We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service - and jazz - to remember ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
East Midlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Service - and jazz - to remember ”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Best jazz evening for a long long time. We turned up late and were not even dining yet the landlady found us an extra table with a good view of the jazz combo with a smile. We had a great evening and will certainly recommend this excellent venue to friends. Thank you Madame Lairgate

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneOEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    51
    23
    20
See reviews for
51
142
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed at a few Best Westerns and this is the oddest of them all. I stayed due to house removals but I wouldn't stay here for pleasure. it's overpriced for what you get.
The Good Bits - Spacious room and fairly quiet.
The Bad Bits - bathroom dated, bed linen and towels had definitely seen better days. The breakfast room was a bit odd, and the breakfast very average, we weren't offered a menu, the waitress just said 'Do you want food'?, although the rest of the staff were helpful and friendly. Make sure when you ask for coffee you ask for real coffee or you get the instant stuff, pretty vile.
Some odd things - a window just above the bath obviously needs a blind for privacy but why put a thick curtain there which is way too long for the window and actually hangs down into the bath - strange. The lounge area which you walk into from the main road feels just like someone's living room, not necessarily a bad thing but not right for a Best Western.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I just checked out after a 4 week stay at the Lairgate. I've stayed here many times in the past and have never been disappointed. It is a small, locally owned hotel that is very comfy and cozy. The staff are excellent and always make me feel at home. They go out of their way to take care of you. Most of the staff have been there a long time. We are on a first name basis which makes living out of a suitcase so much more pleasant than in a corporate type hotel.

The food is always outstanding, from the hot breakfast to the scrumptious dinners. The chef does a fine job with everything he touches.

Many thanks to all of my friends there for making my stay so enjoyable. Paul, Karen, Steve, Kev, Sara, Rachel, Jonathan and Dave. I know I forgot someone but you are all great!

Cheers,

Mark

Room Tip: I like room 1 - it's spacious and overlooks the road. Only one flight up so not too much climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I booked a table on behalf of my elderly Mother in order we could celebrate my step fathers 85th birthday on Saturday.

Spoke to a member of staff to arrange a balloon and candles and he was very helpful earlier in the day and he mentioned when I asked about parking that the hotel was quiet that evening.

we arrived at just after 7pm and shown to an empty dining room that was chilly and so so bright it was as if strip lights were lighting the room. Two other diners joined us in the room but left after eating a main course so for the whole of the evening we were in the room alone.

Despite the balloon and my Mother mentioning to the staff it was a special occasion not one of them passed comment or wished my step father a happy birthday. The service was slow and at one point the chap who was waiting at table seemed more interested in his friends who were drinking in the bar and at one point playing around on the piano in another room and it wasn't until I got up to see what was happening did this stop.

The food was fair to be honest - warm but not hot and there were long long gaps between courses - we left at 2130 which to say there was no one else in the restaurant this was ridiculous.

I had to ask for a wine list - twice I ha d to ask for the jug of water and I had to ask for the tonic water bottles to be taken away.

Overall very poor and we appeared to be an inconvenience certainly to the chap waiting at table who had zero customer service skills.

Would I go back - not a cat in hells chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaeldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

In the centre of town, ideal for exploring the area, excellent breakfast and friendly staff, will stay there again. Did not try the evening meal as arrived too late but pleased to see me in the bar. Comfortable beds and clean room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Came up for a family get together and stayed just one night. Used to live locally so had a good idea what to expect. We weren't disappointed.
Parts of the hotel are a bit faded and dated but the staff are very friendly and efficient.
The bedroom was huge and the bed comfy. Breakfast was excellent.
My only comment would be that the bath towels were a bit skimpy.

We went for a drink at "Nellies" (The White Horse) and were disappointed to see that they'd put the Sam Smiths bitter up to £1.80 a pint!!! The must be trying to save up for electricity!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Towcestersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room had no access to internet and was road facing the sound of heavy commercial traffic woke me several time during the night. Staff where as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. Breakfast has improved and service was quicker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#4 of 15 in Beverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lairgate Hotel

Property: Best Western Lairgate Hotel
Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of the market town of Beverley, the Best Western Lairgate Hotel boasts a grand Georgian entrance hall. Each room includes a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms benefit from an en-suite bath or shower room with complimentary toiletries. In the mornings, the Best Western Lairgate offers an extensive breakfast menu. The options include full English breakfast and smoked haddock. Dishes are prepared using fine local produce. With a terrace, the Lairgate Hotel is just 750 yards from the Beverley and East Riding Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
Best Western Lairgate Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing