We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning, peaceful location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Hand crafted country kitchen, oak wood flooring and underfloor heating. King post trusses, hemp insulated walls and textured lime plaster create a beautiful rustic feel.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Stunning conversion from an old cartshed in open countryside.
Hand crafted country kitchen, oak wood flooring and underfloor heating.
King post trusses, hemp insulated walls and textured lime plaster create a beautiful rustic feel.
TV / DVD player, docking station, digital radio, DVD selection and guidebooks to the local area
Perfect for a relaxing, rural retreat to share with family and friends.
Relax in the quiet of the countryside
Victorian double brass bed with en suite shower and toilet
Wood burning stove with complimentary logs
Super king bedroom - or can be made up as two singles
Welcome hamper of local produce, including eggs from our free range hens and home baked bread.
Super king sized bed (or can be made up as two singles). With en suite roll in shower and toilet.
Family bathroom with heated towel rail, fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries
Private patio garden with views over fields and woodland
Awarded Green Tourism Gold
King post trusses made from reclaimed timbers
The Cart Shed looks out onto our woodland - with deer and birds galore.
Swallow fledglings at Swallow's Nest!
The Cart Shed looks out onto our woodland and open fields
Just a few miles away from the stunning Yorkshire coast
The long sandy beach at Fraisthorpe is ideal for dog walks, water sports and family fun
Surrounded by open countryside and trees
Birds in our woodland
Bempton Cliffs, home to hundreds of sea birds
Burton Agnes Hall and Gardens, just 12 miles from Swallow's Nest
Children can use our woodland explorer kit
'..thoughtful touches abound'
'The fresh eggs from your chickens were amazing'
'Maisie loved the hammock in the woods'
Fresh flowers from our garden all year round
Gannets at Bempton Cliffs
The fields are surrounded by hedgerows and an abundance of wild flowers
The woods in early spring
This pheasant makes a daily appearance (nicknamed Pavarotti)
Free range hens and an unlimited supply of fresh eggs
Beautiful open countryside
Our woodland is often visited by deer
Local wheat fields ready for harvesting
The wonderful Yorkshire Wolds are on our doorstep
Puffin Pete at Bempton Cliffs
Plenty of free logs for the wood burning stove and fire pit
Our cosy shepherd's hut can provide additional space for larger groups. See property no 9397836
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moira M
2 reviews
“Stunning, peaceful location!”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for a week with my daughter, son-in-law, 7 month old baby and two dogs. My daughter lives in Clifford, West Yorkshire so didn't have far to travel. We came all the way from rural Aberdeenshire which was a long journey but totally worthwhile. When we saw the house and the location we were just bowled over at how beautiful the Cart Shed and farm were and how peaceful the location was. The conversion of the Cart Shed into such stunning accommodation is amazing to behold - we were very interested to see the photographs on display. John and Katy really were the perfect hosts and have thought of everything to make your stay problem-free. Swallows Nest is the perfect base for exploring East Yorkshire. We were only sorry that we didn't get to see more of it. If you're short of ideas about what to do and where to go there is plenty of information in the house and games to play if rain disrupts your plans. There are two enclosed gardens which our dogs loved and lots of places to walk locally. We loved our time here and were so sorry to leave. Don't hesitate - book a stay now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the architecture
Liked least: All very positive, so can't think of anything negative.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you liked the Cart Shed so much and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you here again sometime - you are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnThoma...
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Well worth a stay...lovely place!”
Reviewed October 10, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The barn conversion is very tasteful and well thought out...we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had a lovely welcome and shown around the property...there was a complimentary welcome pack and a birthday cake (dairy and egg free) which was a lovely thought! The beds were comfy so we all slept well and we liked the games, DVDs and books as it kept us busy...and we loved toasting marshmallows around the campfire in the woods! We also appreciated the ideas for days out and enjoyed a lovely walk along the beach! I highly recommend a visit to this place...you wont be disappointed...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay at Swallow's Nest. Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petermeen...
Alford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility, Hospitality: Every detail provided.”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here with our Daughter and new Grand-son and two (well-behaved) dogs, for a wonderful week in late-August. The Cart Shed has been completed to a very high standard of design and detailing. The quality of interior design and the facilities provided are really excellent. John and Katy are wonderful hosts and very thoughtful and unobtrusive (but very responsive when you need anything - like fresh new laid eggs from their hens whenever you want).
We have stayed in many 5* hotels in our travels and many of them have not come up to John's & Katy's standards.
We saw the resident Barn Owl close-up twice flying out of the woods and also a baby hare grazing the close-by field.

Hopefully, we will be back for another visit in the Spring of 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review - we are really pleased that you liked the Cart Shed so much and enjoyed your stay. Great that you saw our resident Barn Owl! We will be delighted to see you again in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing again - 2nd visit & we'll be back for a 3rd!”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We returned to the Cart Shed just 5 months after we first visited because we loved it so much the first time. It remains an excellent and luxurious home away from home for us and for our 3 young children (1 of whom has additional needs so the space and lack of stairs is brilliant!). The outside space is great. We spotted lots of wildlife including a large deer walking just metres away from the window. John & Katy could not have been better hosts. Our online shopping was unpacked and ready for our arrival plus the very tasty welcome goodies waiting for us. We're looking forward to returning again next year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. It was great to see you all again and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack G
1 review
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

John & Katy gave us a warm welcome and left an excellent starter pack. Not only that, but had kindly put away all the groceries we had pre-ordered from the supermarket. The original cart shed has been renovated to a very high standard and very well appointed making it a perfect base for touring the area. We have a lot of experience in renting accommodation for holiday breaks and have to say that Swallow's Nest Cottages is one of the best we have seen. Thanks John & Katy.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you liked Swallow's Nest and enjoyed your stay. You would be welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familymbe...
Berkshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent and enjoyable & relaxing week at The Cart House, Swallow's Nest Cottages nr. Brandesburton, with our daughter and son-in-law plus their bouncy labrador. Katy and John made us so welcome, with a basket of goodies on arrival - that included home made bread and scones, fresh eggs and a bottle of Prosecco!! There was even a goodie basket for the dog! The cottage is spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished. We are keen cooks and bakers and found the kitchen well equipped so we put it to good use. The bedrooms were large and comfortable and unusually there were two en-suites plus a bathroom - plenty for us four and even for six people. We spent the warm evenings in the lovely courtyard garden which is well fenced so the dog was safe to run around. Just outside is a small copse and hidden within it a huge hammock. Katy & John did all they could to make our stay enjoyable, provided us with a continued supply of fresh eggs and brought round the barbecue when we needed it. Overall it is a great place to stay and we recommend it highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable week. It was great to meet you all (including bouncy Ford, of course!) and hope to see you here again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in a quiet location”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The accommodation is fantastic! Really nicely decorated and beautifully designed cottage. There was all the crockery, cutlery and other touches needed for a perfect stay. There was even a welcome hamper with fresh scones and prosecco for our arrival. Just what we needed after a long drive there.

The location is perfect for a get away from it all, relaxing break. The cottage is out of the village centre in a quiet backwater location - peace and tranquillity!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: No wardrobes to hang clothes
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend away with friends. Thank you for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing