We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rare five star review from me...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Greenwich, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A rare five star review from me...”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

This is only the second hotel to receive a five star report from me and I stay in hotels every week for work. It just had everything going for it. Okay, it's not a five star hotel offering luxury or funky & modern, but in it's class, it was a top stay. The hotel is located in the centre of Beverley near all the shops, restaurants and not far from the Minster. On arrival, we were shown the way to our bedrooms and offers were made to help carry our bags. This has never happened to me on a business stay, so things were looking up. Room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Both were clean. Bedroom had choice of armchair, sofa and desk chair. Big wardrobe with doors, iron and board in room, coffee making facilities with biscuits, supplies in the bathroom. The style is very chintzy (floral sofa, patterned carpets, busy wallpaper), so not my thing, but nothing wrong if you like this style. And there's FREE high speed wifi. There is a bar, lounge, restuarant and outside patio. We only ate breakfast and it was of a high standard. Pink grapefruit, my personal favourite.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    51
    23
    20
See reviews for
51
142
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a Valentine's weekend (which also happens to be our wedding anniversary) at the Lairgate. From checking in to checking out we could not have been treated better. The staff were most welcoming and friendly, our room (17) although on the top floor, was modern, clean and spacious. The en suite was spotless and well equipped. The king size bed was very comfortable. The evening meal of 5 courses plus coffee was simply superb. An unusual menu, well cooked, well presented and well served with just the right amount of time between courses. The same comments apply to breakfast. We would have no hesitation in recommending the Lairgate. If you go then make sure you are in Beverley for the Saturday market.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshirespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Booked three rooms for my family in June for a weekend away in this fabulous, historic town.
The hotel is old and full of character with quirky staircases leading to many rooms. The rooms we booked ranged from excellent to a bit tired but all were extremely clean and comfortable especially the bathrooms.
The staff were friendly and helpful though front desk is sometimes slow. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty served within very pleasant surroundings.
The small garden out the back was nice to sit in with a drink when the sun came out (all weekend!).
The hotel is situated in a very central location but remains quiet and peaceful.
The weekend rates are sometimes on special offer which is great so all in all I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank City_girl041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed here for one night b&b just before Christmas 2007.

The hotel looked nice outside but on coming closer, had a front window taped up which had been put through, but it is right next to some busy pubs so that will be why.

The place itself seemed larger than we had imagined but was fairly easy to find your way around and well signed, however LOTS of stairs. It was not ideal carrying your case up to a room on the top floor as I did, nor would it be if you were elderly as there were very few rooms on the ground floor.

The check-in process was a little dithery as the young lady behind the desk looked confused when we gave her the reservation details and then didnt seem to know what she was doing when we asked to pay up front and had to go find someone and we were left waiting without apology, but that's life I guess.

We stayed in a "superior double" which to us was very nice, but of the size and quality you might expect in a standard room elsewhere.The decor and furniture was classic, yet had a contemporary feel and was well kept.

Facilities within our room were pretty average, with the standard drill toiletries provided and a kettle with tea/coffee/hot chocolate. There was of course the usual shortage of pre packed milks, and no mini bar/bottled water which was a gripe, but the room was extremely clean and more or less had everything you would require for your overnight stay, including tv and lots of space to relax and for storing your things.

It was I will say, extremely clean in the bathroom and bedroom area and the bedding was of a high standard.

The residents' bar was open as long as we wanted and the barman was friendly and efficient. The morning breakfast was not too bad. My partner enjoyed his fry-up but I have had better poached eggs and toast. One couple came in to eat 15 minutes after us and had their food before we did, but still there were plenty of juices and cereal/fruit in addition.

I probably wouldnt choose to stay here again but I would still recommend it. You could do far worse and it was good value.

  • Liked — good value, failry good location, very clean
  • Disliked — Too many stairs, no water in room or satellite tv
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BarbarellasHairpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

A lovely old family-run hotel right in the centre of historic and interesting Beverley town centre. The inclusive full English breakfast was excellent - plentiful and bacon to die for! Car parking was adequate - we found a space upon our return to the hotel on each of the four nights we stayed there.

Having coped with the back-to-university frenzy, my husband and I were looking for peace and quiet. We were not disappointed. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

It is worth looking at the website for any special weekend deals.

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — creaky floors but inevitable given the age of the building - did not bother us unduly
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank creepyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#4 of 15 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lairgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of the market town of Beverley, the Best Western Lairgate Hotel boasts a grand Georgian entrance hall. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms benefit from an en-suite bath or shower room with complimentary toiletries. In the mornings, the Best Western Lairgate offers an extensive breakfast menu. The options include full English breakfast and smoked haddock. Dishes are prepared using fine local produce. With a terrace, the Lairgate Hotel is just 750 yards from the Beverley and East Riding Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
Best Western Lairgate Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing