We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Dinner at The Lairgate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner at The Lairgate Hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked a Christmas dinner at The Lairgate Hotel for myself and my work colleagues paying £ 14.95 for a very adequate 3 course meal. I had the venison sausage toad in the hole for starters, the gravy had developed a surface skimming on top as though it had been stood under the light been pre-made for some time, then came the the main course (quick as it was, there were no breaks before courses come, maybe because the food was already plated up and waiting to be served) my main consisted of the beef and mustard mash, the beef was slightly chewy and the mash was not at all fresh as you could pick up the mash in lumps and the veg what a joke that was, it was totally not fresh at all as though it had been pre-cooked before, the sprouts definitely had, the lady assured it it was fresh, but it really wasn't! and there wasn't enough veg for all of us we had to ask for more and when that came it had been heated up the microwave. A colleague of mine had the salmon which looked inedible with a blackened crusted top which again was not fresh and the turkey dinner was appallingly again stuffing balls like you'd get from the supermarket. Then came desert i had the cheese cake this had a rubber like texture and again was from a pre-made bought in dessert, some colleagues had the Christmas pudding again the texture of this had been reheated again and again making it hard and extremely disappointing, can't the chef even make a satisfactory Christmas pudding and as for the poached pears these were inedible every colleague that had this left it. What a waste of money!

The atmosphere was also dismal to say the least with Michael Buble on loop, cheapo Christmas decorations and table favors, and we were the only table in, we now know why, we wont be going back again, there are far better similar priced restaurants in Beverley to eat at. I have to say it was a total waste of money. So look elsewhere before considering the Lairgate for food.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank JLB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    122
    45
    23
    20
See reviews for
50
141
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were in Beverley for a wedding and had booked a b&b for three nights. On arrival at the b&b we found it not suitable for purpose and decided to 'up sticks' and find an alternative. The nearby Lairgate Hotel was nearby and they could accommodate us for the 3 nights. Our arrival was in torrential rain, but the Hotel staff and owner were most helpful in our hour of need. They could not have been more obliging. Our room was spotless and warm. The kitchen staff prepared a late meal for us which was very prompt and tasty. There was a Jazz night on which was very well attended so we were 'extra to the normal' but nevertheless were treated as special guests. Breakfast next morning, as on all three mornings, was excellent and promptly served - lots to choose from. All in all an excellent choice of hotel and one we would not hesitate to use again - and recommend to others. We found it a nice homely, friendly hotel.
Thanks to Kev and Steve for their help.

Room Tip: All rooms fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull,uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I and my business partner recently booked our works xmas party at theLairgate as we had enjoyed a good party there several years ago. This year there was a good atmosphere, disco and welcoming, happy staff. Unfortunately when the food came we were very dissapointed ,as a group.The chicken liver pate was brought (in liquid form!) in a shot glass. After several complaints these were removed and about 10 minutes later some much more adequate pate' arrived.when the main course arrived in two parts: meat and stuffing first followed 10 minutes later by the veg. By this time the meat was cold or some people had already half eaten their meat.There appeared to be a distinct lack of communication between the waiters and waitresses, in spite of the fact that we had booked early and given a list of our menu choices about a week in advance.
It soon became clear that several other groups were having similar experiences. I shall be writing to the manager but (Surprise,surprise)there is no "contact the manager " button on the website. Come on Lairgate! you have a prime site in Beverley and its time you lived up to the claims made on your website.If I was in charge at Best Western I would be seriosly considering sending a troubleshooting team there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I booked a table for 14 on Sat 8th December at a cost of £26.50 per person at the Lairgate Christmas Dinner Dance. I cannot begin to describe my utter disappointment at the quality of both the food and entertainment. The starter which I ordered was the pate which was served in a tiny glass, the consistency of the pate was like water and had clearly not set. It also tasted disgusting. The main course I ordered was salmon fillet was was blackened to a crisp with a peppery coating which made it almost inedible. The vegetables were overcooked and resembled something served up at a school canteen. My friends had also stated how cold the turkey and beef meals were. The chocolate parfait desert was thick and lumpy and had an unpleasant bitter taste. The christmas pudding was the only desert recommended. We have attended functions at the Lairgate in the past and have always found the food to be of reasonable standard this sadly is no longer the case. The disco was equally as poor as the food with a rendition of Status Quo and muffled inaudible commentary from the DJ. All in all a complete waste of money and a sense of huge disappointment at booking this venue for an annual christmas get together with friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zoe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Erin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just stayed here for two nights as our niece was getting married at Beverly Minster on Sat 8th Sept.
Just managed to get a parking space which we were grateful for as it was quite late when we arrived.
The first thing you experience on arrival is the warm welcome from the reception staff, so friendly and efficient.
We booked a double executive room and it was lovely, the bathroom was large and very modern.
Breakfast both days was absolutely terrific and cooked to order which is such a refreshing change these days and served in a very timely manner.
The wedding reception was perfect as was the food that was served to a large wedding party.

Thank you to the owner and staff of Lairgate, you are a credit to Beverly and it's tourist industry. We would definitely stay again if we were in the area !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 33 was lovely !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Lairgate recently and found it really good. We had an Executive room at the rear; it was large, beautifully furnished and well-equipped. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We didn't try the restaurant, other than breakfast, which was fine. Highly recommended in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xelajni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

AN excellent hotel, with superb staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for a weekend here - parking on site (quite tight on room, but possible). There was jazz on the Friday night which was of a high standard, and the breakfast each morning was really excellent - both buffet and cooked options as part of the price. It's really the staff who make it, though.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so perhaps phone the hotel to talk through your choice first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beverley
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Beverley Town Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beverley
520 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Tudor Rose Hotel
The Tudor Rose Hotel
#3 of 15 in Beverley
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
Ferguson Fawsitt Arms
#1 of 1 in Walkington
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel
Address: 30-34 Lairgate, Beverley HU17 8EP, England (Formerly The Lairgate in Beverley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lairgate In Beverley Hotel Beverley
Best Western Beverley
The Lairgate Hotel Beverley
BEST WESTERN Lairgate Hotel Beverley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing