglings at Swallow's Nest!
The Cart Shed looks out onto our woodland and open fields
Just a few miles away from the stunning Yorkshire coast
The long sandy beach at Fraisthorpe is ideal for dog walks, water sports and family fun
Surrounded by open countryside and trees
Birds in our woodland
Bempton Cliffs, home to hundreds of sea birds
Burton Agnes Hall and Gardens, just 12 miles from Swallow's Nest
Children can use our woodland explorer kit
'..thoughtful touches abound'
'The fresh eggs from your chickens were amazing'
'Maisie loved the hammock in the woods'
Fresh flowers from our garden all year round
Gannets at Bempton Cliffs
The fields are surrounded by hedgerows and an abundance of wild flowers
The woods in early spring
This pheasant makes a daily appearance (nicknamed Pavarotti)
Free range hens and an unlimited supply of fresh eggs
Beautiful open countryside
Our woodland is often visited by deer
Local wheat fields ready for harvesting
The wonderful Yorkshire Wolds are on our doorstep
Puffin Pete at Bempton Cliffs
Plenty of free logs for the wood burning stove and fire pit
Our cosy shepherd's hut can provide additional space for larger groups. See property no 9397836
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnno663
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay Wonderful hosts ”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Having just spent a long weekend at Swallow's Nest I must tell you all of this wonderful property. You are left wanting for nothing as the hosts ensure your stay is problem free and full of comfort and even a few little luxuries
The weather outside was not so kind so we took full advantage of the super warm barn and really enjoyed the log burner ( all logs supplied)
So many lovely touches it's difficult to list them all but the welcome pack and freshly baked scones make this wonderful property even more attractive
A jewel of a find !

Thank you so much John and Katy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay (despite the dreadful weather!) and we were very impressed that you ventured onto Flamborough Head, even though you could hardly stand up in the wind! It was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for the super review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gem N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow amazing!!! ”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just come back from an amazing weekend for my husbands 30th! Wow what a fabulous place! Pictures really are no way as good as the real building it's amazing and the little extra touches you get here are so good...a hamper on arrival, baked cake and balloons thanks John & Katy we will definitely be looking at returning soon xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had such a good birthday celebration. It was great to meet you all and we'd be delighted to see you here again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple292
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The Cart Shed is a fabulous place to stay. Decorated and finished to a high standard, the accommodation is suitable for all, including young children and individuals with limited mobility. There are lots of little touches that make staying even more enjoysble-a hamper and delicious freshly baked scones on arrival, a 'doggy hamper' with ball and treats, family games and thoughtfully chosen children's books in one of the bedrooms, to name but a few. We hope to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked the little extras. It was lovely to meet you all and we would be delighted to welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2017
Thank you for the lovely review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back anytime. Best wishes for the new year to you all!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndyHawto...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Really surprised to come across this stunning barn conversion transformed into a holiday cottage and John and Katy have really created something special to enjoy and savour.
Just had an amazing weekend relaxing and exploring the local area whilst having our every need catered for by this gorgeous property.
We arrived to a lit fire with underfloor heating and thoroughly enjoyed a hamper full of local produce.
John and Katy were on hand to welcome us on arrival and from that moment nothing was any trouble. Cannot wait to go back and do exactly the same again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review - we are really pleased that you liked our cottage so much. We would be delighted to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lou2506
Lincs
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Weekend of relaxation and luxury. ”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Having just spent a weekend with 2 girlfriends at the Cart Shed I can honestly say it was one of the most loveliest places we've stayed. We received a lovely warm welcome from John and Katy and a welcome pack which consisted of delicious homemade mince pies. The accommodation is highly thought out and beautifully decorated which gives it a warm and cosy feel. We were so relaxed we almost didn't go for our wonderful coastal walk to Flamborough (one of John and Katy's recommendations). It's just far enough out of the way to feel the peace and tranquility of its surroundings but also near enough to other places so you don't feel isolated - perfect! We chatted, giggled, drank wine and slept beautifully in warm cosy beds. An idyllic weekend for us to get away from our busy lives. Thank you Katy and John x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review - we are delighted that you all had such a great weekend. Hope to see you here again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira M
2 reviews
“Stunning, peaceful location!”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week with my daughter, son-in-law, 7 month old baby and two dogs. My daughter lives in Clifford, West Yorkshire so didn't have far to travel. We came all the way from rural Aberdeenshire which was a long journey but totally worthwhile. When we saw the house and the location we were just bowled over at how beautiful the Cart Shed and farm were and how peaceful the location was. The conversion of the Cart Shed into such stunning accommodation is amazing to behold - we were very interested to see the photographs on display. John and Katy really were the perfect hosts and have thought of everything to make your stay problem-free. Swallows Nest is the perfect base for exploring East Yorkshire. We were only sorry that we didn't get to see more of it. If you're short of ideas about what to do and where to go there is plenty of information in the house and games to play if rain disrupts your plans. There are two enclosed gardens which our dogs loved and lots of places to walk locally. We loved our time here and were so sorry to leave. Don't hesitate - book a stay now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the architecture
Liked least: All very positive, so can't think of anything negative.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you liked the Cart Shed so much and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you here again sometime - you are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing